Skip to content

Characters That Made My Year – Guts (The Twelve Days of Christmas: Day Ten)

December 23, 2012

ACardcaptorChristmas

Nearly there now!  This year I made some in-roads in catching some of those older shows that I had been meaning to watch for years – mainly thanks to joining the SCCSAV Classics group.  So today, let us bask in the pure testosterone that is Guts from Berserk.

guts

Berserk was one of those classic series that I only just managed to watch this year, and I had the privilege of watching it with the SCCSAV Classics group.  The epic love triangle of Guts, Griffith and Guts’ Sword really captured my imagination – also the violence, lots and lots of violence……I do enjoy anime with plenty of blood.  I probably wouldn’t recommend watching Berserk with a large group, as we spent most of the series poking fun at the brutal bloodshed and inescapable man-love that permeate the show, so I remember it as a lot of fun; I’d imagine watching it alone would leave a rather different impression.  Although saying that, after the final episode, I don’t think I’ll forget the rather stunned silence that overtook the call!

As a character Guts is really more a force of nature that pushes the plot along – he’s not the most dynamic of characters, Griffith provided all the charisma in the show.  Still watching Guts cut a swath through his enemies with his beloved gigantic sword was never dull, and I massively enjoyed watching him.  Although saying that me being me, I’ve picked the naked water fight as my favourite moment, because it showed a lighter side of Guts, and also SHIPPING…….I have no regrets!

berserkwaterfight

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 23, 2012 2:45 pm

    Guts? MORE LIKE BUTTS AMIRITE

  2. December 28, 2012 2:13 am

    FUCK YES GUTS VOSOISIOFSEIOGIOSJGASJ GOTTA PICK THAT MANGA BACK UP AND READ IT MORE!

    • January 1, 2013 2:24 pm

      Still haven’t developed the urge to pick up the manga – sure I will someday though.

Leave a Reply

