Skip to content

Anime Blogger Interrogation Game

August 18, 2012

So Kevo tagged me into this latest Aniblog carnival / circlejerk thingie, and we all know I enjoy a good bandwagon so I thought I’d fire something together.

The Rules of the Game:

  • Each person is supposed to follow the rule of fives.You are allowed to ask 5 questions, after which you can tag up to 5 bloggers by hyper-linking to their blog; 5 questions because it’s not too many to flood another blogger and occupy too much of his/her time, but yet a large enough number to ask your most important questions, and 5 bloggers to avoid spamming. Hence, prioritize your questions, and who you wish to ask!
  • Those tagged are obliged to answer the questions in a blog post, and after which, they are entitled to create their own 5 questions and tag 5 other bloggers, so on and so fourth. You should answer your own 5 questions as well. You are allowed to tag the person that tagged you in the first place. Also, copy and paste this section on your blog so others can understand how the game goes.
  • In the case where a blogger strongly refuses to answer a question, he/she must instead post a nice anime image, wallpaper or cosplay picture, et cetera in response to that question.
  • To make things interesting, a blogger can include wildcards in his/her 5 questions by placing an asterisk, (*), after which those tagged are obliged to reveal something interesting about themselves that others did not previously know. There is no limit to the number of asterisks one can place (which means there can be up to 5 wildcard questions).
  • Anyone can feel free to start the game; you don’t necessarily need someone to tag you. Just create your 5 questions and tag your 5 people of choice. However, the catch is that you must answer your own 5 questions as well.
  • To potentially prevent an endless game, this round of games will end on the 8th September 2012, 12pm JST (GMT +9). After which, no more bloggers can tag others to answer their questions.

My answers to Kevo’s 5 questions:

1. What inspired you to start blogging about anime? 

It was a gradual progression really.  I spent quite a lot of times on forums writing reviews, season previews and first impressions posts, and decided I’d like to keep an archive of my work all in one place, which led to the creation of Caraniel’s Ramblings in July 2009.  By January 2010 I decided to try my hand at episodic blogging, which I decided I enjoyed and so I’m still doing it!  I had been lurking about the aniblogosphere for a few years before I tried my hand myself – I’m still awful at commenting though.

2. What’s one anime that you’ve always wanted to watch, but you haven’t had the chance?

Legend of the Galactic Heroes.  I’ve had it sitting on my hard drive for years now but haven’t yet got round to committing the necessary time to it.  However that will change in the next few months – it is coming with me on my travels, I’m sure the stupidly long plane/train journeys I’ll be undertaking will provide me with ample opportunity!

3. Name one anime song that you secretly love, but it’s super embarrassing.

“Taiyou Iwaku Moeyo Chaos” the Haiyore! Nyaruko-san OP.  Stupidly addictive, I could not stop singing it for weeks.

4. What was the best season of anime that you ever experienced?

Autumn 2006 – it gave me two of my top 5, Code Geass & Death Note (yes I know I have mainstream tastes!).  Also to come out of that season was Red Garden, Ghost Hunt, Black Lagoon S2, Yamato Nadeshiko Shichi Henge and D.Gray-Man.  Autumn 2006 was also near the start of my real immersion into the fandom – I started following a lot of aniblogs & writing in forums about this time; really was a great time to be discovering anime.

5. What do your friends and family think about your hobby?

Barely any of my friends know about the extent of my interest in anime & manga.  Most know I have geeky leanings, but they don’t know just what it is I geek out over.  My family on the other hand know I’m obsessed (hard to avoid the bookcases of anime & manga) – the Imouto & Ototo in particular know since they share my interest (if to a much more minor degree) – Imouto is going to have fun keeping me in check when we get to Japan next month!

Tag you’re it~!

Okay I’m tagging in Angryjellyfish, Processr, Swabl, A Day Without Me and Emperor J.

