Skip to content

Winter 2012: First Impressions (Aquarion EVOL, Listen to me girls, I am your father! and Ano Natsu de Matteru)

January 13, 2012

Nearly done with the first impressions now (thank god).  Today I watched cheesy mecha, the adventures of an ordinary college student & a magical alien girlfriend show……..Aquarion EVOL, Listen to Me Girls, I’m Your Father! and Ano Natsu de Matteru.

Aquarion EVOL

This was fantastically cheesy and I really enjoyed it.  Seriously, this was a double episode and those 45mins just flew by because I was busy sniggering at the random hilarity that makes up the plot for this show.  So we have your bog standard mecha series set up – protag-kun somehow has special powers (LOL Garzey’s Wing!) that allow him to pilot a legendary mech and kick alien arse, plus he gets to have a fun dayto with a cute girl!  What makes this show fun though, is that in this world there is this whole gender split (compete with mecha equipped with ‘chastity stones’), and that said giant robots are basically powered by teenage libido (kinda like Star Driver, but with less FABULOUS~!), which just makes some of the dialogue hilariously loaded with innuendo (probably intentionally).  There’s a pretty big cast, so it’s all quite shallow at the moment, but I’m sure all of them will get their time eventually.  I wasn’t expecting to like this quite so much – the writing is awful, but it’s still lots of fun & interesting………almost makes me want to check out the original series!

The animation is pure eye-candy.  Clearly Aquarion is among the shows with the bigger budgets (which makes me wonder why it’s in a small season) as the animation is wonderful.  The mecha designs are bit overly fussy, but there’s plenty of variety and the action scenes are interesting to watch.  The vibrant colours and mecha put me in mind of Macross Frontier (unsurprisingly given this is also by Satelight), so I’m expecting lots of mecha fights in the future.  Music is pretty decent, I liked the OP and it really fit well with the show.

So I had fun with this.  In no way is it going to win any awards for originality, but it plays to its strengths well and provides plenty of eye candy.  Definitely keeping on.

Listen to Me Girls, I’m Your Father! (Papa no Iu Koto o Kikinasai!)

So this episode wasn’t half bad………until the girls were introduced.  I found myself somewhat enjoying the show when it was just the male lead & his Uni friends messing about, however I quickly gave up on any hopes that this series would be for me once the lead went to his sister’s house to babysit his nieces.  Within the space of a few minutes, the show undid all its hard work, quickly making Mr protagonist look like a pedophile by not only ogling the middle child’s pants, but also walking in on the eldest girl changing.  Much facepalming followed.  As I originally expected, this is clearly the direction the show will be heading in, and as such I am jumping ship now.

Animation is pretty uninspired and I’m not overly fond of the character designs.  Voice acting is reasonable, although only the 3-year-old really stood out because she acts exactly like my little cousin did at the same age.  The music is pretty bland and the ED basically tells you all you really need to know about this show.

So definitely not a show I want to watch – dropped~!

Ano Natsu de Matteru (Waiting in the Summer)

So I haven’t seen either of the ‘Onegai’ shows that AnoNatsu’s creators are best known for, but even I can tell that this is basically the same show all over again.  That being said AnoNatsu is a pretty good example of this kind of uber generic, magical girlfriend show – if I hadn’t seen this sort of show a million times before, I might have considered watching the rest of the series.  Unfortunately I have seen way too many similar shows, and have no burning desire to sit through yet another version of the same story, regardless of how well put together AnoNatsu is.

The production is grand, although I have to say I don’t much like the character designs.  I wasn’t really fond of AnoHana’s designs either – I have no idea what it is, but I just don’t like them.  Voice acting is fine, although main male lead is a touch on the monotone & boring sounding side.  Music is actually very good – I like both the OP & ED (liked the OP’s music more, while the ED animation was probably better), so it’s all very solid-looking & sounding.

AnoNatsu isn’t terrible – clichéd and predictable yes, but bad it isn’t.  The show knows the tropes & plays on them but doesn’t feel lazy since the writing is pretty good.  Still, I’m not in the mood for another of these shows so I’ll be dropping it.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 13, 2012 1:01 am

    Is it bad that I hope for a different ending (aka Kaito ended up with Kanna instead of Ichika) for AnoNatsu and thus I want to sit through the torture of the same cliche shit, knowing that my kind of ending can never happened? Just thinking about it makes me wanna rage

    • January 14, 2012 7:17 pm

      The train is on the track – destination is busty redhead alien, no other destinations are possible……unfortunately.

  2. January 13, 2012 10:13 pm

    Sooooo true on Aquarion! Lots of wonderful eye candy for guys and girls! With characters like Kagura and fan-service Zessica…and Hanazawa Kana? Psshhhh even more fanboys for her. CGI was a bit dull for me but it works for that series, I only reviewed episode one but I probably will just stick to watching it vs blogging xD

    • January 14, 2012 7:19 pm

      I wouldn’t want to regularly blog Aquarion – it’s more fun to watch & laugh at…..imagine having to think while watching it!

  3. January 13, 2012 10:50 pm

    You pretty much nailed what I thought about Papa no.. , it was good with all the sob sob sob sob and a clueless beauty, but then it went straight for pantsu jokes and young females touching the protagonist with their boobs. Felt so damn bad.

    Ano Natsu felt typical, that’s for sure, I also didn’t really get convinced by any of the characters except for the redhaired alien.. For some reason I’m really attached to her sillyness. As for the story it does seem like nothing interesting.. But the show itself is quite easy to watch so I guess I will just run through it.

    • January 14, 2012 7:21 pm

      Yeah, the start of ‘Papa’ was generic stuff, but at least it was vastly better than the paedo crap it deteriorated into.

      Alien chick had the most personality in the show, but that’s not really saying much! AnoNatsu is a well done show for it’s type, I just don’t want to get locked into yet another one of those series.

Leave a Reply

