Skip to content

Five characters I’d like to have a drink with!

May 16, 2010

So vaguely inspired by one of my really weird sugar induced dreams, where I was playing drinking games with the casts of Bleach, xxxHOLiC and Fruits Basket (yeah, tis better not to ask), I got to thinking – what characters would I particularly like to have a few sociables with?  These characters will obviously be ones that I quite like, but aren’t necessarily in my all time favourites list.  Rather these are the characters that I believe would make great drinking partners, either because they’d be full of interesting conversation or because they’re the life and soul of the party (or some happy medium of the two).

I’m not really a big drinker these days – I’ve calmed down in my old age.  Now I mostly drink to be social, conversation flows much more easily (and randomly) when I’ve had a few beverages – drunken conversations can be most enlightening so I generally avoid becoming completely trollied so I can actually remember whats happened the night before!  So generally I’ve chosen characters that won’t drink themselves into oblivion – anyway here’s the five characters I’d like to have a drink with!

1. Yuuko Ichihara – xxxHOLiC

Yuuko is without a shadow of a doubt, my favourite female character of all time.  She can ooze sex-appeal, be aloof and mysterious or act like a petulant child – yet all her personality facets are so intrinsically ‘Yuuko’ that sudden changes in demeanor are never jarring.  Yuuko is probably the most interesting character CLAMP have ever created – she’s very genre-savvy, part of her purpose as a character is to know everything but only reveal plot-points when its necessary; yet for being such an obvious author mouthpiece, Yuuko has an appeal all of her own.  Plus the woman has a wardrobe I’d kill for!

I’d love to sit down and have a few drinks with Yuuko because it seems like it would be an experience never to be forgotten.  Every character that comes into contact with Yuuko comes away changed in some manner, yet Yuuko doesn’t go out of her way to influence people – a conversation with her would be an enlightening experience.  Plus there’s the fact Yuuko can drink like a fish due to an unspecified number of years of experience!  I can just imagine her imperiously ordering Watanuki to bring more drink and snacks while black Mokona bounces about in the background……a scary amount of my anime related dreams either begin or end with this kind of scene – I’m constantly drawn to Yuuko’s shop even in my dreams!

The conversation would never run dry when drinking with Yuuko.  Not only is she the authority on all Time Space matters, but she’s also pretty knowledgeable about classic manga and has a fujoshi streak a mile wide!  I like to think that I’d get on well with Yuuko and its for that reason she’s one of the 1st characters that jumped to mind when compiling this little list.

2. Gintoki Sakata – Gintama

Drinking with Gin-chan would not be a quiet affair.  It may start out that way, but by the end of the evening there would be people passed out all over the place either from alcohol abuse or impromptu brawls, and Gintoki himself will either be conked out and snoring or sitting quietly in the corner surveying the carnage!

When thinking who to put on this list, I thought of Gintoki quite quickly.  Just like all the characters in Gintama, I’m drawn to Gintoki almost against my will!  For being the most laid back individual on this list, Gintoki has a force of personality that just draws people in – even though he would be perfectly happy being left alone thanks very much.

Gintoki is quite a private person, his past is mostly shrouded in mystery and he isn’t a fantastic conversationalist for the most part.  However once he gets going on a subject (mostly a rant about whatever has rubbed him up the wrong way at the time) Gintoki proves to be a great motivational speaker.  Prodding him into launching into a spiel about something would be great fun and listening to his expressive voice is always soothing in some weird way.

However above all I’d want to have a drink with Gintoki because it would never be just a drink with Gintoki – he comes part and parcel with the other mental characters of Gintama, and who wouldn’t want to be in the middle of that riot!?

3. Yukari Tanizaki – Azumanga Daioh

Ah Yukari-sensei!  On some weird level I find myself relating to this odd woman.  I kind of admire the fact she feels no need to act like an adult despite supposedly being a role-model as a teacher.  The way Yukari exhibits absolutely no guilt about shirking her obligations to go goof-off  or do her own thing is something I wish I could do at times.  Yukari can be a complete bitch, but is a weirdly likeable one – sure she’ll land me with the bill after our drinking binge, but I’ll have had fun talking to her and probably won’t begrudge it…..just like Nyamo really.

