Skip to content

50 Questions About Cara – a blatant filler post

March 10, 2012

I enjoy bandwagon jumping.  I was also looking for some way to avoid working on my Spring preview, so following Inushide & Lostty’s example I’m answering 50 questions no one actually asked me! Yay procrastination~!

Quite a lot of these questions I’ve more or less answered before somewhere on the blog, but here is everything all in one handy place.  I’ve been as honest as possible, even if it makes me sound like a complete bore (sorry!), but hey thats what real people are like.

1. Who is your favorite male anime character?

Orihara Izaya from Durarara!! That man was just endless fun to watch.  Izaya was a fascinating character, and your attention was drawn to him constantly throughout Durarara!! Second season where!?

Close second would probably be Lelouch from Code Geass……..I like my antiheroes/villains.

2. Who is your favorite female anime character?

Yuuko Ichihara from xxxHOLiC.  This is a pretty obvious one to most I’d imagine given she’s the patron saint of my blog.  I just find Yuuko endlessly interesting and she’s one of the best characters CLAMP has ever created – even if she is essentially an author avatar!

Coming in second would be Kyoko Mogami from Skip Beat.

3. What is your favorite anime soundtrack?

Tsubasa Chronicle OST by Yuki Kajiura.  Much as I disliked that anime, the soundtrack was amazing.

In second place has to be the Shiki OST by Yasuhara Takanashi – fantastically haunting soundtrack, perfect for the show.

4. What is your favorite anime opening + animation?

I’d probably still say the Baccano! OP clinches it for sheer style, great music and serving a purpose (introducing all those characters!).  The 1st Shiki OP was pretty amazing though.

5. What is your favorite anime ending + animation?

Nothing has yet toppled The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya’s Hare Hare Yukai dancing ED – it’s genius. Also loved UN-GO’s ED which was a massive earworm with really stylish animation.

6. What is your favorite anime scene?

Goodness this is tough – it’s difficult to think of just one when you’ve watched 8 months worth of anime!  I’d probably have to say Mustang’s “I sealed it with fire” moment in episode 19 of Fullmetal Alchemist Brotherhood – that was just badass and phenomenally well animated.

Ozaki’s quick turnaround of the situation in Sotoba in episode 18 was also a highlight, as was Natsume’s flashback to accepting the Fujiwara’s into his life in episode 12 of Natsume Yuujinchou San.

7. If you could meet an anime character who would it be?

Yuuko Ichihara.  Definitely would love to meet that woman for a drink (or 10).  As a font of information on the CLAMPverse and fellow fangirl I think it would be a really amazing conversation.

8. What anime character is most similar to you in terms of personality?

Hmmm, this is a tough one as I don’t actually completely identify with any one character.  However if I have to give just one character it would be Yukari Tanizaki from Azumanga Daioh.  Yukari is me if I wasn’t so worried about maintaining a proper ‘adult’ façade.  Sometimes I really wish I could act like the massive child I am inside, but alas social norms mean that isn’t possible much of the time.  I’m a much better driver and hold my drink a bit better than Yukari though!

9. What is your favorite thing about anime?

I love the whole medium, but I particularly love just how varied the whole medium is.  In anime it’s possible to do things that just wouldn’t look right in any other media – the sheer variety of artstyles and animation techniques mean that there is always something a bit different in each season.  Of course there are tons of identikit clones out there, but those Studios and directors that go out of their way to produce something a bit different are what make being an anime fan worthwhile.

10. What is your least favorite thing about anime?

The aforementioned identikit clones – if I have to watch another Shana clone show I will scream.

11. Who’s your favorite anime couple?

Jinto & Lafiel from Crest/Banner of the Stars.  Their relationship was the core of that series, as even among the huge story line of interstellar war and culture clashes, it was Jinto & Lafiel’s quiet, budding romance that endeared the show so much to me.  No big grandiose confessions or overt romantic gestures, just a couple gradually growing closer and enjoying each others company.

Close behind would be Laurence & Horo from Spice & Wolf and Nodame & Chiaki from Nodame Cantabile.

12. Who is your favorite anime animal?

Nyanko-sensei from Natsume Yuujinchou – alcoholic ball shaped cat who turns into massive fluffy dog demon, what’s not to love!?

13. What anime would make a good game?

Higurashi would make a good Cluedo type game.  Shiki would probably be a very intriguing Visual Novel, and I could see Moyashimon as some sort of Pokemon game!

14. What game would make a good anime?

I’m not really a gamer so not entirely sure – I’d laugh my arse off if Katawa Shoujo became an anime though!

