Skip to content

Autumn 2011: First Impressions (Gundam AGE & Mirai Nikki)

October 11, 2011

Last week of first impressions!  Today it’s Gundam AGE and Mirai Nikki (Future Diary).

Gundam AGE

You know what? I really liked this!  I mean, sure it’s not really giving us anything new – it’s basically the usual opening episode for  a Gundam show, but it was done in such a solid way that I can’t really hold that against Gundam AGE.  It’s clear that this is aiming to be the Gateway Gundam show for a new generation, it’s most definitely pitched at a younger age group than 00 or SEED.  It feels like this Gundam series is going for a more adventure type feeling than the usual politics & angst – mainly because of our protagonist Flit.  Flit isn’t forced into the cockpit of the Gundam, he takes that duty upon himself when there isn’t any other pilots about to fill the role.  As the designer of the mobile suit Flit knows the controls and capabilities of the machine inside out, it’s not like he fell into the cockpit and instinctively knew how to pilot it which makes a refreshing change.  Flit also seems pretty mature, his tragic back story forced him to grow up quickly and his genius level intellect also puts him on another level (bewildered by why he still has to go to normal school though).  There are things I’m not overly fond of though – the enemy is so far faceless & not all that interesting and the adults in general are portrayed as incompetent idiots who fail to take the defense of their colony seriously.  Hopefully these issues are addressed in a more even-handed manner down the line.

On the production front, I’m still not convinced by the cartoonish character designs (and I don’t think the show is either – art styles kind of shift depending on what character is on-screen).  However the background art and animation itself is fabulous – the wide shot of the colony in particular was amazing.  The mecha designs are quite simplistic, but the clean lines work well with the simple character art.  Not sure about those enemy transforming dragon mobile suits though, odd choice for a Gundam show – bit more fantastical than I’m used to.  I’m very impressed by the music, however OP is a strange choice for a Gundam show, the band previously provided OPs for AnoHana & Oofuri, so it’s a much more soothing kind of song than I’m accustomed to for Gundam, very nice song though.  Voice acting is reasonable, Flit just about avoids being too whiny which is a relief……..pity about the Haro.

So a much better start than I was anticipating, definitely sticking with Gundam AGE for the duration.

Mirai Nikki (Future Diary)

I’m pleasantly surprised by how asread didn’t balls this first episode up – it was actually pretty good!  Sure the entire episode was given over to spelling out the plot, and the villain didn’t really have any impact, but it was still a pretty solid opening episode and established the world & main characters very well.  I’ve read the manga so I know whats in store for us, and I felt that this episode stayed pretty faithful to the source material so I’m not panicking as much about adaptation decay now, however I do wonder how the anime is going to deal with the more disturbing elements of the plot further down the line.

Now the animation budget obviously isn’t wonderful for this anime, and its very apparent in the wide shots – hella derpy character models there.  The direction is decent enough, although I’m not sure about the use of block colour filters over certain scenes – the purple/pinkness of the Deus scenes just looked weird.  Deus himself is completely rendered in CGI, which makes him look completely out-of-place in the series – but that kind of works in this instance because Deus is meant to be otherworldly; he’s the God of Time & Space after all!  I also liked the music used in the show – pretty decent OST it seems.  On the voice cast front there are some excellent choices in the extended cast (Wakamoto as Deus is perfect), but I’m not completely convinced by Yukiteru & Yuno’s seiyuu – they aren’t very experienced and sound a touch too young for the characters; this is a minor quibble though & they have 26 episodes to grow into their characters.

So far so good for Mirai Nikki – the manga is finished, so the anime team really should have had ample time to sort out the pacing for the series; I’m looking forward to following this one!


11 Comments leave one →
  1. A Day Without Me permalink
    October 11, 2011 10:58 pm

    Deus ex Machina = SHINING SAOTOME

    • October 11, 2011 11:00 pm

      Also “All Hail Britannia” & Cell………Wakamoto makes everything x10 better as a rule😄

    • October 12, 2011 12:44 am

      And don’t forget Chiyo’s Dad, and the narrator from Hayate no Gotoku.😄

      At any rate, I’m excited for Mirai Nikki. The first episode was solid and enjoyable, and I find the protagonist intriguing. Plus with lots of unique story elements to work with, I can see this series becoming quite unpredictable and exciting.

  2. October 12, 2011 4:32 am

    Gundam AGE- So agree with you on Flint’s character and his relation to his gundam! Finally a pilot that built his own machine and didn’t fall into one randomly and becomes a godly pilot, that is very refreshing to see something new. And character designs are a bit strange for a gundam series but I think it might grow on us soon, I did like the mechanical designs for the AGE and the new enemies and ya WTF Mecha dragons? Seems crazy but at least it’s nice to look at😀

    Mirai Nikki- Great first episode! I only read the manga and skipped out on that crap OVA they released months ago. And yeaaaah that first bad guy not really scary and his death was so weak! I did laugh at Yuno’s reaction to that death yes very boring. Speaking of Yuno I liked her a lot in the manga so hopefully they get that character right, I know a few people have been complaining about her voice being to soft just wait for the extreme yandare moments to arrive❤

  3. Blackholeheart permalink
    October 12, 2011 12:33 pm

    As I’ve said on twitter, I’m quite happy with AGE as it feels more solidly like an older gundam or robot show and I already suspect that their playing us with the idea that the UE are “aliens”. It has handled its self rather smartly considering the the demographic its aiming at so I’m looking forward to a good toy commercial for a change minus some of the angst that has overloaded the franchises last few outings.

    Yuki didn’t really click for me in this first episode of Mirai Nikki but IMO asread is doing a better job with character designs than the manga did, as in I buy Yuno as a really pretty girl in this where in the manga, not so much so.

  4. Spade permalink
    October 12, 2011 1:53 pm

    It’s pretty obvious that gundam is aiming for the younger crowd this time round…. the world is changing, and I think Sunrise senses that. That the newer generation is different. I am not that into the show though I’ll probably watch it. I prefer adults in the previous shows. You could appreciate them so much more! This grandpa in the show remind me of Astroboy’s professor…………………………

  5. belle permalink
    October 25, 2011 8:10 am

    what is an apropriate age to watch mirai nikki?

    • October 26, 2011 12:59 am

      I’d probably rate it T for Teen. Lots of people killing each other, and it’s quite dark compared to you average shounen series.

  6. November 16, 2011 9:15 pm

    Glad I’m not the only one whining about the amount of CGI in the serie! It’s just sickening. I’m glad most of it went away with the first episode though.. As for the seiyu, it’s hard for me to imagine Yuno saying ‘Yukki~’ in that creepy manner with a different voice, as for the protagonist himself, both he and his seiyu might aswell burn in flames ಠ_ಠ

    Btw. Haven’t been in the blogosphere for a while, how are you Caranii~? Glad to see you’re still blogging!

    • November 19, 2011 4:46 pm

      Yuno’s seiyuu has grown on me – still not convinced that Yukiteru’s will be flexible enough though.

      Nice to see ya back blogging yourself! I’m okay-ish – not able to write much at the moment due to ongoing health issues with my stupid arm so have had to give up episodic blogging for the most part unfortunately. Still, I’m trying to get some posts written for the usual end of year blitz well in advance so I don’t miss out!

      • Spade permalink
        November 20, 2011 4:37 am

        I missed your episodal writings!!! GET WELL SOON~

Leave a Reply

