Skip to content

100th Post – Might as well Rant about my Job

March 19, 2010

Another milestone reached – I’ve managed to reach 100 posts on this blog! 😯 Quite surprised at myself really, I originally only intended to use the blog as an archive.

Anyway, Vinnie-kins requested a work rant for a nostalgia kick – I’m only too happy to oblige 😀

Update time on my chronic RSI of doom – I finally went out on sick leave for three weeks shortly after New Year, something I had been resisting doing for years……this has caused all manner of shitstorms with my line managers and occupational health, mainly because my GP and OccHealth doctor don’t think I’m fit to work, and my line managers are desperate to keep me in work since I’m the only one with half a clue apparently.

It has to be noted that the department I work in in the morning is the one that causes all the problems – it’s also the department that’s busiest, suffers from the shittiest management I’ve ever had the misfortune to encounter and is chronically understaffed. All these reasons, plus terrible working environment and massive workload cause Cara tremendous amounts of pain. The irony? It’s the Physiotherapy department and I’ve been an on/off patient of theirs for 3+ years due to the condition the work they force on me triggers! 😆

Now you’d think the logical course of action would be to a) hire more (competent) staff and b) move poor Cara to another more suitable department; but no. This is the Soul Destroying NHS after all!

Instead Cara came back from sick leave and was put in another (really nice and well designed!) department for two weeks while the managers flapped about writing reports and getting shouted at by my doctors. A meeting with me was then arranged and somehow I’m back in Physiotherapy doing the same fecking job that put me off on leave in the 1st place! Now how did that happen??

Well the meeting basically went something like this:

Managers: “How are you now Cara?”
Me: “I’m a bit better after the rest, but there’s some residual stiffness in the joints and I’m still on prescription medication and attending physiotherapy – look my wrist is still swollen”
Managers: “That’s nice. We need you back in Physiotherapy to work.”
Me: “…….”
Managers: “You’ll be back there tomorrow morning as there’s no one to cover the work”
Me: “You do realise that I was off within a week the last time I was left in that office on my own? Is there any possibility of drafting in one of the clerical floats to help?”
Managers: “We can’t magic people out of nowhere Cara”
Me: “……I’ll go back on a trial basis and I’m not doing more than I’m capable of doing. If my condition worsens I’m going straight to the OccHealth doctor”
Managers: “Fine just fine. BTW there’s a backlog of stuff that no one has touched since you stopped working”
Me: “You mean to tell me that no one has touched my Paperwork Mountain in nearly 3 months!?”
Managers: “Yes. Take care of that will you?”
Me: “……!?”
Managers: “Lovely. Thanks Cara”

Meeting over. 😐

Yeah – gotta love managers. So I’ve been back in physio for 2 weeks now, most of which has been spent attempting to run the department single-handed, and guess what – I’m as sore as I ever was!! As promised I’ve managed to wrangle an appointment with my OccHealth doctor next week, during which I will cry stress and severe pain (I won’t even have to lie!) which will then force him to get me taken out of that shitty department once and for all!

God I hate my job.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 19, 2010 8:14 pm

    please kill them 😦

  2. March 20, 2010 6:06 am

    This post has actually gotten upset. Your managers are dickheads.

    You should just tell them straight up that they’re doing bad job, and if they want to keep you around, they need to change some things. Make sure you let them know fully how awesome you are at your job. Make up another job that offered you a similar position, and threaten to leave. Sock it too them, and if they don’t give in, kidnap your manager’s loved ones and hold them for ransom.

    (I take no responsibility if these suggestions leave you without a job or in jail)

  3. ukato permalink
    March 20, 2010 10:13 am

    Damn, poor Cara… I shed a tear for you TToTT

    On a happier note, i reached a milestone yesterday as well – I now officially have one terabyte of anime BANZAI! BANZAI! BANZAI!!! ^.^

    And sweeeeeeeeeeet, you’ve done your Baka post!!

  4. March 20, 2010 11:15 am

    😆 I’m a bit taken with the dramatics sometimes. My managers are nice people just really crap at management; ditto the staff in Physiotherapy……lovely people just hellish working environment.

    I’ve warned my direct line manager that I’m going ahead with a further complaint to OccHealth, so she’s now looking for alternate employment for me – just unofficially at the moment.

  5. Keo permalink
    March 20, 2010 8:12 pm

    It’d be funny if you switched job positions with one of your managers for a day. Hehe.

Leave a Reply

