Skip to content

Spring 2010 – First Impressions (Yojou-Han Shinwa Taikei)

April 23, 2010

At last the final TV series of the season airs – Yojou-Han Shinwa Taikei (The Tatami Galaxy) will be the last ‘First Impression’ post of this Spring season.

Yojou-Han Shinwa Taikei (The Tatami Galaxy)

I liked this, but it also give me such a major headache that I had to go lie down for an hour! The problem is that the characters talk way too fast and I was struggling to read the subs quickly enough. A few times I had to pause to catch up and have a look at what was actually going on animation wise…..which was less than ideal. I normally love these talky shows, massive amounts of dialogue generally doesn’t phase me ( I usually love tons of well written dialogue), it’s just the fact that there is massive amounts of dialogue spoken so fecking fast its impossible to keep up with that causes problems! For an introductory episode this was well done – the characters and their basic traits as well as the setting are well established, and there seems to be quite a lot of scope for development. You can really tell that Yojou-Han Shinwa Taikei is based on a novel as the characterisation and dialogue is the primary focus – I’d really like to keep it on but if this 1st episode is any indication, I may not be capable of following it without investing in a massive quantity of headache tablets!

As expected from the trailer, the animation is very experimental – a touch of Trapeze via Kaiba and Cat Soup. There are lots of different styles all jumbled together, weird camera angles, filters, live action and some unusual character designs – it’s very interesting (well what I saw anyway – most of the time my eyes were glued to the bottom of the screen trying to keep up with the subtitles! ).

In terms of voice acting, due credit has to go to Shintaro Asanuma who has surely broken some sort of record for speed talking. The cast in general is excellent, and they do really well injecting plenty of personality into their characters, even with the break neck pace of the dialogue. I really liked the OP and the ED – Noitamina series always seem to have great music, its one of the major draws of the time slot.

So overall I have mixed feeling about this series. Its series like this that make me wish I could speak fluent japanese so I wouldn’t have to be so dependant on subtitles – I would have enjoyed this a lot more if I could have just sat back and let the dialogue wash over me while watching the trippy animation……instead I got a headache trying to follow everything that was going on I’ll attempt another episode before I decide whether or not I can cope with the show.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 23, 2010 10:02 pm

    Yup my thoughts exactly. Couldn’t see the wonderful experimental animation when my eyes are glued to the bottom of teh screen and I got a headache from the experience

    • April 23, 2010 10:04 pm

      Definately a massive tick in the minus department – I’m quite disappointed since I was looking forward to this series.

  2. April 24, 2010 1:18 am

    The show itself was actually quite good, but there is no debating that it was difficult to keep up with that stream of dialogue. Unfortunately I am a slow reader, so I really struggled (fortunately no headaches, though). I was impressed how well they laid out an interesting premise, and gave a sense of the various characters, all while exploring some intense visual styles.

    • April 24, 2010 10:52 am

      I was also impressed by how well put together the show was – really excellent direction…….its just that speed-reading isnt really my forte. I especially don’t want to miss anything with this show as the dialogue is clearly brilliantly written and interesting – but seems like I’d be better off reading the book! 😛

  3. April 27, 2010 10:03 am

    From your post seem this anime has a lot of dialog with fast pace.
    Uuhmm…I will skip this anime, and with Commie subs release at that size.

Trackbacks

  1. Yojo-han Shinwa Taikei – Tatami Galaxy « Abandoned Factory Anime Review

Leave a Reply

