Skip to content

Spring 2012: First Impressions (Zetman, Kuromajyo-san ga Touru! & Naruto SD: Rock Lee no Seishun Full-Power Ninden)

April 5, 2012

Moving quickly on, I’m hoping to get another post out at some stage tonight.  Up first though is wannabe superheroes, black witches and ninjas………..Zetman, Kuromajyo-san ga Touru! and Naruto SD: Rock Lee no Seishun Full-Power Ninden.

Zetman

Oh dear.  If I tell you that I spent the majority of this first episode giggling like a madwoman you’ll get an idea of what I thought of Zetman.  This show desperately wants to be taken seriously, and it does have a potentially interesting premise and lots of style, but unfortunately it just goes too far and ends up becoming cheesy and OTT.  I’m hoping that this is just a case of being overly enthusiastic about its opening episode and that everyone calms down in the next few episodes, because I am still pretty interested in Zetman.

The worst offender in this episode was whoever did the action choreography, because it was just a mess.  It was impossible to tell what was going on, the animation degraded into blurs and lulzy camera angles were thrown in randomly – it’s like the director got way too caught up in making the fights look dynamic and stylish, and forgot to make them easy to follow as well!  The music, just like Another from last season, is also very overblown – some of the musical cues in the “touching scenes” set me off into giggles from how blatant they were.  Voice acting is actually pretty decent, if somewhat cheesy (mostly the scripts fault), and I quite liked how overdone the OP was.

Overall I enjoyed this episode of Zetman, but not for any of the reasons I was expecting.  If it continues like this it will be worth watching for the entertainment value, but I am still hoping it gets itself together and starts presenting the story in a more restrained manner.

Kuromajyo-san ga Touru!

This is pure kiddie fluff – it’s only 7 minutes long and not a whole lot happens, so pretty harmless.  There isn’t much explanation or exposition about why the main character is suddenly in training as a witch, nor is there a whole lot of actual animation going on (any less and it would be a powerpoint slide show).  Still for what it is the show is watchable and not overly irritating – which is more than I really expected.

 

Naruto SD: Rock Lee no Seishun Full-Power Ninden

Well this pretty unfunny.  Aside from reusing jokes (that poop joke got recycled three times in 20minutes!) the show doesn’t really seem to know what it want to do and completely fails at being a comedy.  Rock Lee is already a pretty goofy character in the main series but at least he does have some cool moments, however in this spin-off they just strip him right back to being an incompetent idiot.  I think the only skit I laughed at was the “playing house” one, and that was mainly done to Neji acting like an elementary schoolgirl!

The OP is unremarkable in its cheesiness, but the ED…….my god the dancing.  Scarred for life.

So yeah, I am a fan of the Naruto franchise, but not even that could make me watch more of this awfulness…….makes me want Bleach back even it’s all filler!

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. fathomlessblue permalink
    April 5, 2012 6:49 pm

    I couldn’t even get into Zetman, even ironically, & to be honest the battle choreography was the least of my problems. The art designs were right up my alley, but everything else… that has to be some of the clunkiest dialogue I’ve heard in some time. Also, I don’t think there’s ever been an anime which annoyed me more in terms of pacing, including Spriggan! It felt like I was watching a mid-season recap episode. Awful in nearly every way! Where’s Nichibears when I need it!

    • April 5, 2012 7:36 pm

      I think I’m a bit more tolerant of this kind of crap, but I know exactly where you’re coming from when you say it felt like a recap episode – that pacing was all over the show!

      I’m still hoping it will calm down in the next few episodes, but think i would watch this as a guilty pleasure regardless.

  2. April 8, 2012 4:13 am

    Zetman more like WTFDIDIWATCHMAN…I have no idea what was up with that! I will have to try two more episodes, but I have lost faith in anime with super powered suits! All but Tiger and bunny who use machines of course.

    Sacred Seven failed and I think Zetman will fail…

    • April 9, 2012 2:20 pm

      Zetman has a ton of unintentional hilarity potential – I smell a replacement for Guilty Crown~

Leave a Reply

