Skip to content

Monthly Reflections – May 2010

May 30, 2010

Since I watch a tonne more than I would ever have time to blog, I thought it may be more useful to have a monthly summary. Originally I was going to do this weekly, but since I generally follow the guts of 20-25 shows, it wouldn’t really be feasible to do this every week. Anyway, I’ll split the post into current season and long running shows.

New Season Shows

Angel Beats!

Its been an emotional rollercoaster in Angel Beats this month.  Maeda Jun is a master of manipulation, and you know what?  I don’t mind at all!  I quite enjoy having my emotions toyed with – at least the show gets some sort of reaction out of me, rather than just washing over me in a wave of ‘meh-ness’ the way lots of other series do.  So Otonashi’s past was an utterly contrived highlight reel of Key’s saddest moments and Kanade turned out to just be socially retarded rather than evil – at least we now have some sort of direction for the show’s finale, and I for one am enjoying the ride so far!


Arakawa Under the Bridge

Lots of interesting developments Under the Bridge this month.  Ric is slowly starting to embrace the alternate viewpoints the Bridge residents adhere to, and as such is becoming a much more rounded character.  The slowly developing relationship between him and Nino is really interesting to watch, and little tidbits about other facets of the residents personalities make this show more than just a gag series.  Not to say the comedy is lacking – it’s not!  Some brilliant moments involving Sister, Maria, P-Ko and the Mayor this month – I really love this show.


B Gata H Kei

This, on the other hand has gotten boring.  Absolutely no movement on the central relationship and rehashing of the same tired jokes over and over does not equal entertainment.  B Gata H Kei turned out to be a one-trick pony, but I’m too far into the show to drop it now.  I’ll see it out to the end, but doubt at this point that Yamada will ever lose her virginity.  Kosuda has actually become more interesting to watch than Yamada’s dull sex-crazed tsundere ways; which is really not a good thing since Kosuda by design is fecking dull as a brick!  Meh, this is why I generally avoid these kind of shows – I get pissed off with them after a few episodes.


Giant Killing

Giant Killing has been on a slow burn this month.  Lots of football matches peppered with character development for various members of the team makes for interesting, if not particularly exciting, viewing.  I like that the show is taking its time to build a really solid foundation, rather than having Tatsumi breeze in and turn the team around in a few episodes.  Tatsumi is having to work to earn the grudging respect of his team, slowly changing their mindsets and making them see his point of view.  Tis really a very solid show, and one that surprised me with its quality.  Now just hope that DEEN can keep it up – it would be truly tragic for this show to falter now.


Hakuouki Shinsengumi Kitan

Really bored of this show now, but watching it for the eyecandy!  I couldn’t actually tell you what happened this month since the in-series timeline is so drawn out!  Months pass within a single episode yet there seems to be practically no character development to speak of.  I’m 8 episodes into this show and can barely tell you who’s who in this series.  I knew I was only going to be in it for the pretty, and really that’s all Hakuoki has delivered!


The House of Five Leaves (Sarai-ya Goyou)

House of Five Leaves continues to advance at its own unhurried pace.  Its been a fantastic month for carefully fleshing out the characters – particularly Masa and Ume.  Five Leaves is really amazingly well put together – the dialogue is so simple and unhurried, there isn’t any sense of things being forced or false – the plot and conversations unfolds in an entirely organic, natural way that is so hard to achieve.  At the centre of it all is the character of  Yaichi and the mystery that is his past – Masa in his own naive way is slowly worming his way under Yaichi’s protective armor in order to see the man underneath.  It’s a painstaking process, but the progression is the bit that’s interesting to watch.  Really looking forward to next month.


Ichiban Ushiro no Daimaou

This show is so OTT and random that it never fails to entertain.  This month we’ve had hotsprings, beaches, artshifts, tentacle-rape, power-up grades with next-to-no explanation and a ‘plot’ dumped in our laps via an info-dump dialogue that came from nowhere! 😆  But you know what – despite the fact nothing makes any sense in this series, I’m still massively entertained.  Sometimes I really feel like I’ve missed an entire scene, the episodes can just feel that disjointed – but everything becomes better when Akuto comes over all GAR Demon-lord!  Ichiban Ushiro no Daimaou is a show that I really shouldnt like, but I do – it’s very tongue-in-cheek and blatant in its fanservice and its hard not to like a series with a dragon voiced by Alucard!


Kaichou wa Maid-sama

We’ve kind of settled into an annoying pattern in Kaichou wa Maid-sama – Misaki acts all tsun-tsun, gets into trouble and Usui has to save her triggering a brief dere-dere moment quickly covered up with more tsun-tsun-ness; add blushing, sparkles and cosplay and you have the basic plot of Kaichou wa Maid-sama.  At this stage in the game I could be doing with a bit more development on the relationship, but rather at this midway point we get a random omake episode that seemed to make absolutely no sense!  I’d like a bit more information of Usui now – he’s still a complete paper-bag character at the moment with his snarky bishie ways, but I don’t think anything can really save this show from it averageness its fallen into.


K-ON!!

