Skip to content

Autumn 2010 – First Impressions (Oreimo & Hyakka Ryouran Samurai Girls)

October 4, 2010

Busy, busy – another two reviews tonight!  Ore no Imouto ga Konna ni Kawaii Wake ga Nai (My Little Sister Can’t Be This Cute), which will never again be called its full name – Oreimo is much easier; and Hyakka Ryouran Samurai Girls…sometimes I wonder why I insist on watching practically everything.

Ore no Imouto ga Konna ni Kawaii Wake ga Nai (My Little Sister Can’t Be This Cute)

So this wasn’t the car crash I was fearing; rather its pretty solidly written and has some fairly believable character interactions. I’m still rather ‘meh’ about the show though, it doesn’t really do anything that interesting with this first episode, it’s just a lot of talking, some awkward fanservice and not a lot of humour (although some scenes did make me chuckle – the mother’s knowing expression when walking into his room & Kyousuke’s extreme discomfort at being forced to play one of Kirino’s imouto eroge’s were pretty funny). The show is sitting on the fence about whether this is actually a siscon show, and I don’t think it will come down on either side throughout the show – leaving it up to the viewer to interpret the relationship whatever way they want. I’m squicked about siscon so quite glad it’s taking this approach.

The animation is very good, no complaints in that department (although if I had to complain about something it would be that Kirino looks nothing like the rest of her family). The voice acting is very good. I really enjoyed Yuuichi Nakamura’s running commentary as Kyousuke, although Ayana Taketatsu’s Kirino is pretty standard tsundere territory. Also the father in this show is Gendou Ikari – I lol’d. No proper OP or ED this week, the ED played as a kind of insert song – not bad, pretty generic.

Basically Oreimo is very solid, it ticks all the right boxes in terms of production, acting and script – I’m still indifferent to it though, mainly because the concept isn’t appealing to me; however I’ll give it another few episodes to see what the side cast is like before I decide either way.

Hyakka Ryouran Samurai Girls

You know this would have been a pretty decent episode if it wasn’t for the pointless fanservice and terrible acting. The action is pretty good, and if there was some attention paid to the premise and writing Hyakka Ryouran could have been a pretty good show. Unfortunately any chance of me being interested in this show went down the pan immediately after the OP – hello stupid overused trope of main character walking in on two girls changing! Basically that more of less sealed the deal for me, I was impressed by the pre-op action sequence of a bunch of girls slicing up aircraft for no apparent reason, but once we got into the episode it was clear that this show is only about the fanservice (not that I really expected anything else).

I’m actually really liking the animation style employed in this show – the heavy filters, bold lines used on the character designs, liberal splattering of ink-blots – it’s very striking and sets the series apart from similar shows. My praise ends there though, I don’t like the character designs with their needlessly fussy/revealing outfits and the acting was pretty awful (dear god Rie Kugimiya what were you doing!?), the music is pretty decent though.

In short Hyakka Ryouran is exactly what I thought it would be – nicely animated, but its only purpose is fanservice; definitely not watching anymore.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 5, 2010 4:21 am

    Too bad Samurai Girls is going to be so stupid. I rather liked the art style. The character designs aren’t special, but it really is nice to see something that “looks” different than the typical show, and the bold lines worked in that respect.

    Unfortunately the content is utter rubbish. Why, in God’s name, did they make the lead ninja a Victorian maid? Isn’t the premise that they managed to keep out the evil Western influences?

    • October 5, 2010 6:59 pm

      It was a bad sign that they couldn’t even keep their story straight long enough to maintain some consistency in their character designs!

      But yeah – great animation style, rubbish in every other way.

  2. October 5, 2010 6:47 am

    I’m not a fan of yuri nor am I a fan of ecchi. I would probably dropped Samurai Girl after episode 2

    • October 5, 2010 7:02 pm

      I find yuri boring on the best of days, and I can handle ecchi if there’s some other redeeming features……..unfortunately Samurai girls has none so tis off to the discard pile!

Leave a Reply

