Skip to content

Summer 2010 – First Impressions (Ookami-san & Seven Friends and Amagami-SS)

July 2, 2010

And so the Summer season of 2010 begins.  At preview I wasn’t much impressed, lets see if anything manages to defy my expectations!  To kick off these first impressions posts, we have; Ookami-san to Shichinin no Nakama-tachi (Ms Wolf and Seven Friends), hereafter known as Ookami-san, and Amagami-SS.

Ookami-san to Shichinin no Nakama-tachi (Ms Wolf and Seven Friends)

So completely underwhelmed by this. Suspected it wouldn’t really appeal to me, and this inital episode completely assured me of that. It’s a very safe zone for JC Staff – quirky high school club filled with stereotypical characters and complete with irritating narration……so Im sure the target audience will lap this up. However for me everything fell flat. The comedy wasnt funny, and was made even more unfunny by the Narrator explaining the jokes, or just pointing things out like ‘now we’re having a service shot – Ookami-san has no boobs’, ‘oh look, another service shot; and Ookami-san still has no boobs’ and ‘LOL! No-boobs!’  Yeah.   Just repeating something does not make it more funny!  The only thing that vaguely made me chuckle was the Cinderella parody post-credits…….although since that didn’t feature any of the main characters, that’s not really saying much!

I’ve got issues with the voice acting too. The Narrator I’ve already said is irritating, mainly because all I can hear is Kuroko from Railgun/Index and I fecking hate her voice! Loser male lead also has an annoying verbal tic that makes me want to slap him, Ookami-san is just a standard tsundere and Ringo is standard loli. Theres nothing really interesting about these characters at all!

The animation is pretty decent – well it is JC Staff in their comfort-zone afterall. Great deal of focus on Ookami-san’s legs……although I suppose she has to have some redeeming feature given her NO BOOBS!! status. Bewildered by the choice of those kitty-cat boxing gloves though, bit random.  Music is……there, not much to comment on.

So yeah, not impressed by this first episode; not the start to the Summer season I was after.   Anyway, I’ll of course give the show a 2nd chance to see if there’s any redeeming features, if not its going in the dropped pile. I don’t want to clutter up my watching list with sub-standard fare this season (again).

Amagami-SS

Amagami is yet another show that seems to have gone with the ‘generic plot threads roulette’ approach when constructing its story!  It’s honestly like AIC have visited TV Tropes and just clicked random links and fired in whatever came up! 😆   We have bland male lead with 2 personality traits ‘nice with lovely eyes’ and ‘past trauma from being stood up for a date’; then we have irritating imouto complete with squeaky nii-nii wake-up call (who clearly is part of the potential harem – why is incest so flipping popular!?). Theres also the loud perverted, best-friend, popular girl, annoyingly shy super-sonic squeaky girl, boisterous best friend girl with curly hair and class president girl. Every single one of them is shoe-horned into this 1st episode and the bland male lead is forced to interact with them (even though it’s abundantly clear that popular girl is the focus of this arc).

I’m being overly harsh. As a first episode of an eroge adaptation, Amagami wasn’t horrendous – it was bad, but watchable. The animation is pretty decent if unexciting and the voice acting is solid (except for the over abundance of squeaky girls – god I hate squeaky haremettes with a passion!) and the music is generic but not offensive to the ears.

Basically if you like your harem series, this seems to have everything you’d want. Except for obvious fanservice – they’re being surprisingly coy about that, no pantyshots despite dubious camera angles, and the bath scene showed nothing either. In fact the only real fanservice was of bland male lead’s Gundam-esq dream sequence of floating naked in space!  😆

I’m not impressed personally, but I’ll watch another episode or two to see where they are going with this show (although IMO its going nowhere fast).

14 Comments leave one →
  1. July 3, 2010 1:37 am

    To me, it seemed more like Ookami-san was playing with the conventions. Of course that can still fail miserably. I’m not even gonna give Amagami-SS a try, as I hate harem comedies.

    • July 4, 2010 1:42 pm

      To me it seemed like Ookami-san was just trying too hard. The viewer is perfectly capable to picking up on things without an obnoxious narrator pointing out the obvious. I prefer my parodies to either be completely blatant or subtle – wishy-washy middle ground is annoying.

  2. eipu permalink
    July 4, 2010 3:44 am

    How disappointing. And here I thought I’d get to enjoy a good romance anime in Amagami-SS. I was expecting it would be more than decent, atleast a little bit above average, even if it’s generic and predictable. But maybe, I’ll still give it a try.

    • July 4, 2010 1:44 pm

      I think I’m being a bit harsh on Amagami-SS because I generally dislike this type of harem eroge adaptation. I just don’t care for the characters. The production is nice if quite bland.

  3. brokenbunny permalink
    July 4, 2010 3:45 pm

    hello caraniel! How are u?

    nice post anyways! wish u pass a gud summer ^.^

    xx

  4. July 4, 2010 5:30 pm

    I didn’t like the 1st ep of Amagami SS all that much, but I did like Ookami-san. Can’t say the character types are original or anything, but their take on the Cinderella story was pretty funny. I’m looking forward to seeing their parodies of other classic tales.

    And I actually liked the narrator partly because I can’t help but think of Kuroko. Her dry and rather cynical wit and humor was amusing.

    • July 4, 2010 5:54 pm

      I liked the Cinderella stuff too, but Kuroko’s voice is just grating on my ears and I didn’t see the point to having such an irritating narrator. Meh, I’m not really a fan of this genre anyway, so perhaps I’m biased?

  5. Eile permalink
    July 7, 2010 4:59 am

    Amagami is not an eroge game. get your fact right next time.

    • July 7, 2010 11:15 am

      Dating sim; eroge – same difference in my head. Either way I’m not a fan.

  6. Clay permalink
    November 2, 2010 12:30 pm

    LOL dont judge an anime unless you finnish it

    • November 2, 2010 12:36 pm

      First impressions are important – sometimes you just know you won’t like something. No point sticking it out if that’s the case. If i can see potential in something I’ll give it a 3-5 episode trial to impress me.

Trackbacks

  1. Okamisan and Seven Companions 01 | Sea Slugs! Anime Blog
  2. Okamisan and Seven Companions 01 | Anime Blog Online
  3. [lvlln’s Take] Summer 2010 First Impressions – Ookami-san and the Seven Friends, Highschool of the Dead, et al. « Borderline Hikikomori

Leave a Reply

