Skip to content

Winter 2010 – First Impressions (Chu-Bra!! and So.Ra.No.Wo.To.)

January 6, 2010

So another season is upon us, and even though it looks like a whole load of shite my nature means I have to try everything for fairness sake!  So lets get started on these 1st impressions posts shall we?

Chu-Bra!!

I don’t even know where to start with this…….it was painful having to watch all 23minutes 44seconds of this tripe. Its not that its overly offensive – its just so dull and uninspired that I don’t even feel the need to rant the way I did with say Queens Blade. So the teenage girl likes fancy underwear – whoop-de-doo; its really not all that out of the ordinary to like nice underwear……..I think this is a case where I’m just not going to ‘get’ this show simply because I’m female – however if you have an underwear fetish Chuu-Bra is going to be a wet dream come true! The show goes to great lengths to get all the terminology correct – even shows you how to correctly measure for cup-sizes (although the sight of talking nipples is going to haunt my nightmares! ).

The show is all about underwear so of course the entire point is fanservice – but its not particularly interesting fanservice since most of girls are lolis, not helping that they’re all so young (kind of distrubing really). Saying that though I do have to applaud the variety of ways the animators managed to get their pantyshots in – although thats really the height of the creativity on display here.

The animation looks quite old school in its designs – bit flat and dull, not all that appealing. Character designs are pretty horrendous too. No comment on the voice acting as I wasnt paying alot of attention and the script was quite uninspired anyway. Music is everything you’d expect from such a show – obnoxious twee J-pop all the way

So yeah, not alot to say about Chuu-Bra! it isnt even bad enough to warrant my usual rants – its just ‘meh’. Avoid (unless you have an undying desire to watch underage girls talk about and model underwear ).

So.Ra.No.Wo.To (Sound of the Skies)

Well that wasn’t as bad as I was fearing, not particularly interesting either though. I’d like this so much better if it had the original concept character designs rather than these K-ON! moe blobs To me the character designs just don’t fit with the otherwise fantastic animation – the backgrounds are beautifully rendered and the world setting is nicely thought out. Anyway enough crying about the K-ON-ification of the characters, onto the actual story.

The pacing was very sedate, borderline dull if I’m honest; but there is potential in this concept. I can appreciate that quite alot of work went into developing this town, their local legend and customs – the Klint-esq artwork that accompanied Mio’s Rio’s narration of the legend of the demon and fire maidens was beautifully done, and I’m curious to see if they’ll put a supernatural spin on the show…..because lets be honest, the story of a loli who’s crap at the trumpet joining an army outpost of band girls is never going to be all that fascinating without some sort of spin.

Happily in addition to the lovely background animation, the music is also great. I loved the Kalafina OP, french insert song and general rustic feeling soundtrack…….however the ED seemed a bit out of place in all its generic J-Popness Voice acting is decent enough – script was sparse in this 1st episode and not particularly challenging. Do like Yuu Kobayashi though.

So not awful, but not all that exciting either. Shall give it another episode or two to see if anything interesting happens, but can’t really see myself keeping this on longterm.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 6, 2010 5:46 pm

    Chu Bra made me empathetic towards girls and their hardships with undergarments.

    • January 6, 2010 6:18 pm

      Us women always get the short end of the stick 😦 But in all seriousness, underwear woes do not warrant an entire anime series made about them!

  2. January 7, 2010 5:02 am

    This is a very interesting post and i also like your blog site designs, have bookmarked your site and will be looking for future updates.

  3. trueredesu permalink
    January 8, 2010 2:05 pm

    Later on today I plan to try out both of these series :teehee:

    I have better hopes for sora

  4. Matt J. permalink
    January 18, 2010 9:59 am

    I never understood the Japanese obsession with female underwear. Can’t say I really WANT to;)

Leave a Reply

