Skip to content

Top Ten Anime Endings

August 19, 2010

So last week I posted my Top Ten Anime Openings, so this week its the turn of the Endings!  Initially I thought this would be easier, since I like many more OPs than EDs, however when faced with the task of making a shortlist, I soon realised that this was going to be just as tough as the OPs post!

So once again I had to be strict with myself; there are lots of series where I love just the ED song or animation, but for this Top10 post the ED had to have both going for it – so no Darker than BLACK ED1, Wolfs Rain ED, Le Portrait de Petit Cossette ED or Maria+Holic ED; all of which I love.

Anyway time to get on with the post, here’s my Top Ten Anime Endings!

10.  K-ON! ED1 – “Don’t say ‘Lazy’” by HTT (Yoko Hikasa, Aki Toyosaki, Satomi Satou & Minako Kotobuki)

While I hate K-ON! with a passion, this ED is fecking addictive!  It’s insanely catchy and never fails to suddenly pop into my head at the most random times.  I also really like the costume design and the fact that KyoAni have actually bothered to properly animate the ED like it’s an actual music video for HTT – a nice touch in a series that really has very little to do with music!

9.  Clannad ED – “Dango Daikazoku” by Chata

Ah the Dango song – I challenge you to listen to this and not end up singing along with it or having it stuck in your head for the rest of the day! :lol:  Now I usually have an allergic reaction to anything this cute, but I just find this ED adorable.  It’s not particularly well sung, the animation is completely minimal and the tune is very simple – but it works!  Plus it ties well into the actual series and Nagisa’s Dango Daikazoku obession; which is a nice touch.

8.  Rurouni Kenshin ED3 – “Heart of Sword~Toakemae~” by TN Revolution

Ah here’s my nostalgia kick.  This one is a pretty simple clip show, but the animation is nicely in time with the music and also serves as a handy character intro reel.  I really love this tune – it was my ringtone for ages and I still have it as an alarm!  I was never really a fan of any of the Kenshin OPs, but I loved most of the EDs; however ‘Heart of Sword’ is easily my favourite.

7.  Durarara ED1 – “Trust Me” by Matsushita Yuya

The Drrr!! ED is as simple as they come; a piece of scrolling artwork with a few colour changes fired in to keep it a bit interesting – hardly any animation at all.  However it’s a very memorable (and easily parodied) ED for that very reason.  I liked watching the art scrolling up the screen every week because it was another way to hardwire the Drrr!! characters into my brain – plus it’s really well laid out with all the characters connected in someway or another further empathising the overlapping stories that make up much of the plotline of Drrr!!  The song itself is a pleasant number – not particularly memorable without the images though; its a very simple ED, but I really like it.

6.  Gankutsuou: The Count of Monte Cristo ED – “You won’t see me coming” by Jean-Jacques Burnel

Now this is just pure style.  The Gankutsuou ED looks more like a very well-edited AMV than anything else – there’s none of the usual blank space for credits and its filled with almost spoilers for the whole series (the full brilliance of the ED is only apparent when you’ve watched the entire series).  I really like the song on its own, but it really come into its own when coupled with the striking animation.  Ah this makes me want to rewatch Gankutsuou!

5.  Umineko no Naku Koro ni ED – “la divina tragedia ~Makyoku~” by Jimang

My primary reason for liking this ED is the vocals – they’re sung with such gusto that it always makes me smile.  The song is great, I listen to it quite a lot in the car (tis great to sing along to :lol:)  The accompanying animation is rather simplistic, but its pretty effective at establishing a tense atmosphere, with its shots of key locations/symbols and the way the colour palate is heavy on the reds and quite dark overall.  It’s a pity the actual show wasn’t as good as its music!

4.  Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood ED1 – “USO” by Sid

I love the way this ED is animated.  It flows really well and manages to highlight all the main characters while keeping the focus on Ed and Al.  Plus I just think its adorable the way it has Chibi!Ed and Chibi!Al at the end as if they’ve drawn this all themselves :D  It’s a really light-hearted ED and very fitting for the tone of the show in the initial introductory episodes.  The song is very catchy, it’s another one I find myself humming randomly, and it works really well with the animation.

3.  Sayonara Zetsubou Sensei ED1 – “Zessei Bijin” by Ai Nonaka, Marina Inoue, Yu Kobayashi & Ryoko Shintani

Had to have a SHAFT series in somewhere!  This first SZS ED is my favourite of all the brilliant SZS EDs.  I love the bouncy feel of the music and the imagery in the animation (I have had quite a few desktops using images from this ED).  It’s a pretty decent song for being a cast song (then again the SZS cast has some very talented singers in it), and it works fantastically well with the animation.  The result is a very stylish ED and definitely one of my all time favourites.

