Skip to content

My Nominations for Sai Mecha:The Super Dimensional Robot Tournament!

March 27, 2011

As you may or may not have heard, Executive Otaku from THAT Anime Blog has launched a new tournament for those of us who can’t be arsed with SaiMoe – Sai MECHA! The nominations stage is now open so you can email EO at executiveotaku AT gmail DOT COM with nominations for up to 15 individual mechs.  The selection criteria isn’t all that strict, you can nominate anything that takes your fancy for whatever reason.

I’m sticking my 10 nominations in this post as advertising more than anything else (although given my audience is quite small I don’t know how much extra awareness I can drum up!).  I went for 10 mechs as I felt strongest about these 10 – the shortlist for the remaining 5 places was way too long to cut down so I didn’t bother. I’m not really the biggest mechafag out there I’m much more casual in my love of the mecha genre, so my selection criteria is mainly whats pretty and/or cool looking – I don’t really know much about the technical aspect of anything!  But participating is fun anyway~!

1. Gundam Deathscythe Hell Custom (XXXG-0102): Gundam Wing: Endless Waltz

The Deathscythe Gundam has always been my all time favourite mecha – it’s just cool looking!  The Hell Custom version seen in Endless Waltz was just the ultimate form of its coolness – love that green energy scythe and the bat wing-shaped cloaking shield.  Plus its black – black is automatically cool as it’s the complete opposite of the usual iconic white mecha of the Gundam-verse.

 

2. Tachikoma: Ghost in the Shell – Stand Alone Complex 1st Gig

Tachikoma are adorable.  There’s no other way to describe the things; they’re just adorable.  Mini tanks that resemble giant spiders I really should be scared witless of the things, but their personalities are so endearing and I can’t help but admire how versatile the things are in action.  If there’s such a thing as a moe mech, the Tachikoma is it.

 

3. Gurren-Lagann: Tengen Toppa Gurren-Lagann

From the moe to the GAR!  The main mech of TTGL is powered by sheer fighting spirit and is probably the most versatile machine on my list.  The Gurren-Lagann can change and combine with other mechs through pure willpower, in addition to the ability to create drills even bigger than the suit itself that can piece the heavens!  Say it with me now; GIGA DRILL BREAKER!!!

 

4. Zearth: Bokurano

Zearth is not your typical mecha.  Look at that design, it’s physically impossible for such a gigantic body to be supported by those spindly legs & itty bitty feet – the entire design is very top-heavy & should topple over if someone even looks at it wrong!  The ungainly design makes any fight the Zearth engages in very interesting – there’s nothing fluid or graceful about this mecha, its fights are messy and full of jerky movements.  Still its a really interesting looking mecha and its strange proportions just made its otherworldly origins all the more clear.

5. Valkyrie Messiah (VF-25F): Macross Frontier

Despite being more a Gundam fan than a Macross one, there is no denying that the Valkyries are beautiful machines, and the newest incarnation, the Messiah from Macross F is the prettiest of them all!  I have a thing for transforming mecha, I like the variety it gives in action scenes, and watching the VF-25 in action was a thing of beauty.

6. Gurren S.E.I.T.E.N. Hakkyokushiki: Code Geass R2

Pretty~!  I prefer Kallen’s Gurren to Suzaku’s Lancelot – both are very attractive, but the Gurren edges Lancelot for me because of its motorbike style cockpit and that radiation wave claw.  This final version of the Gurren in R2 is the prettiest of all with its new float unit & pink wings!

7. Escaflowne: The Vision of Escaflowne

Oh look, another transforming mech!  The Vision of Escaflowne was one of my gateway anime series and one of the reasons I loved it so much was because of how pretty its mecha were.  The machines behave like giant medieval knights, all flowing capes & huge broadswords. But Escaflowne itself was special – powered by a fecking dragon’s heart & the life force of its pilot it was plenty pretty in its normal land based Knight form, but really became stunning when transformed into its flight mode – a huge mechanical dragon operated with reins & willpower!  Gorgeous.

8.  Union Flag Custom (SVMS-01E): Gundam 00


Aside from Gundam Exia, none of the hero units in Gundam 00 really appealed to me, the only suit that I really liked in the series was this – the Flag and in particular Graham Aker’s custom Flag or Overflag.  You can see real thought has gone into designing this machine and everything serves a purpose – plus its black and really cool looking!

 

9. Nirvash TypeZERO spec2: Eureka Seven

The surfing mecha of Eureka Seven made for utterly jaw-dropping action scenes, and the Nirvash was the best among them.  Of its various incarnations, I liked this spec2 version best as its upgrade marked a turning point in the series and it just looks really good onscreen.  Again its a transforming mecha, and its car mode is really pretty awesome, even though the machine is at its best in the sky.

