Skip to content

The Top Ten Series: Mecha (part VI)

November 27, 2009

 

And it’s finally done!  Taken a lot longer than planned due to unforeseen crippling pain, but I’m delighted to have this completed.  The next genre I’ll be providing a countdown of favourites for is Shounen anime……but that won’t be for a while yet.

Anyway time for my personal #1 mecha series……its not the best show on the list, but its my favourite 😛 (My current Character of the Week was a huge clue!) ……Disclaimer for the previous post applies here too!

 

1. Code Geass:

A predictable outcome really – I have an irrational love of Code Geass.  I do know that its majorly flawed and highly over-rated, but can’t seem to find it in me to care!  I just love Geass to bits – the characters, the animation, the music and the voice acting; to me its got the whole package to provide some Fabulous entertainment.

Season one stands out in my mind as a rare show that my brother and I watched together – normally I watch stuff and recommend it to him later if I think he’ll like it, with Geass I watched episode one and insisted my brother watch it with me immediately after!  It just grabbed me from the very 1st episode and I very quickly became a dedicated fan.  Of course R2 was an entirely different kettle of fish; a complete trainwreck by the end – pulling plot-twists out of nowhere, abandoning interesting plotlines and leaving plotholes big enough to lose Jupiter in…..however in spite of all this I still highly rate R2 – it was a trainwreck, but my god was it a Fabulous one!  You can not deny that the series wasn’t entertaining – week in week out I was captivated by the world of Code Geass and I sorely miss it now it’s over.

Quite a lot of my fangirlism for Geass stems from one character – Lelouch Lamperouge/Vi Britannia.  I love characters like him!  An anti-hero genius on a personal quest for vengeance, Lelouch was a fascinating character to watch – immediate parallels are drawn to Light from Death Note; but Lelouch doesnt seem to lose touch with his humanity despite his god-like power of Geass the way Light does by the end of Death Note.  Of course Lelouch wasnt the only character I loved, I have a soft spot for C.C., Lloyd and Schneizel too – really the whole cast is filled with memorable characters.

In terms of animation, Geass comes from Sunrise and as a result it’s very, very pretty (although there is the occasional inconsistency).  It majorly helps that the character designs are so fecking pretty it hurts – CLAMP provided those, and as we may have gathered from glancing at my blog – I’m a big fan of CLAMPs artwork.  Of course CLAMP do love reusing designs and as result Lelouch looks remarkably similar to Kamui from X/1999 and Suzaku bares more than a passing resemblance to Syaoran from Tsubasa Reservoir Chronicle 😀  However to me this just adds to Code Geass’s appeal (I did say its an irrational love :P)

The mecha designs are fantastic – Sunrise know their mecha, but manage to make the Knightmare Frames in Code Geass different enough from their Gundam designs to stop cries of reused designs……..although admittedly as more and more Frames were introduced they clearly borrowed some ‘inspiration’ from Gundam :).  The idea of putting the mecha on glorified roller skates made for really interesting land based battles – of course they eventually had the battles take to skies when they ran out of fresh ideas for land fights…….but I’m not complaining about that!  I love action scenes and the battles in Code Geass did not disappoint at all!

Mention has to be made of the other reason I love Lelouch to bits – his seiyuu.  I’m a bit of a Jun Fukuyama fangirl and this role was his standout performance – Lelouch’s speeches and maniacal laughter just wouldnt be the same if it wasnt Fukuyama delivering them (so can’t have the english dub anywhere near me as a result).  The rest of the cast is just as good – Takahiro Sakurai’s turn as Suzaku (the character I love to hate) displayed a lot of range and Yukana was excellent as C.C. – her slightly condescending and matter-of-fact tone just made the character IMO.  I could actually go on forever about the cast of Geass, but shall restrain myself!

Onto the soundtrack – lots of OPs and EDs used over the course of the two series, and I generally loved them all – yes even the godwaful ALI Project managed to produce songs I can actually listen to without wishing to claw my ears off; a major achievement (everything becomes better when attached to Geass – just ask Pizza Hut!).  The BGM was also brilliant – I’ve got the soundtracks downloaded 😀

So yeah, Code Geass is my #1 mecha show in spite of all its faults.  For me entertainment value is paramount and Geass provided me with a veritable truckload of entertainment when it was airing.  It’s a show I don’t see myself ever getting tired of – similar to Gundam Wing in that respect; Geass has enough depth to keep me satisfied, but doesnt get caught up in its own self-importance or really present any deep meaningful issues – it’s just fun and easy to watch…….and its pretty which helps alot in my book! 😛

 

So there we have it – I’m sure my list isnt to everyone’s tastes, but these things are highly personal and I don’t proclaim to be any great authority on Mecha series – I havent seen half of the shows that are considered classics!  But I do know what entertains me and this list was the result.  To recap my Top Ten Mecha series are:
  1. Code Geass
  2. Tengen Toppa Gurren-Lagann
  3. RahXephon
  4. Eureka Seven
  5. Neon Genesis Evangelion
  6. Gundam Wing
  7. Bokurano
  8. Macross Frontier
  9. The Vision of Escaflowne
  10. Full Metal Panic

I’d be interested in hearing what everyone’s own Top Mecha shows are!  Next up will be Shounen anime…….don’t know if that will be harder or easier to write about TBH! 😀

 

10 Comments leave one →
  1. November 27, 2009 12:40 am

    good list mummy 😀 Lelouch’s voice made the charater :D, and then theres C.C :D:D:D:D

  2. Aiko permalink
    November 27, 2009 11:24 am

    Good job, Cara. I suspect, if I were to devise such a list, it would be somewhat similar (with some slight reshuffling of the order, placing NGE, Escaflowne and Bokurano higher). I’d probably include Zeta and 08th MS Team from the Gundam franchise and SDF Macross, omitting Code Geass and Full Metal Panic. As much as I liked these two, the former, although highly enjoyable, never seemed to place an emphasis on the mecha, despite its frequent appearance, playing second fiddle to the drama that ensued, while the latter, simply wouldn’t contend with those previously mentioned, particularly SDF Macross (which I acknowledge, you have yet to see). I’m sure there’s many more I haven’t considered or thought of, offhand, but on the whole, your list is well reasoned. 🙂

  3. Aiko permalink
    November 28, 2009 11:29 am

    Oh, in my haste, my above comment forgot to omit Wing in favour of 08th MS Team to make 10, not 11.

  4. November 28, 2009 2:57 pm

    MS 08th Team was excellent – definately one of my favourite Gundam series along with Zeta and Wing. But I could only pick one from the franchise (weird rule I set for myself there) so went with Wing due to the nostalgia 😀

    SDF Macross is on my to watch list – I imagine it would shove FMP off the list as its place is quite tenuous.

  5. November 29, 2009 6:51 am

    I’m somewhat embarrassed to have seen only four of those.

  6. OnyxSyaoran permalink
    November 29, 2009 4:37 pm

    And where was Magic Knight Rayearth?! :0 The OVA’s where one of the most powerful Mecha anime made in the 90’s xS

    • November 29, 2009 4:39 pm

      I liked the MKR manga if that counts!……..I have no comment on those OVAs 😐

  7. December 2, 2009 9:12 am

    Long live Lelouch! O_o Oh wait, he went to Paradise… I think.
    Should I be glad that your #1 was the only one in your list that I’ve watched and loved? =/

  8. justin permalink
    December 9, 2009 12:38 am

    amone all of the contenders in the world of mecha anime, with shows like ggundam and Neon genesis(still dont get the end :P) to name only a small part, i am glad you chose my peresonal fa-vor-eet-o, Code Geass. thanks

Leave a Reply

