Skip to content

Characters That Made My Year – Nezumi (Twelve Days of Christmas: Day Nine)

December 22, 2011

The end is in sight, we’re on Day Nine!  Today I’m remembering a character that I liked for the utterly shallow reason of “he’s got pretty eyes”……..yeah.  Allow me to be an utterly shallow fangirl as I kyaa~! over Nezumi from No.6.

So No.6 then.  I still like this show, even though the ending was an utterly shambolic mess of stupidity….. and wasp tornadoes.  The main reason I still like the show is that it did have a remarkably solid start, so even if it did all go very wrong I can still look back at the first few episodes in a positive light.  However one of the main reasons I liked the show though was pretty superficial – I liked the focus on the relationship between Nezumi and Shion.  God love me, but I am a fan of BL and there simply isn’t enough shows out there with interesting BL couples and even though the BL is pretty damn mild in No.6, it was enough to spark my attention.  I liked that the show spent time developing the characters first and foremost – the sci-fi backdrop was almost an afterthought to begin with, only serving as a framing device to bring the two boys together……however that all went to shite in the 2nd half so less said the better.

Of the two central characters I liked Nezumi best.  He’s got that whole standoffish, arsehole thing going on that I like so much, plus he’s just damn pretty – look at those eyes; PRETTY!  Plus he looks scarily good in drag and has a divine singing voice.  Plus for being on the run from the authorities, living in a slum and being very adept at fighting, Nezumi is remarkably well versed in the classics, music, literature, dance and art.  It all makes for an interesting jumble of characteristics – one moment he’s Mr Cynical wannabe terrorist, the next he’s on stage as a very convincing Ophelia and singing  to comfort the bereaved.

The episode I picked as one of my favourites for Nezumi is episode 3 (I’m sure many expected me to pick episode 7 & its infamous kiss).  Episode 3 is interesting as it is the first one to really give us an idea of how Nezumi thinks and why he went to the trouble of saving Shion in the first place.  The whole frenzied rush to save Shion when it becomes clear he’s infected by the parasite wasp, shows how much Nezumi cares for Shion – nothing like a life or death situation to make a person act on their feelings.  When Shion wants to give up, its Nezumi who demands that he live – his strong belief that no one should take their lives for granted strikes a cord with Shion and makes him struggle on through the pain of the operation & the resultant shock when he see’s what’s become of his body.  It’s quite a powerful episode and one of the more memorable for me of the year.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. December 22, 2011 1:12 pm

    Aforementioned BL is what nearly put me off this snow in the first place, but after its conclusion, i realized that there were bigger gripes to be had. But I digress.

    Not saying BL is a bad thing; Shion and Nezumi’s relationship was by far one of the more interesting aspects of this show, and redeemed it quite a bit in my eyes in light of that ending.

    Oh, that ending. Rainbows and wasp tornadoes save the day. It was like some sort of Code Geass-level mindf*ck in the last episode there.

    • December 22, 2011 9:28 pm

      The BL put a lot of people off unfortunately – I can understand being put off by the magical tree spirits & wasp tornadoes though.

      The dynamic between Shion & Nezumi was what really attracted me to the show so that’s what I like to remember of it.

      • December 23, 2011 12:47 am

        I say that “the BL” did it, but really it’s much more truthful to say how the show seemed like it had so much potential during the first half, but slowly degenerated into a mess. Overall, though, it wasn’t that bad. It did have enough redeeming elements to deserve some merit.

        • December 23, 2011 10:10 pm

          Yeah the disappointing 2nd half was the worst thing – nothing sucks more than seeing a show throw away all it’s potential.

  2. December 23, 2011 6:33 pm

    …Yeah, I will admit that I do sometimes pause the show just to stare at Nezumi. Yum.

    I really like the show thus far (I’m four episodes in), but I’m actually really disappointed to hear the ending kills the show.😦

    • December 23, 2011 10:15 pm

      Love that character design~

      The ending contains ridiculous levels of WTF stupidity that comes out of nowhere – real shame as it started off so strongly.

  3. December 26, 2011 7:42 pm

    I think noitaminA decided that Fractale bombed because nobody likes straight relationships and [C] bombed because nobody likes virtual relationships, so they decided to make No. 6 about gay relationships. Which bombed too, so I guess they decided to go back to straight relationships with Guilty Crown.

    Never mind that all four are the same story with different settings, and that, y’know, maybe changing that story could save them from bombing? But nooo.

    This doesn’t have to do with Nezumi, by the way. I wonder, if No. 6 were licensed in America, would they call him ‘Rat’? :v

    • December 27, 2011 4:51 pm

      With noitaminA it looks like they’re angling for a more mainstream audience these days – which I’d be okay with so long as they keep one of the timeslot shows for the niche shows that wouldn’t get made otherwise.

      I’d imagine if No.6 was licensed they’d have to use ‘Rat’ in order to keep the translation close to the original Japanese meaning…….Nezumi still sounds better though😄

Leave a Reply

