Skip to content

Summer 2010 – First Impressions (Seitokai Yakuindomo)

July 4, 2010

Another day, another new show to review!  Seitokai Yakuindomo is next on the chopping block.

Seitokai Yakuindomo

This was awful. Absolutely no other way to put it – just awful. I didn’t laugh once, the whole thing smacks of trying way too hard and failing abysmally. When you’re entire portfolio of gags is entirely dependant on crude sex jokes and pointing out the obvious (and waiting for the straightman to go ‘that’s just stupid’) you know a series is in trouble. Mitsudomoe is reliant on similar gags, but manages to pull them off wonderfully thanks to interesting visuals, insane characters and good scripting/acting. Seitokai Yakuindomo just has nothing going for it as the characters are as generic and dull as you get and there’s no sparkle to the script or acting. I was ready to bail 5minutes in, but stuck it out in spite of every fibre in my body screaming “dear god this is crap!! Turn it off Cara! TURN IT OFF!”

On the production front, things aren’t as bad. Go Hands are fairly capable and the parallels to Princess Lover are pretty obvious. The only niggle I have is that everything is very pink – like they’ve stuck a pink filter over everything. There were some interesting shots, like the zooming through crowds at the train station, or a that travelling shot through the school during the introductions. However things got much more mundane as the episode went on, and there were some dodgy shots towards the end where production values obviously slipped. Not really boding well for the rest of the series if the 1st episode is a mixed bag.

Music is reasonable, I liked the ED. Voice acting is bland and uninspired, although I think that it’s mostly the fault of the script. Overall I really did not like this and will not be going near it again. If you want funny, lowbrow humor go watch Mitsudomoe.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Thomas permalink
    July 4, 2010 11:37 pm

    I personally enjoyed it, as blatantly crude humor in anime is usually quite rare. I don’t see why people liked crap like Ichiban Ushiro and Kiss X Sis so much but hate stuff like this >.>

    • July 5, 2010 12:59 am

      I find blatant crude humor quite refreshing – when its actually funny! I don’t have any issues with the fact the jokes were all of a lowbrow sexual variety. What I have issues with is the fact none of them were funny or delivered well – they just kept firing them out in the vain hope something would work! As I said, if you want crude humor this season go watch Mitsudomoe – it was actually funny at times.

      Ichiban Ushiro Daimahou was ridiculous, OTT and a trainwreck – at no stage it did ever make sense. But by god was it entertaining! 😆

  2. July 5, 2010 2:15 am

    Not funny. Gag shows always seem to come across as trying too hard to me. When the jokes come at me that fast, unless they are damned good, they just seem to lose their impact. They also weren’t particularly funny jokes. To top it off, I can not believe the scenario. I can see them adding a random guy to the student council for his perspective, but why make him vice-president? And why pick the first guy you see? Isn’t that a bit lazy and arbitrary?

    • July 5, 2010 11:54 am

      The lazy set up annoyed me too. I mean Seitokai no Ichizon had a single male in an all female Student Council, but at least Sugisaki had a lot of personality and a reason to be there (working his way into the Council so he could recruit the girls into his personal harem!).

  3. July 5, 2010 5:42 pm

    I didn’t particularly think I would enjoy Seitokai no Ichizon at first, but it eventually became one of my favourites in the season it aired, so I expect this to be of a similar vain. Curiously enough, it was when it ran out of rapid fire jokes that Seitokai got better, so who knows?

    • July 5, 2010 8:50 pm

      I was geared up to hate Seitokai no Ichizon in its season and ended up really enjoying it; so gave Seitokai no Yakuindomo the benefit of the doubt due to the similar premise. Unfortunately I was disappointed.

  4. TheHiMan permalink
    July 11, 2010 5:45 pm

    hey dude i dunno why you hate this anime so much. I personally think it ROCKS! I watched Seitokai no Ichizon previously, but I personally think that it was too corny. Don’t get me wrong, I still enjoyed it in the end but it was just to much slapstick. The character developments were also absolute rubbish to be honest but I still loved the overall anime.

    A lot of people are comparing this to seitokai no ichizon, and in my opinion you SHOULD NOT.

    Seitokai No Yakuidomo is NOT and I repeat, NOT a slapstick comedy! It is a slice of life, mixed with crude humor. So if you’re grading this with that criterion in mind, I advice you to reconsider your decision.

    Seitokai No Yakuindomo is VERY smoothly flowing. You can watch this anime peacefully and yet, can still manage to smile or laugh. It’s not an anime where you will go HAR DE HAR DE HAR.Why? BECAUSE IT’S NOT MEANT TO BE ONE. But it still does it’s job of being an enjoyable slice of life with humor. Very well if I might add. I personally find it to be one of the best slice of life with humor animes i’ve ever come across.

    • July 11, 2010 5:54 pm

      Sorry but I got no enjoyment out of the 1st episode so nothing will convince me to attempt any more of that show. As I said, the humor didn’t click with me, the pacing was attrocious and the characters/acting bland.

      I wasn’t expecting slapstick, nor am I great fan of slapstick and I’m also not a fan of slice-of-life or unfunny crude jokes. So basically Seitokai Yakuindomo isn’t going to appeal to me on any level and I’m entitled to my own opinion just like you. It just didn’t make me laugh, which the only thing I demand from a comedy series.

Trackbacks

  1. Seitokai Yakuindomo 01 | Sea Slugs! Anime Blog
  2. [lvlln’s Take] Summer 2010 First Impressions – Ookami-san and the Seven Friends, Highschool of the Dead, et al. « Borderline Hikikomori

Leave a Reply