2.  Gintama ED2  – “Mr Raindrop” by Amplified

Gintama has some great music, but this ED kind of stands out in my mind because dancing Elizabeth is fecking awesome.  The song is another insanely catchy, but simple number that works extremely well with the very simple animation of Elizabeth dancing about in the rain, with scenes of the other main characters going about their business in between.  You don’t need to do anything overly fancy to produce a memorable ED – this is a perfect example.

1.  The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya ED – “Hare Hare Yukai” by Aya Hirano

I picked the Hare Hare Yukai as my #1 because it’s so iconic.  Haruhi is still one of my favourite series (I’m pretending that E8 fiasco never happened) and even though the show, and this ED in particular, are everywhere (you’d really have had to be living under a rock not to have seen/heard this ED at some stage) I still really like it.  Its a bit of a nostalgia kick for me too, as arround when Haruhi was airing was when I really started discovering the online anime community and began following weekly shows.  This ED is cheesy and gimmicky, but its memorable, fun and makes me smile – which is why its #1 in my book.

So thats my top10, weird list even if I do say so myself!  I’m probably missing some obvious ones that slipped my mind; so what are your favourites?

27 Comments leave one →
  1. August 19, 2010 11:47 pm

    I’d have to have FLCL’s Ride on Shooting Star on my list. Speaking of GAINAX, Evangelion’s Fly Me to the Moon is a classic, of course. Then there’s Stardust Tears as the ending theme to Diebuster. I still haven’t been able to find any more info about the band, ACKO.

    • August 20, 2010 6:21 pm

      Argh! The FLCL one is brilliant, can’t believe I forgot that. I’ve never been a fan of the EVA ED – tis a bit boring :D

  2. Hogart permalink
    August 20, 2010 12:28 am

    I’ll second you on Dango, which is perhaps my fondest memory of Clannad’s first season, and I’ll second lvlln on FLCL any day of the week. That entire Pillows-dominated OST still sees fairly regular rotation on my playlists.

    The others that I can list off the top of my head for their sense of minimalism and suitability to their anime are Wolf’s Rain’s, Toradora’s first ED, and Tatami Galaxy’s.. all subtle but awesome animations (ToraDora’s beat-matching, Tatami’s screen-saver, and Wolf’s Rain’s running wolf). I love the songs as well for these.

    Then there are EDs that were just hilarious.. Tentai Senshi Sunred’s, and “Space Hanamaru Kindergarten”, and some of Gag Manga’s “EDs”.

    I also favored some for the songs themselves, Bounen no Xamdou and Chevalier D’Eon’s songs are two tracks that really resonate with me for some reason, with Casshern Sins, Kemono no Souja Erin, Spice and Wolf, and a few others that are similar in their own way to Dango.

    • August 20, 2010 6:23 pm

      I had Toradora’s 1st ED shortlisted – its such an earworm (I’ll never forget the day my boss caught me singing it in the office XD )

  3. August 20, 2010 2:02 am

    More recently, Bakemonogatari’s Kimi no Shiranai Monogatari – The Story You Didn’t Know – is excellent. All versions of it, except the one from the first episode featuring a static picture of Hitagi. The art really is spectacular and unique. Same artist who drew the FLCL adaptation manga. I was happy to see him move up in the world professionally. And the animation fit the ED song so well, both in the musical feel of it and in the lyrics.

    • August 20, 2010 6:34 pm

      I liked the Bakemonogatari ED, but never really loved it enough to download. The animation was great though and I agree that it worked well with the music.

  4. August 20, 2010 2:28 am

    Your top two are spot on! =3

  5. August 20, 2010 8:35 am

    Excluding some of the ones you listed some I would include are:

    Bakemonogatari – Kimi no Shira nai Monogatari by Supercell

    Bleach – Thank You by HOME MADE KAZOKU

    FLCL – Ride on Shooting Star by The Pillows

    Gundam Seed – Anna ni Issho Datta no ni By See-Saw

    Death Note – Alumina by Nightmare, Zetsubou Billy by MAXIMUM THE HORMONE

    FMA Brotherhood – Let it Out by Fukuhara Miho

    Samurai Champloo – Shiki no Uta by Minmi

    Soul Eater – Bakusou Yumeuta by Diggy-MO’

    Xam’d Lost Memories – Vacancy by Kylee

    • August 20, 2010 6:39 pm

      Ah nice choices – I felt bad about leaving out Death Note ED2 and also really liked that Soul Eater ED.

