Skip to content

Monthly Reflections – August 2010

August 31, 2010

Since I watch a ton more than I would ever have time to blog, I thought it may be more useful to have a monthly summary. Originally I was going to do this weekly, but since I generally follow the guts of 20-25 shows, it wouldn’t really be feasible to do this every week. Anyway, I’ll split the post into current season and long running shows.

Current Season Shows

Amagami-SS

So this month saw the conclusion of Sex-hair (Kaoru)’s arc and the first episode of Squeaky-chan Sae’s.  Kaoru’s arc turned out to be rather tame and generic in comparison to Crazy Haruka’s; so while I preferred Kaoru as a character I preferred Haruka’s extremely weird arc for entertainment value.  I swore that I was going to jump ship after Karou’s arc, because Sae’s squeaky voice and painfully shy character archetype irritates the fuck out of me; however I ended up watching ep9 anyway.  It wasn’t as terrible as I was fearing, mostly because Miya is pretty funny and Sae doesn’t talk much.  Remains to be seen if I can stomach much more of this show though – but the biggest question is – where is Junichi going to kiss next!?

High School of the Dead

Weapon upgrades and some of the most creative fanservice I’ve seen in quite a while – that just about sums up this months HOTD.  Boobs in bullet time, boob recoil ripples, extreme boob grabbing  – its hard to imagine just how Madhouse is going to top this month’s amazing boob physics!  In terms of plot, our characters have successfully crossed the river and made it to Takagi’s house (although Takashi and Saeko had to have a minor detour for some wet action).  I’m massively enjoying this show – its brilliantly entertaining, yet not completely mindless!

Kuroshitsuji II

This month has been pretty damn impressive in Kuroshitsuji II.  I really never expected this show to really go anywhere, and I certainly never thought that the new anime original characters of Alois and Claude would be interesting; however I’ve been pleasantly surprised.  Alois & Claude turned out to be fascinating characters – not a lot of depth, but extremely entertaining to watch.  Alois’ particular brand of insanity especially impressed me, and Claude’s charisma is just as compelling as Sebastian’s.  I’m very interested to see how Claude’s master plan pans out next month.

Legend of the Legendary Heroes

While not as impressive as last month, I still really like this series, although I’m still not sure where they’re going with the plot.  I’m finding it hard to reconcile the merry adventures of dango aficionado Ferris and sleepy Ryner, with the scheming political maneuvering of Sion and mass murdering escapades of Miran.  The two just aren’t mixing well for me.  Still its an entertaining series, and some of the action set pieces are pretty fun – and I just love FukuJun’s crazy Alpha Stigma laughter! (so what if I’m shallow!)

Mitsudomoe

Yep I’m still watching this!  Mitsudomoe has its mind firmly glued to the gutter, but it somehow manages to pull off its jokes with a surprising amount of success – I don’t want to laugh, but I just can’t help myself!  Mitsudomoe’s signature gag is the classic misunderstanding scenario; its gotten a bit repetitive, but the show manages to mix up the gags enough that I don’t get bored.  Episode 9 was one of the best in the series so far – some really ingenious use of music and visuals to supply the comedy rather than scripting – very amusing.

Nurarihyon no Mago

This month was entirely given over to Gyuki, so we get his whole (surprising) back story and some pretty cool Night Rikuo moments – interesting viewing, but not overly exciting.  So far NuraMago hasn’t really done anything particularly exciting, its been rather ordinary if rather pretty.  Still there’s nothing glaringly wrong with the series so I’ll probably keep it on to the end.  I do really like the character designs and the music, just wish that something would happen that would make me go ‘ooh that’s pretty cool!’

Seikimatsu Occult Academy

Bit of a mixed month for Occult Academy; it had both my favourite (ep6) and least favourite (ep9) episodes to date.   I’m not really sure where they’re going with this series as they seem to have pretty much forsaken the ‘ZOMG alien invasion/End of the World!!’ overarching plot, in favour short mini arcs that vaguely put me in mind of Scooby Doo!  Still this series has been very solid in terms of writing and production, and it’s really been very good at developing Maya; so I’m very much looking forward to seeing where the final month goes.

Sengoku BASARA Two

I feel like we’re constantly teetering on the edge of awesomeness in Sengoku Basara Two.  Seriously the amount of episodes given over to building up the tension is ridiculous – seems they’re really saving the budget for a few truly amazing action scenes rather than a continuous display like the 1st season.  I’m a bit disappointed to be honest, I never watched SenBasa for the plot – it’s all about the ridiculous farfetched OTT action for me and I kind of doze off during the long political speeches and tactical discussions.  Still ep 6 was amazing stuff and kind of makes up for the chitchat that has made up the majority of the month – I’m expecting some truly spectacular action next month in payoff for all this set up.

