Skip to content

Summer 2012: First Impressions (Muv-Luv Alternative: Total Eclipse, La Storia della Arcana Famiglia & Utakoi)

July 4, 2012

Seems that midweek is going to be fairly lacking, all the new titles appear to be clustered towards the end of the week.  Anyway today I present boobtacular mecha, bishie Mafioso and cheesy historical romances………….Muv-Luv Alternative: Total Eclipse, La Storia della Arcana Famiglia and Chouyaku Hyakunin Isshu: Uta Koi.

Muv-Luv Alternative: Total Eclipse

Well this seems to be taking itself very seriously for a show about squeezing teenage girls into skin-tight bodysuits to fight aliens in giant robots.  There doesn’t really seem to be any sense of fun to this show, it’s all very dull and serious even when the camera seems to be trying to zoom right into the girls crotches at every opportunity.  It’s kind of jarring really.  Also for all the talking and exposition, I still don’t really know what this series is meant to be about!  I get that there is a big war and that Japan is being invaded by aliens, but what I don’t get is why teenage girls are the only mecha pilots we see – where are all the adults & teenage boys!?

Production isn’t as pretty as I thought it would be either, everything looks rather gloomy and boring – not what I’d usually expect to see from Satelight.  I’m really not overly impressed by this, but I am willing to give it another episode or two simply because I’m a bit of a sucker for mecha shows – don’t think this will be a keeper though.

La Storia della Arcana Famiglia

This turned out to be exactly what I was expecting – bishie fluff, and that’s perfectly fine by me!  I actually enjoyed this episode, the bishies are all pretty cool looking, I had fun laughing at the ridiculous info-dumping exposition and the anachronistic crap fired in because it looked cool, and the heroine has a bit of backbone to her (even if I fully expect her to roll over and let the bishies fight for her eventually).  Everything was silly, cool looking and just fun to watch if you don’t take it seriously.

The production is decent enough, I liked the character designs and there has been some effort put into actually animating stuff occasionally.  Loving the voice cast (really that’s half the reason I watch these shows), although Mamiko Noto wouldn’t have been my first choice as Felicita. I’m definitely keeping this on, I was entertained.

Chouyaku Hyakunin Isshu: Uta Koi

So the show based on the 100 poems of the karuta card game then.  This turned out a bit differently than I imagined, but that’s not a bad thing.  The show acknowledges that the romantic tales told in these poems are pretty cheesy, and it plays up to that with its animation and voice acting.  I giggled quite a bit watching this first episode.

The animation is pretty stylistic with strong black outlines, and some rather out-of-place looking reaction faces – weirdly I found myself reminded of Tono to Issho (which was crap), but aside from that I quite liked the aesthetic of the show.  I found myself laughing properly at the ED as it it’s just not what I was expecting at all – such awful engrish, but is it pretty catchy!

I’ll be keeping this on, I enjoyed the cheesy romantic theme and the acting is excellent.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 5, 2012 8:32 am

    Muv-Luv: Ahahahh yeah those are some terrible flight suits even on fanservice levels they are badddddd! I did like some of the CGI scenes for the mechs, but that is about it the story seems to be really boring and for a first episode it sure had several time jumps I guess that is one way to skip all of the boring stuff huh? I still need to see two more episodes before I give it the drop.

    La Storia della Arcana Famiglia: Reverse harems usually are not my style at all, but I gave this series a shot and found it to be very entertaining and damn talk about one amazing voice cast for the guys? DAMN! There are some great actors on that list I guess it helps that most of them have voiced shounen style characters. I need to see more before I stick with it, but I survived Brave 10 and that was soso for me…

    • Andmeuths permalink
      July 5, 2012 2:37 pm

      Just be glad that the producers had some brains and didn’t decide to animate the whole franchise starting with the original first Muv-Luv Extra.I think it would have been dropped by now by half the anime blogosphere had they done so.

    • July 6, 2012 12:29 pm

      Costume & character designs in Muv-Luv are terrible – balloon boobs & semi-transparent flight suits…….so fecking classy.

      Loving the voice cast for Arcana – a lot of my favs all in one show?❤

Leave a Reply

