Skip to content

Characters that made my year – Aoi Yamada (12 Days of Christmas: Day 2)

December 15, 2010

So here we are, continuing on with this series of posts on characters that I loved in 2010.

On the second day of Christmas I give you, Aoi Yamada from Working!!

I had originally dropped Working! after the really dire premier episode, but picked it back up mid-season after hearing it improved dramatically.  I was so glad I did, as Working! turned out to be a very fun little comedy series.  The character I loved most though, was Yamada.  She only showed up from episode 7 on, but her presence (and compulsive lying) in the series instantly made Working! one of my favourite shows of its season.

Yamada’s best moment came in episode 9 when she was responsible for the creation of ‘Kotori-chan’, one of the best Traps in recent years.  Poor Takanashi had absolutely no hope in the face of her expert make-up skills and selection of wigs, and Yamada seemed to take sadistic pleasure in dressing him up whenever the opportunity presented itself.  I also really enjoyed Yamada’s dynamic with Souma, as Yamada is the only one of the cast that’s able to make Souma squirm – which was very satisfying given Souma’s usual role in the show!

It’s hard to believe Yamada was an anime original character, she was lots of fun and Working!! wouldn’t have been anywhere near as fun without her!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 16, 2010 2:30 am

    Boy, I raegdropped this pretty hard after Inami showed up in the second episode (I like to think of her as Kirino v1.0 nowadays). So I guess I should pick this back up, eh?

    • December 16, 2010 1:01 pm

      Oh Inami – how I hate her character! Inami is an irritatingly large part of the series, but other than her the characters are great fun. I’d only recommend Working if you’re bored and looking for something fluffy – it did make me giggle.

      • December 16, 2010 3:24 pm

        Hey, what’s wrong with Inami? Her character (realistically) becomes softer as the series progresses, but (realistically) doesn’t fully change. I went from disliking her to the opposite by the end.

        Yamada is definitely a fun character. I had no idea she was anime only!

        • December 17, 2010 12:03 am

          Whats right with Inami – she may have improved a bit over the course of the show but she was still irritating! XD

          I only discovered Yamada was an anime original character recently when lookinhg at the Working Wiki http://wagnaria.wikia.com/wiki/Aoi_Yamada

  2. December 18, 2010 2:03 pm

    Aoi great character! at first I was like omg go away! but slow fell for her odd personality 😀

    • December 18, 2010 3:53 pm

      Yeah, on her introduction I was also a bit put off by her, but Yamada quickly established herself as a favourite.

Leave a Reply

