Skip to content

I’m a mecha fangirl? When did that happen?

July 25, 2009

blog ramble

So I’ve spent most the day watching anime (as I usually do on a Saturday since the crowds in town drive me round the bend), and I’ve mainly been watching Gundam ZZ.  It got me thinking – I’ve gravitated towards mecha series quite a lot recently.  This never used to be the case, I would never have declared myself to be a mecha fan a 5 years ago as the only shows I had seen back then was Gundam Wing and Escaflowne.  Now don’t get me wrong I adored them both, and I still do – but at no time after watching them originally did I ever desire to watch any of the other Gundam series or anything else with Mecha in it! This is probably because Wing and Escaflowne aren’t really your typical mecha series as they both contain elements designed to appeal to the female demographic.

I don’t know when I had a change of heart, but recently (and particularly in the last two years) I’ve managed to watch over 20 mecha series and have developed a real interest in the genre.  I actually feel like something is missing from my ‘Watching’ list if there isnt at least one mecha show on it (this is why I’m watching Gundam ZZ at the moment – distinct lack of giant robots this season!).

Its been such a gradual progression I hadn’t really noticed the change from casual viewer to mecha fangirl, and have no clue why this thought popped into my head tonight.  Maybe I’ll attempt to write a proper post about my favourite mecha at some point, but I think this is enough rambling for one evening!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. concernedchild permalink
    July 26, 2009 9:31 pm

    haha you like “toys”

  2. trueredesu permalink
    July 27, 2009 7:55 pm

    So expensive toys then :mmm:

  3. December 29, 2010 9:57 am

    LOL, I found this post by randomly Googling “mecha fangirl”. I, myself, am a long-time anime fan and a HUGE Gundam fangirl and was just wondering if I’m the only one out there. And I’m not just talking about Gundam Wing, either– Wing’s great for nostalgia but Universal Century is where it’s at, as far as I’m concerned.

    So, hello, fellow mecha fangirl!

Trackbacks

  1. The Top 10 Series – Mecha (Part I) « Caraniel's Ramblings

Leave a Reply