Yeap I’m still torturing myself with this every week, and yes I still begrudge every moment I spend on it, but no I won’t drop it.  The only episode I sort of liked this month was episode 8 where Yui and Ritsu are trying to decide what they want to do with their lives, and that’s only because at the age of 27 I still don’t have a baldy notion what I the hell I want to do with my life!  I was pretty sure I knew what I was doing when I was the K-ON! girls age, but life doesn’t always work out according to plan.  So yeah that was the only episode I kind of liked because I could somewhat relate to their confusion – everything else was ‘meh’.


Rainbow: Nisha Rokubou no Shichinin

I still really like Rainbow.  It’s sometimes needlessly overdramatic and poorly acted, but I still admire how its trying to present something quite different to the norm.  The subject matter isn’t something commonly attempted in anime, tis a pity they’ve gone a touch too far with Ichihara and the Doctor so they’ve ended up being caricatures rather than truly chilling villains.  Still this month had some fantastic moments – Mario getting his hand smashed and Turtle managing to get that riceball to An-chan were highlights.  Rainbow isn’t perfect, but its by no means bad – I’m really enjoying it.  An-chan is just awesome.


Senkou no Night Raid

Well I finally got bored of Senkou no Night Raid and dropped it after episode 5.  I believe it got better once it settled on a linear plotline from ep 8, but I just can’t muster the enthusiasm to watch anymore of this show.  Episode 4 was just awful, and episode 5 just didn’t seem to have any point to it.  Slow subbing didn’t really help matters.  Maybe if it turns out to have a solid ending I’ll pick it up again to blitz through, but as it stands I’m through with this series.


Uragiri wa Boku no Namae o Shitteiru (UraBoku)

Uraboku seems to be attempting to get some kind of award for having the greatest number of soul-less stereotypes voiced by fantastic seiyuu in a single series!  Seriously, there are so many characters in this series yet none of them have any depth to speak of and all of them have the most generic character archetypes its like they’ve been lifted from the shounen-ai character handbook!  Not that I’m really complaining – I enjoy the cheesy, utterly predictable dialogue and like the fact I can sit through an episode and just giggle like a child at the contrived direction.  Shows like this are my guilty pleasure – they’re terrible, but bloody entertaining and I’m loving the cast to bits.


Working!

Fairly fun month for Working. Having run out of stuff to do in the restaurant more of the action is taking place outside – the change in scenery is welcome, but if only they’d move on from Mahiru’s man-phobia!  I am tired of  Mahiru, she eats screen-time and stuff involving her is generally unfunny.  Working does not do drama well – I do not want serious relationship development in my comedy series!  I want more Yamada and Souma shit-stirring and lots more of Souta’s dysfunctional sisters.  Mahiru can jump off a bridge (I was so disappointed that she didn’t during the ‘hotspring’ episode). :lol:#


Youjo-Han Shinwa Taikei (The Tatami Galaxy)

I’m desperately trying to love this series, but it’s just a bit beyond me.  I watched ep 2 & 3 this month, and I really enjoy the ground-hog day kind of format this series is employing.  However its still too quick for me.  After each episode I need a complete break to rest my eyes and try to fight off a headache – watching anime shouldnt be this difficult!  I’m still reluctant to drop it though – I feel like I’ll be missing something special if I do, because truth be known Tatami Galaxy is a very good series indeed.


Ongoing Series

Bleach

This month saw the conclusion of the Ichigo Vs Ulquiorra fight that’s been going on forever and a day.  Fortunately it was pretty damn good – probably one of the best fights Bleach has produced since Soul Society.  Ulquiorra’s end was a bit meh though, as one of the more interesting Espada I’d have liked a better end for him.  Orihime is bugging me though – she’s done nothing this month but cry and scream ‘Kurosaki-kun!’ – getting old really fast!  Some Ishida screentime was a welcome change – at least he makes some attempt to be original in his fights – Ichigo, Sado and Renji are all beam-spamming one-trick ponies!


Dragonball Kai

Trunks!!! Fuck yeah!  This month was entirely given over to set up for the start of the Android Saga, as such we got Vegeta in that hideous pink ‘Badman’ shirt, which always makes me laugh, the arrival of Future!Trunks and the return of Goku from space.  Good times.  Not a hell of a lot really happened now that I’m thinking back – lots of talking, some training montages and plenty of Vegeta being Vegeta – great times.  Dragonball Kai continues to be an awesome nostalgia kick, really looking forward to the start of the Android Saga proper.


Durarara!!

This month hasn’t been Drrr!!’s finest hour.  The climax of the Saika arc was pretty good – especially seeing Shizuo let loose, but the past three episodes have been quite Yellow Scarves centric and no where near as interesting as the earlier episodes.  Watching Izaya troll the world is amusing, but I’m getting bored of setup – more than ready for some conflict!  Hopefully things will start to kick off next week as the show enters its final month – it would be criminal for Drrr!! to end badly after how brilliant its been to date.


