Skip to content

Characters that made my year – Izaya Orihara (12 Days of Christmas: Day 4)

December 17, 2010

Today we have a character that shot into my all time favourite’s extremely quickly.  On this fourth day of Christmas let us salute, Izaya Orihara from Durarara!!

Ah Izaya.  He became one of my favourite characters extremely quickly when Durarara!! aired.  In fact it was almost entirely down to Izaya’s role in episode two that made me decide to blog Drrr!! which was also one of the first shows (along with Katanagatari & Baka to Test to Shoukanjuu) that I decided to try out this episodic blogging lark with.  I have this weird fascination with characters that firmly fall into the grey moral area, or (like with Izaya) out-and-out antagonists!  Izaya made Drrr!! special for me – whenever he was on-screen I grinned like a loon; the man just seems to be having so much fun messing shit up that its difficult not to get sucked up in his enjoyment.

The moment I’ve picked as the moment Izaya distinguished himself as a character to watch, is indeed that scene from episode two – its his introduction to the series and best exemplifies why I find Izaya so entertaining.  Izaya dancing about the rooftop, taunting the suicidal girl and just oozing amusement, Hiroshi Kamiya‘s endless chatter instantly attracted me to the character because he just seemed to be having a lot of fun voicing Izaya.

From there Izaya’s involvement in the series just snowballed – Izaya is literally involved in everything that goes on in Drrr!! and even though his role get a bit OTT towards the end, I still adored his character.  Izaya and Durarara!! were definitely one of my highlights of the year.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. December 17, 2010 3:13 pm

    Gosh, Izaya he could well be the most loved trolls of all time ❤ Sushi Love!!
    I hate hist guts but at the same time I love him. The mix of a mastermind manipulator with a lot of charisma, what an amazing combination.
    Great choice of a great character ^_^

    • December 18, 2010 4:04 pm

      Its the sense of fun that surrounds Izaya that I find so attractive – he’s just so much fun, even when he’s getting nailed in the head with a bin!

  2. December 17, 2010 4:53 pm

    Izaya’s so trollishly adorable ❤ ❤

  3. December 17, 2010 10:56 pm

    Yes, yes, and YES. Izaya was my favourite character, without a doubt, from DRRR!!. I loved him every moment. A friend of mine hates him for being such an ass, but as I told her, it’s my entire reason for loving him.

    Also, the moment when he was walking by Celty going “vroom vroom”? Priceless.

    • December 18, 2010 4:06 pm

      Oh the pretend motorbike! That was brilliant – Celty & Mikado clearly don’t know what to think XD Cellphone stomping scene was another fantastic one.

  4. adaywithoutme permalink
    December 18, 2010 1:58 am

    Hmm, does this mean Ozaki will be making an appearance soon? 😉

    • December 18, 2010 4:07 pm

      Ohohoho, its a -s-e-c-r-e-t-

      (a very poorly kept one though)

  5. Ruby permalink
    December 18, 2010 8:49 am

    I love Izaya ^^ and evil guys in general xD if I had to point out one thing I don’t like about him, it’s probably how he tuck his shirt in….. and cool people do not do that. In the manga he looks so much cooler and less nerdy <33

    • December 18, 2010 4:08 pm

      Oh yes the tucked shirt was irritating – did love his coat though!

  6. December 18, 2010 2:07 pm

    Izaya! great character! so sneaky and tricky 🙂

    Very cool choice =D

    • December 18, 2010 4:08 pm

      Thanks! Had to have Izaya – the vast majority of my Drrr!! posts ended up being all about Izaya XD

  7. annyeong permalink
    August 19, 2012 11:58 pm

    must be something wrong with the world and girls nowadays ,you’ll end up with psycho husbands, masochistic bunch of …Izaya’s indeed very interesting character,charismatic, cool and so on but to be impressed with his actions …well, now i know why the world is so fucked up…you’re so easy to read,girls,nothing surprising.by the way,im a woman too, i wont pee in my pants because some guy is evil and clever..Ive known better guys in reality.still izayas best fictional ,character ive ever seen though i can recommend to watch one outs and take a note of tokuchi toua!

Leave a Reply

