Skip to content

Spring 2012: First Impressions (Kore wa Zombie desu ka? Of the Dead, Lupin III: The Woman Called Mine Fujiko & Gakkatsu!)

April 7, 2012

So I ended up too busy to get another post done yesterday and I now have a huge backlog – so this will be as brief as possible!  Magical boys, sex appeal & nonsense…………..Kore wa Zombie desu ka? Of the Dead, Lupin III: The Woman Called Mine Fujiko and Gakkatsu!

Kore wa Zombie desu ka? Of the Dead

I don’t know if it was because I was drinking while watching this or if it was actually entertaining, but I liked this first episode of the 2nd season.  It does absolutely nothing new – the entire package from S1 is present here right down to the recycled animation in the ED (without the awesome song).  However I am actually okay with this.  I had zero expectations from this show, so I had a good giggle at Ayumu’s embarrassing Mahou-shounen transformation sequence (we even got the 1000% frillier version too).  Zombie Desk Car is as shallow as they come, but it’s not like it aims to be anything other than fluff which is why I find myself enjoying it.

DEEN appear to have spent their budget entirely on the OP, which is pretty stylish looking (even if the song is a bit meh) as the episode animation is nothing to get excited about and they resorted to reusing animation for the ED (very meh song there unfortunately).

So I’m keeping this on regardless of how uninspired it is – even if it isn’t going to do anything new I enjoy the old stuff enough to sit through the series.

Lupin III: The Woman Called Mine Fujiko

I was expecting this new series of Lupin III to be sexed up, but I wasn’t prepared for just how filthy this show turned out to be!  It just oozes sex appeal, from the jazz inspired soundtrack, to the nudity, to the gorgeous stylised background art – Lupin II is a very attractive show.  As the title would imply this new series of Lupin III is mostly told from the perspective of Mine Fujiko, so that’s something new – I don’t really have any experience of the previous Lupin III series, but I’d assume that they mostly focus on Lupin himself.  Here Fujiko (and her breasts) takes centre stage and Lupin just drops into her adventure.  It’s pretty interesting viewing – quite looking forward to more.

The real star of this show though (aside from Fujiko’s nipples) is the animation.  Very heavily stylised with lots of heavy black stenciling and plenty of interesting direction choices; the animation style is one of the first things you notice about this show – I love it.  The OP is very unusual, certainly one of the more unique OPs I’ve seen – with all the naked Fujiko it feels like a Bond OP (which I imagine is the whole point) but the accompanying track with this dialogue makes it feel quite different.  The ED isn’t just as memorable, but the song is quite good.

So I’m quite impressed with this first episode of Lupin III – looking forward to following this weekly, even if it is much more NSFW than I initially imagined!

Gakkatsu!

I really wasn’t all that impressed with this, mainly because Sayonara Zetsubou Sensei uses a similar premise and does it infinitely better.  Still it’s a short wee thing and does its thing fairly well so I’d imagine some people will enjoy it.

As flash animations go, this is one of the better examples – there is actual animation at times!  Voice acting is also pretty good – sounds like they are actually putting some effort in, which is nice.  The OP is also surprisingly good if forgettable.

I’m not keeping this on simply because I can’t be bothered, but it’s a fairly decent little flash show.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. fathomlessblue permalink
    April 7, 2012 7:12 pm

    Can we rename The Woman Called Mine Fujiko to Lupin The Third Nipple?

  2. April 8, 2012 4:18 am

    YES YES AND YES! More Korean zombie desk car for us to enjoy and laugh our asses off. And we get a new character the random drunk loli girl Chris-chan, but I wonder what mix of supernatural she is? I think she is a ghost and some are saying a fairy! So basically combine those two for an epic ghost fairy or something random.

    RAINBOW PUKE! That scene made me think of Gintama’s final episode xD

    • April 9, 2012 2:22 pm

      Rainbow vomit really was pure Gintama!

      Drunk loli will have to be something random – I’m saying Leprechaun. Just cause.

Leave a Reply

