Skip to content

Winter 2011 – First Impressions (Wolverine & Kore wa Zombie Desu ka?)

January 11, 2011

Finally got this written!  Work is knocking seven bells out of me (place went to hell during my week off) so been really tired.  Anyway, thoughts on latest Marvel/Madhouse collaboration Wolverine and Studio DEEN’s latest randomness Kore wa Zombie Desu ka?

Wolverine

Well it’s a better start than to Iron-Man I’ll give it that, but still this first episode of Wolverine didn’t really do much for me because it was so ordinary! There’s nothing here to really mark Wolverine out from a myriad of similar shows – it’s like MADHOUSE are relying on the MARVEL tag and its existing fan base to sell the show…..it feels lazy, and that’s not something I’m accustomed to feeling from MADHOUSE. I don’t know if I approve of turning Logan into some hopelessly romantic bishie who will spend the entire series running after one woman stuck in a terribly generic “my yakuza father is forcing me to marry a complete prat” plotline. The action was reasonable I suppose, but the dialogue is cheesy and the plot feels dated…..I’m not feeling terribly enthusiastic.

The animation is pretty decent though – much better than Iron-Man, although Logan’s mouth occasionally seemed to be operating independently from the rest of his body at times!  Voice acting was ok too and I really quite liked the music. The OP & ED animation was great, but the ED weirdly made me feel like they had a competition in the office and couldn’t pick a winner, so they ended up just sticking everyone’s entries together – it’s really quite disjointed.

I feel like I’m being extremely negative; I am going to give Wolverine another few episodes before bailing – it certainly hooked me more than Iron-Man did and I managed about 5 episodes of it before giving it up as a bad job!

 

Kore wa Zombie Desu ka? (Is this a zombie?)

Oh god this was a riot! It was all going pretty normally for the most part – snarky male lead being generic…..and then suddenly mayhem! The show is completely over the top and uses comedy violence to optimum effect (the protagonist is already dead after all!) – in this first episode alone Ayumu gets run over by a truck (which propels him through the air and out of his clothes), stabbed by a demonic bear, cut in half by a magical girl, has his home taken over by two demanding girls, attacked by a perverted crayfish and forced to undergo a mahou-shoujo transformation sequence (complete with ultra close-up panty-shots!)….it’s all very weird, but damn funny at the same time!  I don’t have much faith in there being much of a plot, but I did laugh at this first episode so think I’ll be watching a few more episodes of this for the amusement value!

The animation is surprisingly decent here considering this is ‘lol DEEN’, and there’s some really quite decent direction in the action scenes (even if there is a huge focus on the panty-shots) and that transformation sequence was priceless! Voice acting was pretty good too and the BGM fit the show well. I even liked the OP, although the ED was pretty tragic!

Will be keeping this on for a while, to see if they manage to keep the comedy interesting and fresh, or if it gets repetitive. A surprisingly good episode regardless.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. January 11, 2011 11:15 pm

    Hm, I wasn’t intending on watching Kore Wa Zombie Desu Ka? this season, but I think I’ll have to check it out after reading all the positive impressions it’s been getting.

    • January 12, 2011 9:40 pm

      Kore wa Zombie’s first ep is pretty damn funny – I don’t know if it can maintain this level of amusement though.

  2. January 12, 2011 4:51 am

    Wolverine- Not to bad, I did manage to watch Iron-man. They did a decent job on this one too but it is hard to say at this point, now if they can stick in some key bad guys for him to fight things might work out. I did see Sabertooth in the ending, that gives me small hope but not by much.

    Kore Wa Zombie Desu ka?- Great comedy! that loli magical girl was great and her chain saw! best magical girl weapon ever. Fun show so far lets just see if they can keep it up for the rest.

    • January 12, 2011 9:42 pm

      I’ve never really been a big fan of Marvel comics, but I had hoped that Madhouse’s spin on things would prove to be more interested….haven’t been impressed thus far though.

      Mahou-shoujo should have weapons like pink chainsaws more often – priceless!

  3. LuvnAnime permalink
    January 12, 2011 5:55 am

    Ayumu’s mahou shoujo transformation was the highlight of the episode. I could not stop laughing. Plus there’s a PINK chainshaw!!

    • January 12, 2011 9:43 pm

      I really did have die laughing at Ayumu’s transformation sequence – completel unexpected & utterly hilarious. And yes PINK CHAINSAW!!😄

  4. January 12, 2011 7:02 am

    Given how dismal Madhouse’s offering of Iron Man was, I really wasn’t expecting a great deal from Wolverine, but fortunately it was marginally better. I agree that there’s nothing particularly special about it so far. I doubt I’ll be keeping this one on because I’m not too familiar with the X-Men franchise (except watching the films which are probably quite a bit different anyway), so I’d imagine my enthusiasm will differ quite a bit from those who have read the comics.

    Kore wa Zombie Desu ka was something else. It was terribly amusing and yet you couldn’t help but think at the back your mind that it’s also terribly wrong. To its credit, I rarely muster up a cackle when watching comedy anime, usually a faint smile from time to time, but this succeeded in getting a few ‘laugh out loud’ moments from me, largely due to the ridiculousness of it all. Keeping this one on for a few episodes, no doubt.🙂

    • January 12, 2011 9:49 pm

      Wolverine is looking better than Iron Man (god that was bad), but its still nothing to really get excited about. I’ve also never read the comics – only seen the films & watched the cartoons way back in the day, shall have to wait and see.

      Yeah I got that ‘dear god this is weird/wrong’ feeling during the first episode of Kore wa Zombie desu ka? while I was laughing at the randomness. It should be interesting for a few episodes, but can see it running out of steam fairly quickly unfortunately.

  5. January 12, 2011 11:43 pm

    Zombie put me in such a good mood today. I’ll be including it in my impressions post (due up tomorrow, maybe?) and expressing the joy it gave me. Even if seemed like pure crack.

    • January 12, 2011 11:45 pm

      It is the stuff of crack fics – should be fun for a few episodes at least!

  6. January 17, 2011 6:36 pm

    Kore wa Zombie Desu ka is better than I thought it would be, and I knew I would enjoy it too. Reminds me slightly (very slightly) or Bokusatsu Tenshi Dokuro chan, which is one of the top two funniest anime ever (along with DMC).

    • January 17, 2011 9:43 pm

      The comedy violence was very Dokuro-chan! First episode really took me by surprise (unfortunately the 2nd episode doesn’t have the same sparkle).

Leave a Reply

