Skip to content

Five places I wouldn’t like to visit!

July 29, 2010

So last week I was inspired to think about what anime worlds I’d like to visit, and Velore proposed that I think about what worlds I wouldn’t want to visit – and this is the result!

When thinking of places I wouldn’t want to visit, it doesn’t necessarily mean that the series is bad; it just means that the world setting is either fecking scary/dangerous or the characters don’t strike me as the friendly sort, or I simply don’t find the world design attractive – it’s all purely subjective.  Some may even want to drop in on the worlds I wouldn’t touch with a bargepole! 😆

Anyway, here’s the five worlds I eventually settled on – some were obvious to me, others I had to think about…….but what comes across most is that I am a gigantic coward! 😆

1. Bottle Fairy

Bottle Fairy creeps me right the hell out.  Just look at those things with their soul devouring eyes…….gives me the shivers!  It’s no secret that I have a somewhat irrational fear/hatred of small ‘cute’ things with giant eyes and squeaky voices who serve no other purpose than to be moe.  I watched Bottle Fairy because my ‘friends’ made me, however I was starting to break out in hives/develop diabetes after 6 episodes and had to go lie down in a dark room for a few hours after to recover.

The idea of being stuck in that room with those freaky little things actually makes me feel a bit queasy  – it’s the stuff of my nightmares!  As such Sensei-san’s house which is home to these four things, is the last place on earth I’d ever wish to end up.  Cara can not handle Bottle Fairies.

2. Neon Genesis Evangelion

Much as I love EVA, Tokyo-3 is the last place I’d ever want to go on holiday!  Visually the city is stunning – I love those retractable skyscrapers and NERV headquarters looks like a fascinating place…..but I’m quite attached to my life and don’t particularly want to be turned into orange juice on the whim of an angsty teenager!  The world of EVA is one of those where it looks amazing and is fun to watch from the outside, but being there would just be utterly terrifying!  I think I’d spend the duration of my visit rocking back and forth in some dark secluded corner, freaked out of my tiny little mind…..not fun! 😆

3. Kaiba

Kaiba is a fantastically trippy, but brilliant show; however on no level would I ever want to end up in that world.  The completely fluid sense of self and identity in Kaiba honestly scares me a bit; I can’t imagine having my memories and personality transferred into another body – that would no longer be me!  The grey morals of the world of Kaiba allow for the very darkest desires and motivations of humanity to run riot – it’s just not a very attractive world.

Also on a purely aesthetic note, I fear what my character design would become if I ended up in Kaiba.  I can only imagine something similar to the monstrosity my 5-year-old cousin once presented me with; two giant black and purple circles with masses of orange scribbles coming out of the smaller circle, which I was informed was my ‘pwetty hair’……scary stuff.

4. D.Gray-Man

D.Gray-Man is a series where I absolutely adore the artstyle and whole world setting, but if you ever made me go there I think I’d actually have a heart-attack.  The Akuma designs are so grotesque and creepy, the dark foreboding atmosphere that permeates much of the world and the freaky Millenium Earl are the primary reasons for why I think I’d crack up if landed in DGM.  Even the Black Order itself looks frightening, what with it being built on the top of a cliff surrounded by a moat and guarded by a giant talking head…….and then you get inside and find the characters themselves, and have to try to avoid getting killed by Komui’s crazy-ass inventions!  Yeap tis a scary place alright – wouldn’t fancy going there at all.

5. Darker than BLACK

Mysterious Gates, a walled off Tokyo, fake skies, strangely emotionless humans with superhuman powers, conspiracy theories galore?  Yeah the world of Darker than BLACK makes for really interesting viewing, but imagine being in the middle of all that?  Life may be normal enough for the most part, but there doesn’t seem to be any rhyme or reason for a person developing Contractor powers and going off the deep end; its pretty random and that uncertainty is quite frightening.  Sometimes I feel that having Contractor powers would be pretty cool, but then I remember how much Suou struggled with retaining her sense of identity and morals when she became a Contractor and get disturbed by the whole concept again.  Becoming a Doll would be x10 worse though *shudders*.  The world of Darker than BLACK is definitely one that I prefer to watch from afar than have any part of!

There are a whole host of other worlds I wouldn’t want to set foot in, but these five where the ones I settled on.  What about yourselves??

28 Comments leave one →
  1. mefloraine permalink
    July 29, 2010 11:00 pm

    The world of Strike Witches.
    I like my pants, thanks.

    • July 29, 2010 11:27 pm

      LOL! Yeah that does seem like a weird and creepy world 😛

  2. July 29, 2010 11:03 pm

    The world of Code Geass would be up there for me. Where there’s institutionalized racism world wide, and the royalty’s word rules over all.

    Also, the Fate stay/night world, or at least the town. When you’ve got legendary heroes fighting seemingly every few years, you can easily be one of the innocent bystanders who gets caught in the crossfire.

    • July 29, 2010 11:29 pm

      Ooh yeah those are good ones. Geass would be pretty disturbing to live in with its strict class system, constant war and terrible racism; and F/SN would definitely have alot of collateral damage going on.

