Skip to content

Summer 2012: First Impressons (Kingdom, Tari Tari & Humanity Has Declined)

July 3, 2012

Okay so let’s get started on the first impressions shall we?  As ever I try to sample almost everything each season in my never-ending quest for that next hidden gem – if something has even a smidgeon of potential, I’ll give it another episode or two.

We’re starting things off with dodgy CGI, boring high-schoolers and bleeding bread………..Kingdom, Tari Tari & Humanity Has Declined.

Kingdom

Now Kingdom started quite a few weeks back, but I’ve held back on writing about it until the summer season started properly.  I only managed to watch two episodes of Kingdom – it was pretty damn bad.  The whole concept and setting wasn’t all that terrible, it’s just the execution that is awful – eye-cancerous CGI and bad acting are its major crimes though.

Kingdom is animated entirely in CGI – which wouldn’t be so awful if it wasn’t so obvious that there isn’t a very big budget for this show, making everything look like a particularly ropey game cutscene.  I could have put up with that though, but the acting just really grated on my nerves – and that is something I never expected to say given the cast on board.  The major culprit is Morita Masukazu who just yells all his lines in the one loud, obnoxious tone; I really have no notion what he thought he was doing in this series, he’s normally a pretty competent actor!

So yeah, Kingdom is laughably terrible and I had more than my fill of the show after two episodes – dropped.

Tari Tari

I found this boring to watch.  There isn’t really much wrong with the show, I just found it couldn’t hold my attention for very long as nothing of any great consequence was happening on-screen, and I thought all the characters were pretty damn bland.  It is a well presented show though – if you like this kind of high school s’life thing that is.  Personally I found it dull – as a teenager I had a hell of a lot more fun at school than these too pure girls & boys, and I still managed to be a good student involved with clubs!

PA Works always do nice work, this show has the exact same aesthetic as Hanasaku Iroha, right down to the shiny character designs.  It’s a pretty show to look at, even if everything looks so flawless that it appears false and plastic.  I guess I just felt that Tari Tari was a bit soulless – nothing really rubbed me up the wrong way, as the characters are fairly likeable and well acted – but I still couldn’t like this show.  I am willing to give it another chance to impress me, but I’m not overly interested at the moment.

Humanity Has Declined (Jinrui wa Suitai Shimashita)

Now this I am interested in.  Jintai was utterly bonkers, and I really liked it even if I was simultaneously terrified!  There is a very cynical, dark edge to the comedy in this show, and that really appealed to me, especially given the very jarring contrast with the whimsical, pastel artstyle.  Typical post-apocalyptic series this is not.  There  are some utterly demented things in this show – the creeptastic fairies with the perma😀 face are just the start – the free-ranging plucked chicken and bleeding robot bread are a whole other layer of surreal.  There is definitely a boat load of potential in this show, although the weirdness may put some viewers off.

Personally I was most disturbed by the fairies, those tiny little creatures with their unmoving faces stuck in this demented grin, while cheerfully discussing people starving to death in helium fuelled voices – that’s the stuff of Cara’s nightmares right there.  I did like the unnamed protagonist, as her dry running narration revealed her to have a lot more depth than her moe-moe character design would lead you to believe.  Yes I really did enjoy this show.

The music also has to be mentioned – the OP is the most cracktastic looking thing complete with deranged dancing, with a really catchy tune, and the ED is also excellent if a bit more subdued.  Will be keeping this series on just to see what new nightmare fuel it manages to produce each week!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. July 3, 2012 8:30 pm

    Spot on about Jinrui… after first episode it is looking very promising. And with Moyashimon around the corner, summer season looks like a nice season indeed ^^

    • July 3, 2012 10:37 pm

      As long as there are 2-3 shows I genuinely enjoy per season I think it’s a good season – things are looking up!

  2. July 3, 2012 8:35 pm

    (in fairies voice) Yay, nightmare fuel!😀 Watch the nightmare fuel with us, Cara!😀

    One morning we’ll all wake up, and find thousands of those fairies lined up in the streets, dancing non-stop as candy flies about in random directions.

    • July 3, 2012 10:38 pm

      ;A;

      This is horrifying.

      Like, the scariest thing ever.

      Why would you say this to me!?

      ;A;

  3. July 4, 2012 4:51 am

    Kingdom: Why did you give it one more episode?

    Tari Tari: It is currently inferior to Hanasaku Iroha. My only hope is that I’ll stop thinking about Hanasaku Iroha as the episodes progress.

    Humanity: I can’t believe you were terrified. I mean, the only thing truly frightening involved bread. You’re getting soft aren’t ya😀

    • July 4, 2012 8:45 pm

      Kingdom: Because I thought it had good potential for lulz – unfortunately it just got way too irritating.

      Tari Tari: I hated HanaIro, so it’s not looking good for me!

      Jintai: We all know about my aversion to creepy cute things – utterly terrifying. I found the Bread more hilarious than disturbing!

      • July 4, 2012 9:01 pm

        “I hated HanaIro–”

        NoooooooooooooooooWell, I guess this show might not do it for you then😦

  4. July 4, 2012 6:33 am

    Tari Tari: Yeah PA Works always does top tier work when it comes to environmental details and character designs! It will probably win every award based on artwork alone, but yeah there were moments when I was bored with the first episode! There are a few fun characters and GUYS THIS TIME there are actually other GUYS instead of just girls running around. Overall I think the headphone girl will probably keep me watching because she appears to be the usual hyper-crazy-anime-girl that keeps my attention for now…

    Humanity Has Declined: HOLY CRAAAAPP Amazing first episode! I didn’t care about the whole “post-apocalyptic” world setting because I guess they never really excite me? Then again the artwork for Humanity is bright and colorful like Tsuritama! Which kept my attention, but the best moments were around the chicken running around and WTF DEATH OF THE BREAD ROBOT! Ahahahah that scene was the best the fairies are watching you Cara!

    • July 4, 2012 8:48 pm

      I really want to like something by PA Works – I keep trying everything they come out with because I appreciate the effort they put into the animation & settings – it’s always the characters & writing that they screw up.

      Jintai certainly has my attention after its first episode – hopefully that wasn’t just a one off.

  5. Panama permalink
    July 12, 2012 5:02 pm

    The good: the series is really pretty. There’s a soft prettiness about it, a “Hey, I wouldn’t mind living there,” “reminds you of a simpler, more innocent time” sort of prettiness, not unlike its cousin Hanasaku Iroha. The singing (and the small amount of dancing) looked really good too.

Leave a Reply

