Skip to content

Characters that made my year – Alois Trancy (12 Days of Christmas – Day 6)

December 19, 2010

Today’s character was one I was fully expecting to hate before his show aired, simply because he’s completely anime original, however I quickly came to enjoy his brand of madness.  So today, on this sixth Day of Christmas, I present Alois Trancy from Kuroshitsuji II.

Here we go again, Cara’s preference for nutjobs and antagonists comes out again~!  Alois was just tremendous fun to watch, if Ciel has a shortfalling as a protagonist it’s that he’s entirely too serious – Alois is just utterly deranged.  I really enjoyed watching Alois, he’s unpredictable and that streak of cruelty that he hides behind a mask of childish playfulness made him very interesting to watch; you didn’t know what he’d do next!  Alois pretty much dominated all the scenes he was in – whether he was gouging out eyeballs or playing the Trap, he was the character to watch.

The moment I’ve picked as my favourite Alois moment, is from episode seven – the shota sword fight.  Later on in the episode Alois is reduced to a sobbing wreck clinging to Claude’s legs, which wasn’t much fun; however he was on excellent form when twirling about the place and chucking Ciel off of balconies!  I liked how Alois completely overwhelms Ciel through force of personality for the majority of the fight (even if ultimately Ciel wins due to his stronger will & conviction).  Alois’ facial expressions and Mizuki Nana’s fantastic vocal performance throughout the fight were priceless – Kuroshitsuji II was so fabulously over the top, and I loved it for that.  It’s a pity this episode also marked Alois’ undoing as a character as Ciel took his main character status back by force, but still – for the brief time Alois dominated the screen he was brilliant.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. adaywithoutme permalink
    December 19, 2010 6:41 pm

    Alois was also one of my favorite characters this year. He was just so demented it was hard to hate him. He certainly makes for a much better protagonist than Ciel ever did.

    • December 19, 2010 9:36 pm

      Ciel is too srsbns and only fun when forced out of his comfort zone (and into random outfits). Alois just demands your attention with his insanity – such a delightfully unbalanced character, I loved watching his antics.

  2. ariannasterling permalink
    December 19, 2010 8:30 pm

    Oh god, Alois. I haven’t even watched Kuro II (it’ll probably be one of my January watches) and I already hate Alois. I’ve hated him since my first look and absolutely everything I read spoiler-wise and otherwise involving him just makes me want to beat him into a bloody pulp. Kind of identical to my feelings toward Near from Death Note.

    • December 19, 2010 9:38 pm

      You’re not meant to actually like Alois – he does get some redeeming character development towards the end, but he’s a demented bastard for the most part and therefore tremendous fun to watch twirl about the place!

  3. LuvnAnime permalink
    December 20, 2010 3:24 am

    Demented is a soft word to describe Alois. When I saw the ending, it was shocking. I’d expect nothing less from a nut job.

    • December 20, 2010 11:09 pm

      Demented, crazy, twisted, unhinged – all words to describe how Alois would have really benefited from a nice padded room 😄

Leave a Reply