15. What was the first anime you ever watched?

I watched a load of anime all together back in the early days – Dragonball Z, Gundam Wing, Sailor Moon, Escaflowne and Tenchi Muyo were my gateway shows.

16. Do you think you’ll ever stop watching anime?

I think I may have some long periods of inactivity, but I doubt that the interest will ever fade at this stage; it’s been 13 years since I was bitten by the bug now!

17. What is your favorite genre of anime?

I have a real weakness for big Shounen shows – currently have eight of the things on my watching list, plus One Piece & Yu Yu Hakusho on the backburner (and even more manga series on the reading list).  However I’m also a big fan of psychological thrillers and mysteries as well as multi-coloured bishie fluff and comedy.

18. What is your least favorite genre of anime?

Moeshit and ecchi crap.  Also have very little patience for iyashikei or s’life.

19. Are you open about watching anime with people you know?

My friends and colleagues don’t really know – they know I have geeky tendencies, but don’t actually know how far down that rabbithole I am.  My immediate family are well aware however, hard not to given my rather sizable collection of anime & manga that has taken over a few bookshelves.

20. Have you ever been to Japan?

Nope, but I’m going in September – very much looking forward to it.

21. What anime was the biggest letdown for you?

Oh Guilty Crown.  So much potential yet so very shit.

22. What anime was better than expected?

Moyashimon.  I really thought it was going to be kiddie crap & skipped it in its season, however it is now one of my all time favourite comedy shows – genius.  Also One Piece – I flat point refused to watch that for years after I tried a few episodes & hated the artstyle.  A friend made me try it again (by sending me 300 episodes) and it’s now one of my favourite shows – never judge a show on art alone.

23. What is the best anime fight scene?

Another tough one to narrow down given my preference for shows with lots of action.  Highlights would be, final showdown in Lagann-hen, Gohan Vs Cell (DBZ), Wrath Vs Greed or Pride Vs Al in FMA:B and from Gundam 08th MS Team – Packard vs. 08th MS Team.

24. Who is your anime waifu?

Can Natsume be my waifu – he is so fecking moe!

25. What was your favorite video game as a child?

Super Mario Bros – Yoshi’s Island on the SNES.

26. Most embarrassing moment?

Being terminally shy I try to avoid embarrassment by being a wallflower – different story when I’m drunk, most of my embarrassing moments equate to my drunkest moments, including (but not limited to) performing the Hare Hare Yukai at a bus stop (no one knew what the hell I was up to), chatting up a policeman who was trying to get us to move on from outside a pub and jumping into a skip to rescue a shrub before planting it in the garden (which was covered in gravel) using a saucepan.

27. Can you drive?

Yeap, I am a fantastic driver (even if I am sort of fascinated by the high numbers on the speedometer).

28. Are you mature?

When I have to be.  I’m nearly 29 so can’t really get away with being an immature brat anymore, plus I have underlings at work – need to set a good example.  Inside though, I haven’t changed much since I was a teenager.

29. What year were you born?

1983………..yes I am decrepit.

30. Do you prefer dogs or cats?

Dogs.  Definitely dogs.  While I don’t mind cats, I find them too aloof and snobby – dogs are just warmer, friendlier creatures.  My family have always been dog people.

31. Describe yourself physically.

I’m fairly tall at 5’8”, but also very out of shape thanks to ongoing health issues & medication.  I keep my auburn hair stupidly long given it’s so heavy & curly and a milk bottle has a better tan than I do.  Been told I have an infectious smile and amazing eyelashes.

Unfortunately I don't look like Yoko

32. What would you name your first child?

I have absolutely no desire to be a mother – completely lack that instinct, but following my family’s tradition I’d have a traditional Irish name for a boy (Shea, Ruairi, Oisin) and something grand sounding for a girl (Alexandria, Clara, Siofra).

33. What is the worst injury you’ve ever had?

I have thankfully avoided seriously injuring myself so far, but the time when I was seven and skidded down a hill on my knees stands out as particularly painful.  I was on my way to a birthday party and ended up in the clinic having to have a large stone removed from my knee & 2 stitches – still have an impressive scar.  My mother would probably say the time when I was three, tripped over my tricyle and put my teeth through my lower lip – also required stitches and have a scar but I can’t really remember that myself.

34. What is your worst habit?

I’m absolutely awful for procrastinating.  Seriously I never do something when I should (prime example, I’m doing this 50 questions thing instead of my season preview).  I’m also pretty untidy in my own space & chronically lazy.

35. Do you drink or smoke?

I quit smoking when it became legal for me to do so (at 16).  I enjoy drinking and have been drinking since the age of 13 (was a bold child).

