Skip to content

Autumn 2010 – First Impressions (Invasion! Squid Girl & The World God Only Knows)

October 6, 2010

I’m not feeling all that fantastic tonight so don’t know how much of my meh mood has spilled over into my opinions on todays new shows……regardless, next on the chopping block is Shinryake! Ika Musume (Invasion! Squid Girl) and Kami nomi zo Shiru Sekai (The World God Only Knows).

Shinryake! Ika Musume (Invasion! Squid Girl)

I couldn’t really get into this; I don’t if it’s because I’m not feeling all that fantastic this evening, or if the humor is failing, but I was getting bored halfway through and didn’t really laugh at all throughout the entire episode. There’s not much actually wrong with the show – it does a very solid job of introducing the characters and fleshing out their personalities, and it doesn’t really have any obvious recycling of jokes either; but I was still just completely indifferent to the show. May be its just me – I have a history of just not getting this kind of comedy show. The episodes are split into three short skits, as you would expect of a gag manga adaptation – after all it would be pretty much impossible to get 20mins of continuous plot from this concept.

The characters themselves are decent enough I suppose – the three siblings running the beach hut are well-rounded and Squid Girl herself is pretty interesting (although she does have one of those extremely irritating verbal tics, de geso~). The animation is solid with nice bold colouring, although the character designs aside from Squid Girl and her blue tentacle hair are rather bland. Music is uninspired and completely lacking from some scenes – the OP scared the living daylights out of me with its high-pitched squeaky vocals, and the ED is a boring ballad. Voice acting is ok, Rie Tanaka stood out as the scary older sister though – she’s always great in those roles.

All in all Squid Girl isn’t for me, but there’s nothing really wrong with the show and I’m fairly sure it will be popular with a lot of people. However I can’t be bothered with watching any more so it’s dropped.

The World God Only Knows (Kami nomi zo Shiru Sekai)

Not a bad opening episode, nothing remarkable either though, as the concept of having the male lead do something he hates on the behest of a magical girlfriend, has pretty much been done to death (although granted this precise concept build around galge’s is fairly original). This weeks story was resolved in quite a neat manner, but I’m assuming as time goes on the difficulty/drama level will increase. In terms of characters I’m not exactly bowled over – moe-moe demon is completely shallow and generic as they come, Keima is also pretty much a cardboard cutout loser male lead with delusions of grandeur (although granted only in 2D – he’s quite aware that the real world is different) and this weeks captured heart is a stereotypical genki girl. Really I’m not seeing anything that would warrant the large fanbase this series has – hope there’s more to the show than whats been introduced here (although not getting my hopes up given the preview with moe-moe demon girl transferring into Keima’s class).

The animation is excellent – everything is smoothly done, there’s minimal recycling of shots and some nice detailing in the backgrounds. Character designs are generic but consistent and voice acting is also solid (although Hiro Shimono’s yelling was giving me BakaTest & Mitsudomoe flashbacks which aren’t really great for taking Keima seriously!). Music was interesting – some strange choices in certain scenes though, but I did really like the OP (and the accompanying animation – it was a bit reminiscent of Eden of the East’s OP in places with the kinetic typography). No proper ED this week.

I’m not overly impressed at the moment, but the episode was solidly produced and written so I’m definitely willing to give The World God Only Knows another few weeks to see what all the fuss is about.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. October 6, 2010 11:11 pm

    Yeah, put me in the ‘baffled as to why this has such a large fanbase’ pile for World God Only Know too. That set up was awfully lame. The characters have been done better elsewhere. There was just…nothing.

    • October 7, 2010 8:22 pm

      I tried not to pay too much attention to the hype, but was still disappointed with how ordinary TWGOK turned out in this 1st ep.

  2. BigFire permalink
    October 7, 2010 1:56 am

    For those of you wondering about the fanbase of TWGOK, the second episode should clarified a bit. The manga have to introduced most of the concept in the first chapter. And the story will settled into a more manageable pace after that. It does get better.

    • October 7, 2010 9:38 am

      IT GETS BETTER I SWEAR!!!

      (my favourite fandom phrase)

    • October 7, 2010 8:23 pm

      Hmmm. I won’t hold my breath, but I will give it the 3ep benefit of the doubt.

  3. October 7, 2010 6:10 pm

    I will only watch tentacle girl if I have nothing better to do. It was decent but just meh overall.

    • October 7, 2010 8:29 pm

      I don’t think I’ll go back to it, I have a bad track record with plotless comedy.

  4. October 8, 2010 9:16 pm

    Squid girl! so cute love her character design and voice actress Kanata from Sora no woto! great job on that part. Even thou her design is similar to another blue haired girl wearing white…*cough* index *cough* that and the fan art I saw helped that.

    Haven’t gotten around to seeing god knows one yet, but I will check it out!

Leave a Reply

