Skip to content

Characters That Made My Year: Kurapika (Twelve Days of Christmas – Day One)

December 14, 2012

ACardcaptorChristmas

So it’s that time of the year again – the Twelve Days of Christmas, where anibloggers all over the sphere start bombarding you with what we, in our infinite taste & wisdom, feel were the highlights of the past year.

I feel a bit odd doing this this year, because I’ve skipped the entirety of the autumn season and have absolutely no idea what I’ve been missing!  Still I have seen the majority of whatever aired from winter – summer so I’ve got lots to choose from!  Whether I make all 12 days is another matter given my patchy internet access & the fact I’m working all the hours I can at the moment, but I’ll make a good stab at it anyway.

Anyway that’s enough for a rambling intro, as usual I pick favourite characters rather than favourite moments, so let’s get started.

On this first day of Christmas I give to you the face of red-eyed vengeance! – Kurapika from Hunter x Hunter.

kurapika

Hunter x Hunter has really come into its own over the past few months – the Phantom Troupe arc is the main reason I love the series so much as it’s in this arc that the characters really show their mettle.  Kurapika best demonstrates this, becoming completely possessed by his desire for revenge and displaying all his hither-to hinted at abilities.  Kurapika’s newly awakened nen abilities seem over-powered at first, but as you learn more about their rules and restrictions you can see just how intelligent (and hell-bent on revenge at any cost) Kurapika is.  And if there is one thing I really enjoy its blood-thirsty bishie characters with significant amounts of angst (although Kurapika is a bit too feminine looking for my liking).

The moment I have picked as my standout Kurapika moment of the past year is his fight against Uvogin when we first get a look at his nen abilities when Kurapika goes all out.  Not only is this fight really well animated, but it’s also really visceral and pretty damn violent for a shounen series.  While the animators couldn’t go full out with the gritty stuff due to HxH’s timeslot, they still made the fight satisfyingly violent.  A great watch and a great character to start these Twelve Days off.

kurapikavsuvo

 

 

 

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 14, 2012 1:45 pm

    Well, that sounds rather awesome. I haven’t quite finished the original series yet, but Kurapica is my second favorite character in the series. Your article has convinced me to take a look at the remake.

    • December 14, 2012 5:37 pm

      The remake has been pretty solid – I still have some nostalgia for the original though. The remake benefits from some pretty nice animation though.

  2. December 14, 2012 2:00 pm

    This fight was amazingly well done. Watching it back, you can actually see quite a few different sides to Kurapika here, both as a human and as a hot ball of rage.

    • December 14, 2012 5:40 pm

      Yeah it has been one of the stand out episodes of the remake thus far – lot of care & attention went into directing it.

Trackbacks

  1. 12 Days of Anime – Day 8: NTR in the Summer « O-New

Leave a Reply

