Skip to content

Characters That Made My Year: Gammon Sakanoue (The Twelve Days of Christmas – Day Four)

December 17, 2012

ACardcaptorChristmas

Surprised I’ve been able to keep up, guess I can make time for things I enjoy doing!  Today let us bask in the glory of puzzles with Gammon from Phi Brain!

gammon

The year 2012 will be remembered as the year I converted to the cult of Phi Brain.  Having previously panned the show and swearing to never pick it up, I eventually caved to curiosity and the wish to join the other cool UK folks (and a handful of enlightened folks from across the pond) who swore blind that Phi Brain was the next ‘Big Thing’ on the playground.   And I never looked back.  My soul was stolen by the puzzles (even if, as a woman, I shall never be able to solve them!)  Phi Brain is a stupid, stupid show, filled with dodgy character designs and misogynistic ideas, yet I adored it.  The show is full of memorable and crazy characters, but since I have a one character per series rule I decided to pick Gammon Sakanoue AKA Galileo.

There are a few reasons for my choice, including my inbuilt bias to adore nearly any character with Jun Fukuyama’s vocal cords. Gammon is also inherently awesome simply for the fact he appears to be surfing on a tetris block in the 2nd ED and also because of his strangely malleable face – seriously some of the faces Gammon pulls are works of art.  Gammon is also severely afflicted with SisCon….but I won’t hold that against him.  Basically aside from initially wondering if FukuJun permanently damaged his throat doing all the squawking Gammon’s dialogue seems to consist of, I really enjoyed Gammons “I’m in this puzzle solving business for the money” approach – much more than Kaito’s “the puzzles are calling out to me, they want to be solved!” mantra.

My favourite Gammon episode is probably speed boat gondolas…..you don’t need to know more than that.

Phi-Brain-0271

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 17, 2012 6:59 pm

    I really like the fact that you went with the characters route rather than moments with 12 days project. Gammon is definitely one of the big factors of me liking Phi Brain so much. FukuJun did an amazing job and I always love it when he throws a fit #likeaboss.

    • December 17, 2012 11:12 pm

      This is the 3rd year I’ve gone with this angle (good god, three years already!) – originally I went with it because I jumped on the bandwagon really, really late (like on the actual 1st day late) and obviously didn’t have anything planned. Favourite characters come to me easier than moments.

      I am such a FukuJun fangirl, love his work!

Leave a Reply

