Skip to content

Spring 2012: First Impressions (Accel World, Upotte! & Sengoku Collection)

April 8, 2012

So many fecking shows! Moving on to tubby kids, gun girls & genderbent Oda Nobunaga………..Accel World, Upotte! and Sengoku Collection.

Accel World

Another show filled to bursting with wasted potential.  It really is unfortunate that these characters are so obnoxious because I really quite like the setting for Accel World.  The characters just ruin any potential enjoyment though, particularly the sad sack main lead – his “oh woe is me” routine got old within 10minutes.  Also those bullies had to be the most laughable stereotypes I’ve seen outside a parody show. It seems like the characterisation is entirely dependent upon the character design in this show – a glance at a character is more than enough to gauge what their personality is going to be and very little effort is put into going beyond that. I am utterly bemused as to why the main character has been modeled after a beach ball though.  Not a single other character has quite such a stylised OTT design and it makes him feel completely out-of-place.  I get that they want to emphasize his inferiority complex and dissatisfaction with his appearance, but it could have been done in a much more subtle way – he could have been made short and chubby without being turned into some sort of SD marshmallow man!

This is quite irritating because the world setting is very interesting – I like the way the virtual world is layered over the real world; it’s been done before, but it’s still an interesting premise and Accel World has really nice looking animation so it all looks pretty impressive.  Clearly we’ve got a show with a decent budget here.  In terms of voice acting – I can no longer take Kaji Yuki seriously; the poor fella is one and the same as OH MA SHOE in my head now, otherwise the cast is grand.

So Accel World is off to a pretty meh start.  It’s unfortunate that a show which wants to explore how it is the inside that really counts can be so superficial in itself.  I’ll give it another chance, but I’m not expecting anything from it.

Upotte!

I didn’t get this – it just did not appeal to me in the slightest.  Upotte has it’s mind firmly in the gutter, which isn’t necessarily a bad thing, but it’s just that all the jokes fell completely flat with me.  All the innuendo should have amused me, but I was still sitting there going “meh” for the duration.  It’s unfortunate because Upotte is fecking weird and I usually like weird.  Maybe it’s because I have absolutely no interest or knowledge about guns or any interest in underage girls who are actually guns??

Production is reasonable – seems they’ve done plenty of research on the guns in question anyway.  Slightly mystified about why they chose to shadow Mr Protag’s face for the majority – felt like a bad eroge for a lot of the time.

Not my thing – dropped.

Sengoku Collection

Watching this was physically painful – I could feel my braincells crying in anguish as they died.  Genderbending Sengoku figures is nothing new, it’s been done many times before, but this is one of the worst examples I’ve had the misfortune to sit through.  So we’ve got Oda Nobunaga genderbent into a moe girl and launched into the crotch of Mr Bland Every-lead within the first 5 minutes……..and then it got worse.  This version of moe Nobunaga was a horrid tsundere ditz with no redeeming features whatsoever, and the whole episode was just her ordering Mr Bland about and giggling in a manner I suppose was meant to be cute……..AURGH!  And then we had a trio of Touho rejects send moe Nobunaga on a fetch quest to meet other moe Sengoku generals to collect power orbs to get sent back to their world……..I am completely serious!

The production was woeful – it’s like they aren’t even trying.  The colours are garish, character designs blobby and the backgrounds are completely flat and featureless.  The OP & ED were the epitome of generic (I swear the OP is a female cover of the Brave 10 OP!) and voice acting was horrid too.

I wanted to quit this within 6 minutes – not a hope in hell of me watching more!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 8, 2012 8:28 pm

    I’m absolutely shocked, shocked that we can disagree on so many shows. Though I would agree on Accel World. It has to be hard writing through the pain barrier this season.

    • April 9, 2012 2:30 pm

      Shocked you say? I’m not, we do seem to have very different opinions on quite a lot of shows, so the stuff we agree on can be said to be definitively good or bad😄

Leave a Reply