 

10. Tauburn: Star Driver

Dazzling the stage! Ginga Bishounen – TAUBURN~! Look at that design, you don’t get much more FABULOUS~! Looking a bit like some kind of musketeer wannabe, the heels, feathery plume & funnel skirt make Tauburn a really rather interesting mecha visually.  Takuto’s duel sword fighting style & innovative use of his funnels make even the ritualistic and predictable nature of fights in Star Driver visually appealing.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

There we go, my 10 nominations for the Sai Mecha tournament – no doubt I’ll suddenly realise I’ve forgotten something momentous in about 15 minutes, but I’m pretty happy with these choices so shall stick with them!

19 Comments leave one →
  1. March 27, 2011 9:39 pm

    I thought about Escaflowne, but it’s too thick for me. I was never really a fan of any fatass mecha, haha. Giant Robo is the one exception. Nirvash, Tachikoma and Gurren Lagann are on my list, though!

    • March 27, 2011 10:34 pm

      The Knight form is a bit chunky, but I kind of like its clunkiness😄

  2. March 27, 2011 10:00 pm

    I cant take Deathscythe seriously as a gundam:S its wings are clearly just for show ….but it does looks really cool in black D:

    Tauburn is really pretty but that seems to have been wasted in some of star drivers boring battles😦

    • March 27, 2011 10:37 pm

      The wings are meant to be part of Deathscythe’s cloaking system……although they’re mostly for the cool factor😀 I like how most Gundams are white, but Deathscythe is almost entirely black – it makes it a bit different.

      Yeah the battles in Star Driver leave much to be desired, it would be nice to see Tauburn’s capabilities stretched a bit more.

  3. March 27, 2011 11:34 pm

    Nominations have been recorded!

    Good to see the amount of variety in your list too. Excellent choice with the Flag, though on Lancelot vs Guren I much prefer the former myself. Though rooting for Suzaku the entire series might also have something to do with that, hehe. I wonder if taking sides at all influenced your or others’ choice in that regard.

    • March 28, 2011 5:52 pm

      I was never overly fond of Kallen as a character, so I wouldn’t be swayed by that……I did hate on Suzaku quite a bit though! That being said I do think the Lancelot is a gorgeous machine – I just liked the quirks on the Gurren a lot more…….and its red – I like red /shallow

  4. March 28, 2011 12:27 am

    WOooooooooooo!! I like this! Awesome list here! All great choices, love your number one pick! Deathscythe best choice right there.

    • March 28, 2011 5:59 pm

      I’ve always loved the Deathscythe – Gundam Wing was one of my gateway anime series, and Deathscythe has always been my favourite mecha from that show.

      Lots of fun to make lists like this, hoorah for Sai Mecha~!

  5. March 28, 2011 1:19 am

    Apprivoise~

    ALL HAIL THE GURREN-SEITEN! That is by far one of my most favorite mechs from my formerly-favorite-all-time-anime. The Tristan is also a variable frame though, maybe I’ll put that in my list…

    • March 28, 2011 6:02 pm

      Yay for Gurren-SEITEN love – so pretty~! Those big horn thingys sticking out of the Tristan’s head put me off it – looks a bit strange to me, not overly fussed on its double ended spear weapon either.

  6. hikarutsukino permalink
    March 28, 2011 3:14 am

    My love is with Escaflowne, but unless Hitomi give it the luck. Gurren Lagann will pierce it with that freaking drills coming from nowhere…. unless the spiral energy get limited in some way>< ARGH field effect make it tricky.

    Or maybe I get it all wrong and this just about chosing he coolest…..hmm still is hard

    • March 28, 2011 6:04 pm

      Gotta love Gurren-Lagann’s ability to completely disregard the laws of physics – awesome mecha!

      There aren’t any hard and fast rules regarding selection criteria – I just picked machines that I liked most for mainly very superficial reasons!😄

  7. March 28, 2011 3:39 pm

    Great list, but there’s only 10! Fuck it, I’m going to make my own list. Oh shit, I made one already… mmm how to go around this predicament?

    • March 28, 2011 6:07 pm

      Haha! There’s only 10 because I was tying myself in knots trying to pick the other 5 – shortlist was way too long (but kind of feel bad about leaving out EVA-02 & the Zaku II).

      You could make another list under another alias!😆

  8. March 28, 2011 4:45 pm

    Zearth–YES.

    • March 28, 2011 6:08 pm

      Really interesting mecha & brilliant series, had to have it in here.

  9. March 28, 2011 10:36 pm

    I should probably kick myself for not considering Escaflowne. Having a mech transform into a dragon is just plain badass. And the Tachikoma’s are moé. To be honest, despite their obvious lack of trunk space I’d drive (or ride) one to and from work everyday. Not to mention they’d be great for hikes and off-roading.

    • March 29, 2011 5:45 pm

      I have a thing for transforming mecha – didn’t even notice until I was midway through compiling a shortlist of my favs and discovering quite a lot of them transform!

      Escaflowne is an old favourite of mine, I just love that dragon form to bits! Also the sooner we get Tachikoma as all purpose vehicles the better – would make parking so much easier!!

Trackbacks

  1. My Nominations for Sai Mecha 2012: The Super Dimensional Robot Tournament! « Caraniel's Ramblings

Leave a Reply