Yukari’s blunt, loud and irreverent manner should really alienate her from people, but strangely that’s part of her charm and she enjoys the admiration of her class and the eternal friendship of the long-suffering Nyamo.  I kind of wish I could act in the same way – if there’s one thing I do too much, its worry about what people think; the fetters of maintaining proper appearances have long restricted my actions.  It would be so freeing to spend an evening in Yukari’s company and just not worry about anything!

Yukari and I could lament about the lack of men in our lives and rant about our jobs – its great to just vent every now and then.  I can just imagine Yukari and I sitting in some little bar surrounded by bottles being angry at the world and enjoying every second of it, with poor Nyamo desperately trying to get us to shut up and drink some water 😆

4. Izaya Orihara – Durarara!!

Now we’re living dangerously – going drinking with Izaya would be a hazardous affair.  Not only would you have to keep your wits about you when talking to this fascinating man, but you’d have to keep an eye out for his many enemies – getting flattened by a vending machine hurled by Shizuo wouldn’t really be my idea of a fun death!

I love Izaya – we know next to nothing about him personally, but he just eats up every scene he’s in with his manic energy.  There would be no letting loose drinking with Izaya – he’s far too guarded and analytical to do that with, plus it’s just asking for trouble to let down your defenses when chatting with him.  I’d imagine having a drink with Izaya would be a bit like meeting with a psychologist.  Izaya’s fascination with human behaviour means that he’s able to easily pick apart people’s personalities – I think that would all at once extremely interesting and damned frightening!

Still the sense of fun mixes with the aura of danger surrounding Izaya is attractive – I really can’t help but be drawn to this character.  Izaya can exhibit child-like glee at the strangest things – just listening to him laugh is infectious!  The challenge of attempting to get any information out of him (without paying the price) sparks my otherwise dormant competitive side – I can’t help but feel like anything I would get from him would be a massive victory!

Izaya would be a fascinating person to have a drink with – definitely not relaxing, but undeniably fascinating!

5. Ryoko – Tenchi Muyo!

Finally we have Ryoko, who I just think would be a riot to get properly plastered with!  Who else but an ex-Space-Pirate would you choose to go drinking with!?

Ryoko has been a favourite character of mine from the first time I laid eyes on Tenchi Muyo over a decade ago.  She’s brassy, lazy and prone to temper tantrums, but she also exhibits surprising tenderness and insight at times – out of all Tenchi’s harem, Ryoko (and Washu) are the only ones I can claim to truly like – the other girls irritate me to varying degrees.

Drinking with Ryoko would be a loud, raucous event punctuated with random explosions – in no way would she be a dull drinking partner….athought I’d need to be careful that I wouldn’t wake up the next morning with the ends of my hair singed!  Ryoko and I would get one well since I, unlike the other women in the house, have absolutely no interest in her man – I’d rather stab myself in the foot than be landed with Tenchi as a boyfriend (but there is no way I’d ever say that to Ryoko!).

For a fun night on the tiles, you couldn’t really ask for a better drinking partner!

So thats my five characters I’d like to have a drink with – what are yours?

23 Comments leave one →
  1. May 16, 2010 3:47 pm

    Hoo, I like this game.

    Horo: Spice and Wolf

    I certainly wouldn’t be able to keep up with her in consumption rate but for sheer intelligent and flirty conversation there isn’t anyone better. While she may be wise in some areas, there’s still a lot she doesn’t know so she’d be a hell of a lot of fun to try tease, only for it to be shoved back in your face as she one-ups you with sex appeal.

    The Dollars Gang: Durarara

    Well, two of them are otaku so I already have common ground. Plus they’re such a bunch of nutters that there would never be a dull moment in the conversation.