36. Do you have a tattoo?

Yeap – have a small winged dragon on my right ankle.  Wanted one for years and finally made the decision to get it done when I was 23.  I’m unlikely to get another though.

37.  Are you a morning or a night person?

Definitely a night person – I hate mornings.  Unfortunately due to this little thing called a 9-5 job I’ve had to attempt to curtail my natural tendency to stay up till the wee hours – but that still happens at the weekend where I have been known to be up till sunrise.

38. Have you ever slept past midday?

I did so today! (I was up till 5.30am though).

39. Do you regret anything?

Lots of things, but I don’t dwell on it too much.  I regret that I didn’t go with my instincts and study something I enjoyed at Uni.  I regret that I didn’t work hard enough to get the grades I was capable of.  I regret that I didn’t take off round the world earlier in my life (doing that at last at the end of the year) and I regret that I didn’t stay in touch with many of my school friends.  Still life has been pretty good to me in the long run so I don’t have any right or desire to swell on could have beens.

40. Can you count the number of friends that you have on one hand?

Nah, I may be borderline reclusive, but I do have a lot of friends I value and love.

41. Do you wear glasses?

Yes – only for reading & the computer though (so basically all the time), I can’t drive with them on as they screw up my spacial abilities.

42. Are you a picky eater?

Sort of.  I’m willing to give most things a whirl, but I have been a hater of seafood for most of my life – trying to get over that at the moment.  If something is set in front of me, I will attempt to finish it though.

43. Would you die for someone?

No.  I don’t think anyone would want or expect it from me either.  I like living thanks very much.

44. If you could have any superpower, what would it be?

As a slight pyromaniac I’d have to say fire manipulation powers – that would be so cool.  Close second would be teleportation – seems like fun & pretty useful too!

45. Do you believe in the supernatural?

Sort of.  While I wouldn’t profess to be a big believer in the occult or spirits I do think there is a layer of something inexplicable in this world.

46. Would you rather be rich or famous?

Rich.  I don’t like being the centre of attention so I’d rather have the wealth without the hassle.

47. Have you ever committed a crime?

I’ve never been caught, so no~!

48. Time traveler or ghost?

Time traveller.  Being able to experience various eras first hand would be amazing.  Ghosts are too static – bystanders watching the world pass round them, unable to touch and experience.  Seems like a very lonely, dull existence.

49. Does anybody have a crush on you?

Not that I’m aware of – very much doubt it.

50. Are you in a relationship?

Nope, not actively looking for one at the moment either – but never say never~!

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

There we go, fifty answers to fifty questions – hope that was somewhat enlightening……..or something.  Certainly passed the time for me anyway!  Now I should probably go back to doing something productive…….

15 Comments leave one →
  1. March 10, 2012 8:57 pm

    Ha! You when drunk sounds like me when sleepwalking. By that I mean chasing stuff with pans, not dancing at bus stops to flummox strangers or talking to policemen…
    Good to have a compatriot in the “Only mature when I have to be” department as well.

    • March 13, 2012 10:39 pm

      Properly drunk me is a a silly, silly girl.

      Also, who the hell needs maturity – so long as you can fake it, everything is grand!

  2. March 11, 2012 12:43 am

    Jinto & Lafiel what a great choice! That reminds me that I started another rewatch of that series(es) a couple weeks ago when my ‘Net connection gave out. I should get back to that.

    • March 13, 2012 10:41 pm

      I’d really need to rewatch Crest/Banner of the Stars again – the finer details are getting blurry, but the enduring memory of the wonderful characters is still there.

  3. March 11, 2012 1:55 am

    In terms of anime, you seem to be the closest to me out of all the bloggers that have made these so far. One Piece, Natsume, and Spice & Wolf!

    • March 13, 2012 10:44 pm

      I have pretty varied tastes, but I have a very real preference for those kinds of shows

  4. March 11, 2012 3:54 pm

    Thumbs up for Nyanko-sensei. I would choose him as well :)

    • March 13, 2012 10:45 pm

      Drinking partner, cushion, bodyguard & transport all rolled into one – who can resist!?

Trackbacks

  1. Daifuuku! Anime Blog Lightning slow response to AceRailgun’s 50 questions.
  2. Azure Flame Reloaded » Answers to 50 questions no one asked!
  3. Bobbierob Does 50 Questions, Too! « The Kotatsu
  4. 50 Answers to Ace Railgun’s Questions « Bokutachi no BLOG
  5. Where I Answer A Bunch of Questions Answered by Others | Lower Mid-Table
  6. This is a Test of the Emergency Filler Post System | GAR GAR Stegosaurus
  7. Lightning slow response to AceRailgun’s 50 questions. | Daifuuku! Anime Blog

Leave a Reply