Shiki

Ah, great month for Shiki – we’ve got some real movement on the plot as the characters start to catch on to the supernatural element and begin taking action.  We also get quite a lot of information on the vampires in this series as we see their induction rites through the eyes of one of the recently turned.  This show really excels at creating tension – the soundtrack and visuals are just brilliant at racking up the creepy vibes and setting the viewer on edge.  I’m very interested so see what happens next month now that the vampire threat is taking action against the protagonists.

Ongoing Series

Bleach

This months Bleach episodes were once again, pretty good – although I was a bit miffed at the amount of censoring of Hiyori’s wounds.  Still the conclusion of the Espada fights (along with some interesting made up Harribel back story) made for entertaining viewing, as did the return of the action to Hueco Mundo to see how the main characters (yes they still exist!) are holding up against Yammy.  Unfortunately it seems filler is incoming now, as this weeks preview shows some might odd-looking Arabian Nights inspired AU-ness……..yay?


Dragonball Kai

Cell!!  Ah Cell, you are so awesome!  I completely forgot that Norio Wakamoto voiced Cell, so when I heard his glorious voice coming from the speakers I had a moment of fangirl glee! 😆  This month’s DB:Kai was mainly concerned with the fusion of Piccolo and Kami-sama and the arrival of Cell on the scene – absolutely classic stuff.  It’s amazing how I still get excited about DB:Kai each week, even though I know exactly whats going to happen!  Next month should be great stuff; Goku’s back on the scene!


Fairy Tail

A very solid month in Fairy Tail.  The most notable aspect of this anime adaptation is how little filler and padding there is – its been a very faithful adaptation of the manga.  From the climax of the Tower of Heaven arc, we dive right into the excellent Battle of Fairy Tail arc.  The action has been pretty well animated, and the pace is very snappy – definitely no hanging about in this show, most fights are over in a single episode.  Looking forward to next month – stuff with Laxus should be really good.


Giant Killing

This entire month has been given over to the match against Osaka Gunners, and what a match its been!  Both sides have oodles of personality, and the amount of insight we get into each play and match up is amazing – even to the likes of me that hates football!  It’s really interesting to see how the ETU players are feeling out the tactics and personalities of the Osaka players slowly but surely, in order to up their game.  Kurota in particular has been great this month, but now that the defense has had their moment, I’d like to see Sera and the offense get in on the action.  Very excited about the final month of this show.

Hetalia Axis Powers

So I completely forgot about Hetalia this month until I opened a file to write this post….whoops. I blame the random disappearance of Rumbel’s subs of the series. So I ended up watching episodes 17-23 on a streaming site so this space wouldn’t be empty 😀  Anyway, seems its much more fun to watch a few eps of Hetalia back to back rather than watch weekly, so think I’ll do that from now on.  This month saw some of the Finland x Sweden strips animated – ah Su-san, you are awesome.  Also there was stuff on England’s policy of Splendid Isolation, treaty with Japan and then some christmas stuff and Chibi-romano Boss Spain fired in too.  All in all a pretty good month for Hetalia.

Kaichou wa Maid-sama

Ah it was only a matter of time, but the childhood friend love rival has appeared!  Shintani is a bit of an oddball, but an endearing sort.  Still each episode of Maid-sama further adds to my feeling of “just get together already!”, bloody hell, even Kanou thinks Usui and Misaki should stop dancing about the issue and get it on!  Also what kind of school sends their pupils off to a temple knowing that the spiritual detox will turn the male populace into wannabe rapists!?

K-ON!!

Wow, such a boring month.  Most of the episodes were given over to the school festival and, to my utter shock, HTT actually played some songs!!  Pity they were Yui songs – I really hate Aki Toyosaki’s voice with an undying passion.  The rest of the episodes seem to be concerned with attempting to foster some sort of melancholic feeling  about the girls imminent graduation, that simply wasn’t working for me.  I really can’t wait for this show to be over so I can forget about it – it’s really a miracle I’ve survived this long.  Saying that, I really like the current ED 😛

Katanagatari

Another rather dull month for Katanagatari.  This month’s episode was mainly concerned with introducing and establishing Hitei-hime as the primary antagonist for the later half of this series.  It also worked on developing Shichika’s awareness of his human side and further underlining his and Togame’s relationship of co-dependance.  There isn’t really much more to say about Katanagatari – the series really needs to work on bringing something new to the table or its going to get really boring.

Kateikyoushi Hitman Reborn!

Continuing with the battle against the Real Six Funeral Wreaths it was an action packed month in Reborn! We got to see Lambo and Ryohei’s upgraded Vongola boxes, the ever interesting Varia got in on the action, and there was the long-awaited return to action of Mukuro and the introduction of Ghost, the holder of the Lightning Mare Ring.  With the arrival of Tsuna on the battle scene and the fact Byakuran is on his way, I’m really quite excited about next months episodes – really good month for Reborn!