Your questions are:

1. What kind of show makes it into your all time favourites?

2. If you had to move to any anime world which would you choose & why?

3. Guilty Pleasures – do you have any?

4. When looking at new shows, is there anything that instantly makes you go “MUST WATCH NOW!”?

5. How long have you been an anime fan? Do you think the interest will ever fade?

My Answers:

1. What kind of show makes it into your all time favourites?

A show that really gets me excited and involved – the last shows to do that properly were probably Shiki and Fullmetal Alchemist Brotherhood.  I tend to get very invested in shows that I love and they linger in my heart for years afterwards.  It’s for this reason I still adore shows like Code Geass, Death Note, Haruhi & TTGL – all of these gave me that excited buzz while watching them.  I can forgive my favourites their many faults that become clearer in hindsight, but if that feeling of love only gets stronger as the years pass in spite of their flaws, then those are the shows that sit at the very top of my personal favourites.

2. If you had to move to any anime world which would you choose & why?

Choosing a world to live in is much more difficult than picking one to simply visit.  While it would be very exciting to visit a world like that which Naruto resides in, I wouldn’t fancy having to live through a ninja war were overpowered individuals can literally wipe entire chunks of the landscape off the map!

If I really was honest I’d like to live in a world like ARIA’s Neo Venezia.  Much as ARIA bored me to tears, Neo Venezia is a gloriously realised world that I really would not mind being stuck in forever.

3. Guilty Pleasures – do you have any?

Guilty Pleasures are an odd concept – I’ve never actually felt guilty about enjoying a series, however it is a handy label for those shows that objectively should be awful but yet have this charm about them that is difficult to hate.  For me my Guilty Pleasures are those fluffy multi-coloured bishie shows like UtaPri or Fruits Basket, and those brilliant “so-bad-it’s-genius” shows like Garzey’s Wing or Kenya Boy that you stumble across every now and then.

4. When looking at new shows, is there anything that instantly makes you go “MUST WATCH NOW!”?

I will admit to occasionally being completely shallow about seiyuu – I have watched some utter rubbish just because Jun Fukuyama, Daisuke Ono, Tomokazu Sugita or Hiroshi Kamiya were in them.  I’m also guilty of being willing to give anything produced by SHAFT, Brains Base or Madhouse a fair go.  Other magic words include “Yoko Kanno”, “Yuki Kajiura”, “Yasuharu Takanashi” and “Kunihiko Ikuhara”.   If a show has any combination of my favourite people and involves one of my favourite genres (mystery, action, horror, mecha, etc) then I’m likely to get very excited about that show.

5. How long have you been an anime fan? Do you think the interest will ever fade?

Been a fan for well over 13 years now with some spots of disinterest here and there.  I don’t think I’ll ever lose interest entirely, but I imagine there will a number of periods of inactivity in the future.  The medium is much to varied to ever get bored – there is always something out there to discover amid the hordes of generic fanservice harems & bishie sparkles.

Okay your turn!

Angryjellyfish at Angryjellyfish’s Blog
Processr at Anipluse
Swabl at Swabulous!
A Day Without Me at GAR GAR Stegosaurus
Emperor J at Lower Mid Table

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 19, 2012 5:59 am

    4. When looking at new shows, is there anything that instantly makes you go “MUST WATCH NOW!?” <<< Agreed! If there are certain actors or actresses in a new series I just have to watch especially if it has Kanae Itou, Rina Satou or Hisako Kanemoto aka Ika Musume / cure peace haha

  2. A Day Without Me permalink
    August 19, 2012 3:26 pm

    I feel that I should say “thanks for tagging me, but…”. It just feels polite to explain to my tagger why I’m not participating! I just don’t have the time currently, as I am going away this week and have spent the last couple of days prepping for that. Sorry! My scheduled posts for the week are all in order, and if this had been a few days earlier, I probably would’ve tried to squish this in as well…

    • August 19, 2012 6:52 pm

      Oh crap I forgot you’d be busy for the next few weeks! Never worry~!

Trackbacks

  1. AngryJellogation – 5 Questions « Angryjellyfish's Blog

Leave a Reply

