Skip to content

Characters That Made My Year – Takashi Natsume (Twelve Days of Christmas: Day Two)

December 15, 2011

Continuing on with the run down of my favourite characters of the past year then…….spoilers, blah, blah…..

On the second day of Christmas, behold as I go all mushy over Takashi Natsume from Natsume Yuujinchou San!

I love Natsume Yuujinchou.  It’s a series that I just liked after its initial season, but as I’ve watched & read more of it, I just fall more in love with this lovely, atmospheric little series.  It’s pretty unusual for me to really like episodic shows that are this slow and sedate given my preference for action shows with things exploding and OTT flamboyant characters, but Natsume wormed its way into my affections and is now a firm favourite – really looking forward to another season!

Natsume himself is probably the main reason I love the series – the boy is moe incarnate.  Now normally I’d be saying that a character being moe was a negative, but Natsume has a good balance of pure moe & actual personality that just turns me into a pile of fangirl goo…….and yes I am the first to admit that I am completely biased in this respect, if Natsume was a girl I wouldn’t like the show half as much!  The show follows Natsume as he accepts his ability to see youkai as part of who he is and then as he gradually opens up to others both human and youkai – its simple but very effective & has been known to reduce me to tears on occasion.

This year saw the third season of Natsume Yuujinchou, and the moment I’ve picked as my favourite comes in episode 12 when it’s revealed exactly how Natsume came to live with the Fujiwara’s.  The episode highlights just how far Natsume has come over the past three seasons, as the Natsume of the past is a lonely child plagued by the things he sees and frightened of speaking to anyone about them.  It was pretty heart breaking to see Natsume shut himself off from people, reluctant to ask for anything for fear of being deemed a nuisance and passed on to yet another set of distant relatives.  Natsume instinctively recognises that Touko is a very nice, caring lady when she approaches him about moving in with her and Shigeru, and its for this reason Natsume is wary of reaching for the warmth the Fujiwara’s are offering him – he doesn’t want his strangeness to destroy their happy home.  The moment at the end of the episode when Natsume is in hospital recovering from being attacked by a youkai and finally voices his desire to take what the Fujiwara’s are offering him had me teary eyed – it’s a major positive step for Natsume as it’s probably the first time since his parents passed away that he actually asked for something.  It was just a very touching moment that demonstrated how much Natsume’s life has changed since then.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. December 15, 2011 3:34 pm

    Yes, Takashi Natsume is the sweetest boy ever in anime. He’s also a wonderful example of great character development. Ever since he received the Book of Friends, he’s gone from doing everything he can to avoid yokai, to becoming more accepting of the yokai, and finally to actively seeking out yokai to help them. The gradual development of his relationship with his parents and friends is likewise very well-executed.
    I feel Natsume Yuujinchou has improved in quality with each season–and the first season was great to begin with. Definitely looking forward to the next one.

    • December 18, 2011 2:10 pm

      The character development in Natsume is so satisfying, and I agree that it just keeps getting better as time goes on because we get to see Natsume grow even more as a character – wonderful stuff.

  2. December 15, 2011 9:25 pm

    Nice! I was unsure of watching Natsume but after the first five episodes or so I was hooked! And yeah Natsume is a great character, and he is always willing to help anyone.

    • December 18, 2011 2:11 pm

      I wasn’t overly excited by the 1st season – I thought it was nice little show with some stellar episodes, but I wasn’t the massive fangirl I now am. It’s grown on me as time has gone on, and that’s mainly down to Natsume (and Nyanko-sensei).

  3. December 17, 2011 7:52 pm

    I can’t believe I waited so long to watch Natsume! Finally watched all three seasons over Spring-Autumn of this year and now the show as a whole is one of my favourites, and this is mainly due to the characterisation and development of Natsume. I also look forward to seeing what season 4 has in store.🙂

    • December 18, 2011 2:12 pm

      I was surprised you hadn’t seen it before – its a lovely show, so delighted you liked it so much! Can’t wait for season 4!

Trackbacks

  1. 12 Days of Christmas Hoedown Throwdown Countdown: Day 7 « Shinde Iie Anime Blog

Leave a Reply