Naruto Shippuuden

This month completely wraps up the Pain arc of the series, and it was a very well done couple of episodes.  Of course since I knew what was coming the plot-no-jutsu ending of the arc didn’t irritate me as much as it did when I read the manga (there was much facepalming) and somehow I think the anime managed it a bit better.  It was still supremely cheesy end to the arc, but hey its Naruto, what do you expect!?  Looks like next month will be delving into some Iruka flavoured filler – hope it isn’t shit.


Rainbow: Nisha Rokubou no Shichinin

So the past few episodes of Rainbow have been mostly concerned with giving us a taste of how each of the boys are trying to make it in the world.  Its been nice to see how they’re doing, but recent episodes seem to be lacking the tension and interest that the prison and jailbreak arcs had.  I’ve found my interest in the show really dwindling to the extent that I’ve forgotten that the latest episode is out a few times.  Still this is a solid series, there’s nothing really wrong with it, it’s just that my interest levels have plummeted.  Hopefully the final month will rekindle some interest.

Uragiri wa Boku no Namae o Shitteiru (UraBoku)

This series continues to surprise me.  I signed on for some cheesy BL themed prettiness, and that’s kind of what I’ve gotten – except Uraboku seems hell bound on displaying some awesome action scenes and ramming really pretty interesting tidbits of plot into the show.  Not that I’m complaining – I’m really enjoying each and every installment of this series and really do look forward to it on a Sunday night.  It’s really working itself up to a great finale – hope it delivers, but even if it doesn’t Uraboku will still have been surprisingly good!

16 Comments leave one →
  1. September 1, 2010 1:06 am

    I was getting damn bored of maid-sama but this new guy suddenly made it interesting again :), that last point though …what strange teachers O-o

    “hope it isn’t shit.” never one for optimism were you XD

    lol K-On you brought that shit on yourself 😐

    • September 2, 2010 8:22 pm

      Aye new guy has breathed some fresh air into Maid-sama, it was getting very stale.

      I’m always optimistic – I could have said ‘its bound to be shit!’ 😆

      And yeah, I really did bring K-ON!! upon myself……I really can’t wait to be shot of it; at least I can say I sat through 2 seasons of it though – surely thats an achievement??

      • September 3, 2010 11:02 pm

        Not watching it at all would have been a bigger achievement. 😐 You need to woman up mummy. 😦

  2. September 1, 2010 11:52 pm

    HotD- couldn’t agree more! pretty much the same thought I had on that show so far.

    Legends of the legendary heros- so far has been soooooo slow plot wise for me anyway but things picked up in episode 9 and yes his laugh = epic! xD saw it got bumped to 24 episodes now.

    Occult- is my second favorite show this summer, wasn’t expecting it to be funny but it actually keeps me laughing each week! kinda wish it had 24 episodes, Maya sells the show for me at least she’s so fun to watch.

    Fairy Tail- I must watch more! I am currently at 25 really enjoy it so far, can’t get enough of that Scottish theme song…so epic…

    Bleach- Seems that Arabian nights filler is only 1 episode and the last 3 deal with the main story, Wiki has it listed as 3 episodes after they hit 290 and nothing else is listed, is bleach coming to a end you think? Anime News Network also has 290 listed as episode limit. Not sure what that means but so far bleach delivers the cool action but boring talking parts.

    DbzKai- Yes even though I know cell gets whooped later by gohan I still get excited to see familiar anime =D I loved Cell saga.

    • September 2, 2010 8:27 pm

      We seem to have similar views on most things 😀

      I saw that DenYuuDen was bumped up to 24eps – made me very glad that I decided against blogging it in the end! Hopefully the extra cour means that they’ve got the plot well worked out.

      Fairy Tail is really fun – not brilliant, but fun. Its got an epic soundtrack though, and the anime has been really faithful to the manga.

      In regards the Bleach, I doubt they’ll end the show now they’ve come this far. Although it could possibily go on hiatus for a while? Still would be a very odd place to stall the show though 😐

      • September 4, 2010 12:33 am

        True that would be a odd spot to say hey were on break for a month + or longer, there is a movie in oct but we probably wont see it for a while. But still your right no way its over yet xD still lots to do =)

  3. Ruu permalink
    September 2, 2010 9:08 pm

    I differ on Basara, the story is somewhat great, and there has been lots of interesting tidbits that have entretained me. (a reason for it might be the fact that on LiveStream the fangirlishness got totally over the top. Mouri’s Tsunami of LOVE was “Super Effective” indeed)

    But yes, I’m waiting for the last episodes, this building up tension is going to bust magnificently, and I will be gloating at it on live stream. 🙂

    I cannot wait for the next episodes of Shiki, really. I was so desperate for Shiki I read the manga adaptation… and now I am tormented (in a good way) by what is going to happen.