  6. Scamp permalink
    August 20, 2010 8:46 am

    OH DESIRE~!

    Ah Umineko. You were such a stupid series~

  7. August 20, 2010 8:04 pm

    Your list is instant win for having “Hare Hare Yukai” as #1! XD Would have liked to see “Don’t say lazy” a little higher though.

    The Umineko ending kinda creeps me out. And the animation for “USO” is adorable though I’m not thrilled with the song.

    • August 21, 2010 11:03 pm

      Its fairly surprising Don’t Say Lazy stayed in given my dislike of the K-ON! as a series, but its a great ED.

      Umineko ED is doing its job if it creeps you out – very atmospheric song, I love it.

  8. August 21, 2010 3:40 am

    Hit the nail on the head with those last two. I think Haruhi’s ED is unquestionable as awesome.

    Mr. Raindrop was AWESOME. I wish the kept it permanently.

    “Mr. Raindrop….fallin away from me now….”

    Just awesome.

    • August 21, 2010 11:08 pm

      Hare Hare Yuukai is just iconic – I was expecting to get some flack for having it at #1 though! :lol:

      Mr Raindrop is great any day of the week though, awesome song.

  9. Ruu permalink
    August 21, 2010 6:15 am

    The only ED I can think with love has to be Eden of the east “Futuristic Imagination” I’m a sucker for papermation.

    Also ditto for the Gankotsou, DRR! and Umineko eds, I would like to mention “Baka go home” since it was the thing that drove me into Baka Test, Gravity from Wolf’s Rain is another ED I’m fond of. Friends, Gundam 00′s second ED is pure tease to the fangirl senses just like Bokura no Bokues, the ED of Hikaru no go, also “Kimi no Shiranai Monotogari” Bakemonogatari’s ED is magnificent (both versions).

    … those are the ED’s I can think of now, I’ll probably say the last later.

    • August 21, 2010 11:16 pm

      I loved the papermation ED for EotE, but the song left me a bit cold.

      Baka Go Home! was a lot of fun though :D and I love the vocals on the Bokurano ED

  10. August 21, 2010 2:58 pm

    Gankutsuou’s ED took me quite long to appreciate it. It was chaotic and disturbing…and then I realized that this was probably what’s going on in Dante’s mind, despite his calm manners :)

    • August 21, 2010 11:20 pm

      I like the chaotic nature of Gankutsuou’s ED, but I quite like trippy things (when I’m in the mood for them).

  11. August 21, 2010 10:26 pm

    You are not my mother. You disgust me.

    • August 21, 2010 11:20 pm

      I was never your mother Vinnie-kins :P And this is why you should do your own list! :D

  12. August 23, 2010 1:11 am

    ‘Don’t say Lazy’ – True, this one is damn legendary, would be in my list too!

    ‘Dango daikazoku’ – Singing it along turned out to be amusingly helpful when I had an exam for which I had to remember about 50 different lakes and their positions – guess what I did! I learned them by singing the names in Dango style and I aced it 8D

    ‘Trust Me’ is surely the most famous ending right now, it’s so stylish after all and easy to edit.

    ‘Mr Raindrop’ is one of my fav Gintama endings, it just gets stuck to your head so damn easily, and the lyrics are easy so I used to sing em along everytime :P … Also is my current sound for the alarm clock.

    ‘la divina tragedia’ got boring really fast, and it was quite funny too – I always heard ‘Player’ rather than ‘Prayer’ :P

    • August 24, 2010 12:08 am

      Thats a great use for the addictive nature of the Dango song! :lol:

  13. August 28, 2010 9:21 pm

    I wasn’t a very big fan of the Dango Song from Clannad.

    As of right now my favorite ED is from K-On and it is the No thank you one.

    • August 29, 2010 3:25 pm

      The current K-ON!! ED is indeed very good – but I prefer the animation of ‘Don’t Say Lazy’ even if ‘No Thank You’ is a better song.

  14. Brandon permalink
    June 25, 2013 7:06 am

    It’s great to see FMA:B ED 1 as #4 because I have to say it’s my most favorite Anime ending or FMA ED 2 or maybe just FMA:B ED 2.Those are the best Anime endings I’ve seen period but I love others too.Death Note ED 2 could be in my top 10 and Gurren Lagann ED 2.

Leave a Reply