  3. trueredesu permalink
    July 29, 2010 11:09 pm

    You could come to my house, I only have two bottle fairies here, you could build up your tolerance /o/

    Also I think I may have been mentioned in the first place listed as well 😀

    • July 29, 2010 11:30 pm

      I don’t want to build my tolerance up; and yes, you would be one of my evil ‘friends’ who made me watch that abomination 😡

  4. Aiko permalink
    July 29, 2010 11:18 pm

    Some unexpected and interesting choices (except the first, which was somewhat expected). 😛

    In my case, offhand I’d go with the obvious ones such as Casshern Sins, Texhnolyze, Blue Gender and Ergo Proxy. Anything dark and foreboding. In fact, coming to think of it, there’s one series that’s airing this season which has a setting that I definitely wouldn’t want to visit.

    • July 29, 2010 11:33 pm

      Haven’t seen Texhnolyze, Blue Gender or Ergo Proxy yet (on the to do list!) but completely agree with Casshern SINS – really striking world on screen, hellish to actually live in.

      High School of the Dead by any chance? A zombie apocalyse really doesn’t seem like fun to be stuck in the middle of! 😆

  5. July 29, 2010 11:48 pm

    The world of Berserk instantly springs to mind. That seemed pretty depressing. Or how about living in that prison from Rainbow? I was quite a cute little shota back in the day…

    Living in the world of Kaiba would freak me out. The morals there are so warped and heartless

    • July 30, 2010 10:25 am

      I think the berserk world is probably the worst I can think of after things got worse… even if your an ordinary person living your life quietly its likely to be horribly interrupted :/

      • Ruu permalink
        July 31, 2010 3:59 am

        what about Gantz? that one is horrible as well.

        • August 1, 2010 1:23 am

          ah but from what ive seen/read so far anyone who has nothing to do with gantz can live a fairly normalish life 🙂

    • July 30, 2010 6:17 pm

      Berserk; really need to watch that!

  6. July 30, 2010 12:40 am

    Pokemon world or yugioh have to battle people all day..no thanks!

    Highschool of the Dead hmmm ya no thanks on that xD

    • July 30, 2010 6:23 pm

      At least Pokemon and YuGiOh worlds seem to be completely non-lethal! 😆

      Yeah I’d pass on HOTD too – love zombie flicks, but really don’t think I’d last too long if I was in one.

  7. July 30, 2010 2:32 am

    HOTD. Most definitely. It’s too fucked up.

    • July 30, 2010 6:26 pm

      Plus you’d have to make sure you have pretty knickers on for all the pantsu shots.

  8. July 30, 2010 12:29 pm

    I agree with D.Gray-man and Darker than BLACK, definitely these kind of places where supernatural powers exist but are connected to incredible sacrifice aren’t the kind I’m looking for.

    Also, Shakugan no Shana, the world in which I wouldn’t even notice when I die and then just wait for the reaper to come and remove me from everyones’ memories. TERRIFYING THOUGHT.

    Then again, Angel Beats!, I would never like to be surrounded by these people.

    Annnd also Jigoku Shoujo, some retard being able to send me to hell together with him via website? No thx.

    But the winners are: Claymore and Berserk, living in either is BOUND to pain, suffering and eternal emoness.

    • July 30, 2010 6:29 pm

      Yeah don’t like the demands placed on you in exchange for power in DGM or DtB.

      Shakugan no Shana is an interesting one – its is pretty damn terrifying to know that your entire existence can be erased so easily……ditto Jigoku Shoujo.

      I mostly liked the characters in Angel Beats! But I don’t want to be dead so I’ll pass on that world too 😛

      Clearly I need to watch Berserk sharpish 😀

  9. Ruu permalink
    July 31, 2010 3:58 am

    Hmmm I’d say the world of Gantz. That’s one world I would NEVER like to visit, it is just too heavy and horryfying.

    Then comes evangelion, sorry but that kind of world is off limits, I like my life where it is and how it is.

    Of course another one is Hinamizawa, of the town of Shiki, or the island of Umineko, those three are the most unluckiest places ever.

    the world of Claymore is another one I’d abstain to go into.

    and finally, but not least I won’t ever step into H.O.T.D. I am not good at survival skills, I’d probably shot myself (a la Sanzo) to free myself from such nightmare.

    … now that I remembered… I would like to sit on Sanzo-ikkoku’s jeep (also knows as Hakuryuu) I would love to experience what the Journey to the west would be like.

    • July 31, 2010 12:38 pm

      Ooh yes Gantz – although the horror only really starts when you die 😆

      • Ruu permalink
        July 31, 2010 6:21 pm

        not anymore, right now it really sucks for everyone. That’s why I chose it.

        • July 31, 2010 9:20 pm

          ORLY? I dropped the manga in the middle of the Osaka arc so not really up to date with Gantz……perhaps I shall pick it up again.

        • Ruu permalink
          July 31, 2010 11:08 pm

          Yes! you should! The manga is reaching it’s finale, and alll hell just broke loose, it is very addicting right now (and frustrating) so I’d recomend it for you to pick it up again, or just wait until the last arc is finished.

  10. August 2, 2010 10:26 pm

    Any Tomino-created Gundam world. Not only would it be incredibly depressing and full of death, but it would also be fucking weird as well, and you’d probably have a retarded name.

    • August 2, 2010 11:47 pm

      😆 So true, survival rates in a Tomino Gundam series are frighteningly low.

  11. August 3, 2010 2:07 pm

    The walled city of Haibane Renmei – I hate getting stuck between heaven and hell with no clear memory or purpose >_<

    • August 3, 2010 9:01 pm

      Urgh the the aura of melancholy that hangs over Haibane Renmei alone would have me climbing the walls.

Leave a Reply