    Takizawa Akira: Eden of the East

    Again, another character where there would never be a dull moment in coversation. He also has a never-ending knowledge of movies so there’s common ground to be discussed there and at the very least you’d come out of the experience with a bunch of movies reccomended to you. (Tempted to pick Morita from Honey and Clover but Morita is a trickster and would steal your beer when you weren’t looking)

    • May 16, 2010 4:08 pm

      Oho! Horo nearly made my list too – she’s definitely an interesting character. I also rejected Morita for the same reason you did – I already had Yukari to bankrupt me 😛

  2. May 16, 2010 4:03 pm

    As entertaining as he is, drinking with Izaya sounds like a terrifying experiance 😐
    your session with yukari sounds like it would be depressing 😦 poor mummy

    • May 16, 2010 4:09 pm

      Terrifying but interesting! Imagine the thrill! 😆

      Drinking with Yukari wouldnt actually be all that depressing – that kind of ranting and whining is quite theraputic!

      • May 16, 2010 4:22 pm

        I dunno Im not so keen on the idea of people picking apart my mind like he would certainly do 😦

        Im not sure who Id like to drink with, Ill have to get back to you on that, many characters just get wasted off one sip 😐

  3. temperus permalink
    May 16, 2010 5:19 pm

    Thirding Horo, but I’d feel like I’d be getting in the way 😀

    I’m also not so sure it would be wise to drink with Izaya.. though I think drinking with almost any of the cast from Durarara or Bacanno would be an interesting experience to say the least.

    Also might be interesting to drink with Ginko from Mushishi, definitely wouldn’t mind drinking with Vash and/or Wolfwood, and would probably have a riot with almost any two from Tentai Senshi Sunred.

    • May 16, 2010 5:26 pm

      Ginko would definitely be interesting to drink with – he’s another one that made the shortlist. Just think of the stories he could tell you.

  4. May 16, 2010 5:30 pm

    All casts from Bleach except for Soi Fon and Yourichi. I don’t want any yuri action afterwards. oh and Gintoki definitely made the list.

  5. trueredesu permalink
    May 16, 2010 5:33 pm

    Wait…I thought you were Yukari…
    nyoron~

    • May 16, 2010 6:45 pm

      Sorry, unfortunately I only share a handful of Yukari’s traits 😦

  6. twilightshiva permalink
    May 16, 2010 8:07 pm

    Very cool list. I think I’d want to have a drink with Yuuko or Urahara Kisuke from Bleach. They both have that laid-back attitude and always know more than they will tell. It could potentially be frustratingly suspenseful but I think it would be fun and definitely interesting.

  7. May 16, 2010 9:14 pm

    Interesting choices Gintoki is definitely up there for me 😀

  8. May 17, 2010 4:36 am

    I’m so glad Yukari sensei made your list. She is one of my favorite characters of all time, drunk or otherwise.

  9. May 18, 2010 6:37 am

    What a great idea for a post- I really enjoyed reading this! I haven’t seen it done before, haha.

    Yuuko immediately sprang into my mind when I read the post title- she is a super unique/just plain cool character, mysterious and wise yet silly at times. She’s one of those individuals who you can’t really fit into any categories. And I’ve gotta say that drinking with Izaya would be a very interesting experience (not that I’m old enough to be drinking, lol). He’s a little unpredictable but so full of some sort of charisma whenever he appears on Durarara!! Awesome choices, overall.

  10. May 18, 2010 6:07 pm

    When I’m old enough to consume alcohol, I might just come up with a list like this.

  11. May 18, 2010 6:35 pm

    All these people not old enough to drink…..I feel so old 😦

  12. Sakana permalink
    August 19, 2010 11:36 am

    Interesting…. Ayame and Shigure of *FuruBa*, Yukari of AzuMD, Riza, Winry, and/or Ed (let’s face it, Ed tryring to convince everyone he’s old enough would be hilarous) of HageRen. Sanosuke of RuroKen would also be interesting…love Kenshin, but I’m not sure he would be that fun or interesting… Probably rather zen or historical. Watching Kaoru kick his butt the nextmorning would be funny though. Vash, Wolfood, and oddly enough Millie of Trigun round off my list.

    • August 19, 2010 6:54 pm

      Nice choices! Ayame & Shigure would be great fun – although think I’d need Hatori along well to balance out their ‘specialness’ 😆

      • Sakana permalink
        August 20, 2010 3:46 am

        And smack us all down once things get out of hand? Yeah, probably.

Leave a Reply

