Skip to content

Characters that made my year – Edward Elric (12 Days of Christmas – Day 1)

December 14, 2010

So I suddenly decided that I wanted on this bandwagon this year, but since I only decided to do so literally 10 minutes ago, I haven’t really got time to sit and draw up a list of my twelve standout moments in anime from the past year.  Instead I thought I’d draw up a list of twelve characters that stood out in my mind from anime that have aired over the past year…..because that’s much easier for me to do!

So here we go – on this 1st Day of Christmas I give you Edward Elric from Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood…..there are some spoilers

May as well start off with a bang!  Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood impressed me so much that it snagged itself my #1 spot of my Top 40 Anime list, and much of that love can be accredited to the characters.  It’s a difficult task to pick just the one character from FMA to honour, but Ed (as the primary protagonist) is a fairly safe choice.

Only the later half of Brotherhood aired in 2010, but Ed still had multiple instances of ‘Crowning Moments of Awesome’.  However the moment I’ve picked to demonstrate just how brilliant Ed was as a character is the moment in episode 41 when Ed, having fallen into a mine shaft and gets impaled on an iron bar, manages to get Kimblee’s underling chimera (which he had been fighting a few minutes previous) to help him pull the bar out and then uses his own lifespan as the fuel for the transmutation to stem the bleeding.  The scene just goes to show how utterly driven Ed is and the sheer force of his willpower – it’s truly remarkable that he was able to remain conscious, let alone aware enough to perform complex alchemy!  This scene is a small one in the grand scheme of the series, but it marks a turning point in the series for Ed as after this near death experience he really matures a lot. I have a lot of love for Ed, so he was perfect to open this series of post celebrating my favourite characters of the past year.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. December 14, 2010 7:06 pm

    He’s one of my favourite characters of all time as well ^__^ Brotherly love is awesome

    • December 14, 2010 11:28 pm

      One of the better depictions of sibling interactions too!

  2. December 14, 2010 9:30 pm

    WOooo! Edward is great😀 my favorite too!

  3. temperus permalink
    December 14, 2010 10:23 pm

    It was also nice to see the boy being tsundere towards the girl for a change, without it degenerating into the typical “will they/won’t they” plot line nonsense.

    • December 14, 2010 11:29 pm

      Haha, Ed’s confession to Winry at the end was so typically him and made of d’aww~

  4. December 14, 2010 10:55 pm

    Nice twist on the 12 Days thing. Last minute thinking brings good gifts sometimes. :O

    • December 14, 2010 11:31 pm

      This is kind of like an expansion of my ‘Character of the Week’ thing – much easier for me to select 12 characters rather than 12 moments (I watch waaaay too many shows to remember things without a lot of careful thought).

  5. Roghek permalink
    December 15, 2010 12:42 am

    I love Ed, he was funny and serious, and short and, * squeals* >.<
    Wow he well deserves a place in any top favourite characters of all time.

  6. December 15, 2010 4:38 am

    Ed is a serious badass.

    One thing I love about FMA on the whole (both the first anime and Brotherhood/the manga) is that they make it very hard to truly hate most of the characters. I had to actually work to build up the effort required for hatred.

Leave a Reply