Fairy Tail

The end of the Phantom Lord arc was pretty decent, and the cool down episodes that followed were mildly entertaining, but I find it difficult to drum up much enthusiasm for Fairy Tail.  The anime just doesn’t seem to have the charm the manga does and I really can’t figure out why that is!  Still I am looking forward to the next episode – I liked Loki’s backstory in the manga and how Lucy’s development as a mage tied into it – hopefully the anime doesn’t disappoint.


Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood

Oh god where to start!?  This month was action packed even if not very Elric-centric.  We got the conclusion of the Armstrong’s & Curtis’ fight against Sloth,  Hoenheim’s meeting with Father, Wrath storming Central HQ and his fight with Fu, Buccaneer and Greed and then there was the whole Gold-toothed Alchemist Vs Mustang & co!  I’m still massively impressed with how well BONES have adapted the manga in this series – there’s stuff going on all over the place as each of the characters moves independently, but somehow the plotline never gets too messy or hard to follow – great stuff.  I will sorely miss this series when it ends.


Hetalia Axis Powers

The best episode this month was the one with France.  France is awesome, he should get more screentime – more France less Italia I say!  In fact more of the Allies in general, I like watching Russia scare the shit out of the other countries, France attempt to hit on everyone and the US send England into an alcoholic depression!  Couldnt care less about China though – he’s not every exciting.  Also enjoyed the Chibi-Romano, Boss Spain segments.  Chibi-Romano is every bit as awesome as Chibitalia is annoying, more Romano and his ‘fecking do it yourself!’ attitude please!


Katanagatari

This month saw a return to Togame and Shichika, after last months detour to Nanami.  The action element was once again pretty lacking, but I didn’t mind much since we got plenty of movement on the Togame X Shichika front.  At long last Shichika appears to be developing some proper social skills and feelings for Togame.  His schoolyard bullying of her and jealousy were pretty fun.  The definition of a ‘sword’ is getting a bit lulzy now though!

Kateikyoushi Hitman Reborn!

I caught up to broadcast this month so Reborn is now added to my weeklies.  This month has been continuing the trials of the Primo Family, so episodes are either crap or moderately entertaining.  The whole arc just feels so fillery (since I don’t read the Reborn manga I havent a clue if it actually is filler or not), although it is pretty cool to see the Primo Family properly.  Still I hope they don’t drag out this Mist guardian thing too much, the 1st gen Mist guardian is no where near as cool as Mukuro!


Naruto Shippuuden

The invasion of Konoha was in full swing this month – Pain’s utter domination of the fight was quite something to behold.  I’m quite pleased with how this has been adapted in the anime, the pacing has been good and the animation quality has been decent too.  Highlight this month has to be Kakashi Vs Pain fight though – despite the fact I knew the outcome it was still exciting to watch.  I’m really looking forward to next months fights though since Naruto has finally arrived back from his training session with the Toads.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. May 30, 2010 7:44 pm

    This post just kicked my ass, but not as hard as FMA has been kicking my ass. I love that fucking show!

    B Gata H Kei and Kaichu wa Maid-sama are two shows that I used to love, but have slowly seen dissolve away into shittyness.

    • May 30, 2010 8:00 pm

      FMA leaves everything else in the dust this month – its on a completely different level of awesome!

      The decline of B Gata H Kei and Maid-sama should have been predicted, but I still hoped they would defy my expectations.

  2. May 30, 2010 9:37 pm

    What the bloody hell mummy! “Trunks!!! Fuck yeah! ” You swore!?

  3. coronaakahoshi permalink
    May 31, 2010 12:24 pm

    Trials of the primo family? Uhh … definitely filler 😐 Just like the stupid seals-to-open-boxes arcobaleno trials were. I should pick up the anime again though …

    • May 31, 2010 1:02 pm

      Ah thought so – it does stink of filler 😆

      • coronaakahoshi permalink
        May 31, 2010 1:24 pm

        Indeed. What part of the main story are you at anyway?

        • May 31, 2010 1:27 pm

          Well the last thing that happened before this Primo Family stuff, was the end of the 1st Choice battle.

        • coronaakahoshi permalink
          May 31, 2010 1:38 pm

          Ah, you’re not too far behind … Actually, you might be … not sure how the anime is pacing everything right now so can’t be sure XD

          P.s. please take a look at my blog post entitled “Undetected” Cara 🙂

  4. June 2, 2010 3:59 am

    Yeah, Coronaa said: The Primo arc = filler. It’s not all that bad for filler; there’s worse (D Gray Man’s random crap, Bleach’s filler arc involving Ruruichiro, and Naruto’s filler involving…. well, all of it) but it could be better. I really liked the Arcobaleno Trials arc though; it was interesting mostly because of the fact that (at the time that the manga was at) we hadn’t seen Fon or Verde basically at all, and there was some backstory that hasn’t given out in the manga yet. And as a note, until they basically say that the Future Arc is over, whenever they go back into the past = filler. 🙂

    • June 2, 2010 9:28 pm

      Yeah its not the worst filler in the world, I have sat through much worse as you’ve mentioned 😆

Trackbacks

  1. Spring Season Mid-Terms…Well, They’re Kinda Late…But… « Eye Sedso

Leave a Reply

