Skip to content

Summer 2010 – First Impressions (Occult Academy & Kure-nai OVA)

July 6, 2010

The first episodes keep coming! Occult Academy and the Kure-nai OVA are the two I caught today.

Occult Academy (Seikimatsu Occult Gakuin)

I enjoyed this first episode; finally an Anime Chikara anime that I think I’ll really like! When I was a child I had a weird fascination with the occult – some of that lingering fascination explains why I like horror and supernatural series so much. Occult Academy seems to be a much more lighthearted forray into the world of the occult, but that just made this episode that much more fun. I really like Maya, she’s got real presence in the show from the get go. I really like that she’s perfectly willing to dive right into the middle of the action swinging a chair or an axe with equal gusto; strong female leads who don’t dive into bitch territory are a somewhat scare commodity recently. The male lead only appeared at the very end of the episode, but judging from the OP he seems to be of the bumbling variety, something I usually find annoying – hope he has a bit of backbone.

Saying all that, very little actually happened in this first episode – it was all about Maya and getting her established; what the actual plot is going to be, is a mystery; although time-travel seems to be a feature. Still I prefer introductory episodes like this that manage to give you a firm grasp on the main characters personality and motivations, than massive info-dumps
that basically give away the entire series in one go.

In terms of production, its pretty good – nothing special though. I like the character designs, they’ve got a bit of personality about them, and the design of the school is also nicely done. The action was nice and smooth, hope they keep that quality up. The OP is decent enough, again nothing special – the animation has some nice imagery. The ED has pretty live action shots of two children and the accompanying song is quite pleasant on the ear too. Not overly familiar with the cast (except for Kobayashi Yuu) but the voice acting was decent.

Shall definitely be keeping this on for another few episodes so I can get a grasp of the plot, but my first impressions are positive. Occult Academy is worth a look!

Kure-nai OVA

Well that was different.  definitely not what I was expecting in the slightest.  Rather than going with one self-contained story, this OVA goes with three shorts and essentially feels like a DVD specials compilation rather than a proper OVA.  I’m a bit disappointed, but at the same time the shorts were quite fun so it wasn’t a complete bust.  The thing I really loved about the Kure-nai was the characters as they’re what made the series so likeable; however I found myself missing the dark undertones and banter the TV series had.  Still there are worse ways to spend 25mins, and if you liked the TV series this OVA is worth watching – just don’t expect any substance; it’s really just service for existing fans.

Animation is a bit different to the TV series too, the character designs seem to be much more stylised and not as detailed as those in the TV series – which kind of threw me a bit.  It’s still attractive though.  Cast is back so no issues there.

Overall, not what I was expecting but still fun!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 6, 2010 12:55 pm

    He has a backbone alright, otherwise she wouldn’t have been able to sit on top of him.

  2. July 7, 2010 12:53 am

    Occult rocks! I found a new favorite show, a few people are surprised at the comedy parts as well I wasn’t expecting that from this show. Can’t wait to see more -nod- and loved the time traveler theme too found that to be cool haven’t seen that used much in anime lately.

    • July 7, 2010 11:13 am

      The subtle comedy is a welcome break from the slapstick thats prevelant this season. Definitely looking forward to more from this show.

  3. July 7, 2010 3:59 am

    I loved the various expressions on Maya’s face. Especially at the end, when we got a look at that oh so unsubtle shadow of the male lead.

    Hope that the show keeps up with the comedy. And that Kana Hanazawa’s character returns.

Leave a Reply