    Is it worth to watch Kuroshitsuji 2? I left it after they showed Ciel since I didn’t want him to appear at all (I really wanted K2 to be focused on Alois and Claude), that’s why I ask you, is the plot related to Ciel and Sebs?

    Ditto for Uraboku. Though I left it last week, since I want to just sit through what is left and not getting caught up on any cliffhanger.

    Naruto’s manga just got better and better, the end of the last chapter though ToT I really don’t want to read next chapter.

    Oh and I thank Bleach, since now I can finally say “I stopped reading it” for good.

    • September 2, 2010 9:29 pm

      I can imagine SenBasa being more fun to watch with people – sounds fun!

      I’m resisting the urge to read the Shiki manga, but I really hate spoilers and from experience I know that I become one of those ‘they changed it and now it sucks’ people if I get too attached to a manga series! Still I’m relieved to hear there is good stuff in the pipeline for Shiki, its fun to write about every week, but the pace is sloooow.

      Kuroshitsuji II still has Ciel and Sebastian as the main characters – Alois and Claude are just the primary plot. Its still a pretty good series, but I mainly love it for the campness, characters and Fabulousness – the actual plot is pretty simple.

      Tis probably best to marathon through Uraboku – I sense loads of cliffhangers in the build up to the finale. Its surprised me by being pretty watchable outside the pretty.

      Congrats on dropping Bleach – I don’t think I’ll have the force of will to do so since I’ve invested so much time and money in the series. 😦

      • Ruu permalink
        September 2, 2010 10:29 pm

        “… I’ve invested so much time and money”

        Did you buy some volumes?! That’s kinda sad! I invested some time on reading Bleach On-line, but that time won’t go to waste. It will be a learning experience of “How to know a story that will go horribly wrong”

        Yes, watching Basara with people is the best.

        Thanks for the notice of K2, that way I can refrain to watch it. I’m not againts Ciel and Sebs, but I wanted Alois much more.

        Please resist the urge to read the manga, it will be for the best since I don’t know where it might end. “… ‘They changed it now it sucks!…'” Oooooo I spot a TvTroper in here?

        • September 2, 2010 10:38 pm

          I have the manga up to vol30 😦 I’ve stopped buying though; should have really stopped after Soul Society.

          Alois was a pretty interesting character – I would have liked more of him too.

          Ah TV Tropes – such a time sink, I do enjoy browsing through that site 😀 I’ll take your advice and avoid the manga until after the anime is finished.

  4. YouSuckAss permalink
    September 11, 2010 8:02 am

    Seriously??

    Im fucking tired of Bleach, Dragonball Kai all this retread SHIT.

    End this neverending CRAP and kill yourself.

    Seriously, who the fuck are you to even talk about anime, your obviously someone who has NO taste

    • September 11, 2010 11:20 am

      I wasn’t aware I needed a permit to write about my opinions…….no one is forcing you to read what I think, or watch never-ending shounen shows. There’s loads of other anime / blogs out there, perhaps they’d be more to your taste.

      So kindly fuck off.

      No love, Cara

  5. September 13, 2010 9:12 pm

    Oh come on, there are no good months for Shiki 😛

    I also consider latest K-On episodes terribly boring. Especially this month’s Valentine’s one.

    Occult got way worse aswell..

    Densetsu is interesting though, and it’s probably the only anime of the season I still like every month.

    • September 14, 2010 12:20 am

      Shiki has gotten awesome – easily my favourite of the summer season…..and as of ep11 Occult Academy is right behind it!

      DenYuuDen is a bit up and down – its a touch too predictable at times.

      K-ON!! is just dire.

      • September 14, 2010 8:25 pm

        I’m jealous, while watching Shiki I pratically just keep going ‘WHYYYYY!’, even more since it turned out to be a vampire story.

        With Occult I just can’t enjoy it anymore, ok I like Maya and her tsundering, but when it comes to the plot I just don’t know when they’re serious moments and when it’s comedy anymore. It’s just that .. I dunno.. Random?

        Hmm you kinda encouraged me to watch Dragon Ball Kai.. I was considering re-watching the orginal series but if there’s someone who enjoys that remake then who knows, maybe I can too.

        • September 14, 2010 8:56 pm

          I can be fairly patient when I try, plus Shiki’s atmosphere had me convinced I was in for something special if I held out long enough……knew from the synopsis that it was a vampire series though.

          Occult has been a bit haphazard, but just going with it seems to be the best way to enjoy it as its going off in a direction I never even imagined in my wildest dreams!

          DB:Kai has been epic. Its just DBZ without the shitty filler that ruined the pacing – as such its pure condensed awesome. I’m loving every moment of it!

Leave a Reply

