Skip to content

Characters That Made My Year – Penguin (The Twelve Days of Christmas: Day Nine)

December 22, 2012

ACardcaptorChristmas

And we’re onto the home stretch!  Who couldn’t love the wonderful drunk, seven-timing Penguin from Polar Bear Cafe!?

Shirokuma Cafe - 15 - Large 07 (640x360)

Ah Polar Bear Cafe – what a show.  The series was a surprise hit for me with its eclectic mix of characters and comedy.  The central trio of Polar Bear, Panda and Penguin have a fantastic chemistry and hold the show together (even if some of the side characters sometimes steal the show).  The series is still ongoing, but I’m massively behind since I stopped watching when I headed off on my travels, but I loved watching this show with the SCCSAV Comedy Hour people.

It was tough to pick just the one character from Polar Bear Cafe, but in the end I went with Penguin.  Penguin is the straight man to Panda’s selfish stupidity and Polar Bear’s puntastic sense of humour.  Penguin is most grounded of the trio, and the most high strung – he is strangely the most human of all the animal characters.

I particularly enjoyed his ongoing romantic problems with Penko – indeed the moment I picked as my favourite was the reveal that the ‘Penko’ that Penguin was romancing all this time, was actually seven different penguin girls!  And then Penguin’s love life got seven times more complicated – loved it.

polar-bear-cafe-episode-31

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 22, 2012 6:51 pm

    Seiyuu bias is redirecting me to Penguin, and my most favorite quality of his is his sarcasm. I think it’s one of the things that “grounds” him considerably, as you say, and it works well with Panda’s denseness and Polar Bears strange-but-optimistic humor.

    • December 22, 2012 7:04 pm

      It ended up being a close thing for me between Panda & Penguin. I really loved how much of a dick Panda can be, and for me seiyuu bias towards FukuJun added to his appeal, but I also really enjoy Kamiyan and his voice is a perfect match for Penguin’s neurotic personality.

  2. December 23, 2012 12:10 am

    Penguin is a fine choice for your list. For me, however, Polar Bear is second only to Mutta as the male character of the year. Successful entrepreneur, unflappable, and chicks dig him. A true role model!

Leave a Reply

