Skip to content

Autumn 2010 – First Impressions (SoreMachi & Milky Holmes)

October 10, 2010

I think I have only two other shows to sample and that will be the first impressions posts done for this season!  Today I had a look at Soredemo Machi wa Mawatteiru and Tantei Opera Milky Holmes (oh yeah, it was a fun day).

Soredemo Machi wa Mawatteiru (Yet the town keeps going)

I’m having major difficulty drumming up any enthusiasm for this show. It heavily reminds me of Natsu no Arashi, but without the time travel gimmick – and without the time travel Natsu no Arashi would have been very dull……which sums up SoreMachi nicely. There’s no hook here, the entire episode circles around the characters talking very quickly about what a maid should say/do and what a maid cafe should be like; subjects I have little to no interest in. The characters themselves are shallow and annoying – Hotori is stupid, loud & clumsy, Tatsuno seems like a mixture of a maid otaku & an oujou-sama, their other friend is hideous for no apparent reason and the maths teacher is strict & enjoys lecturing people; so far so dull. I had real difficulty finishing the episode as my attention kept wandering.

SHAFT aren’t really employing many of their usual quirky animation techniques either, so there isn’t even any mad visuals to hold your attention. That being said the animation was solid, just not very interesting. The voice acting is another major stumbling block – I hate Chiaki Omigawa’s voice at the best of times, but when she’s cast as a motormouthed lead it’s particularly headache inducing, however other than Omigawa the cast is decent enough – no one really shines though. The only times this episode picked up was during the OP & ED – they’re as brilliant as I’ve come to expect from SHAFT (if only the visuals could be as clever and interesting during the actual episode) and the songs were fun too.

SoreMachi isn’t terrible, it’s just a bit lacklustre and lacks any real personality. Since my watching list is already overloaded I think I’ll be giving this a miss – Arakawa 2 has my SHAFT comedy requirement filled this season.

Tantei Opera Milky Holmes

So apparently in the time before this series starts, the four main characters were elite superpowered magical girl detectives; but about 5mins into this episode they suddenly lose all their powers and become the most useless excuses for detectives ever……I suppose that’s one way to make your magical girl series different. I have no idea where they’re planning to go with this show since the four leads are now completely lacking in talent and the ‘Gentlemen Thieves’ are walking all over them (amazing paper-thin disguises BTW guys!). I could have dealt with magical girl detectives battling it out with similarly powered thieves, but I can’t deal with clumsy, ‘OMG we’re so moe!’ characters falling into lakes and blaming each other for being inept – I had more fun watching the incredibly camp antagonists.

On the production front it’s all very shiny and well-directed, but these character designs make my skin crawl – I don’t do well with sugary moe shows, and this is one of the sugariest I’ve seen in a while. The OP was painfully generic and rather uninspired, and the ED is just pure fanservice. Voice acting is ok, but really generic – each of the characters is really archetypical and the voice acting reflects that.

Overall this 1st episode wasn’t as awful as I was expecting, mainly because it was really quick paced and filled with information. It might be a decent enough show if you can stomach this kind of moe vehicle series – I can’t, so shall be dropping immediately.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 10, 2010 10:53 pm

    My first impression of SoreMachi: zzzzzzzzzzz

    • October 10, 2010 11:11 pm

      I couldn’t actually fall asleep due to Chiaki Omigawa’s earbleed enducing voice piercing through my skull -_-

  2. trueredesu permalink
    October 11, 2010 10:25 pm

    Awwww I was really hoping you’d absolutely detest milky Holmes 😦

    • October 11, 2010 10:39 pm

      The character designs freaked me out more than the actual subject matter – its a ridiculous concept, but could have been fun and did like that they tried to make the show a bit different. But yeah, I’m not going near the series again – one episode was more than enough for me.

Leave a Reply

