Skip to content

Feeling the disconnect….

February 6, 2013

blog-rambleWell folks, it has definitely been a while but I am determined not to let my blog die a slow, sad death!  However in the absence of episodic posts to write and not enough reliable internet to really research any editorial/list post, I’ve found myself rather stumped for stuff to write about!  So I decided to write about that…..hahaha~!

Being disconnected from the currently airing shows has definitely been a strange feeling for me.  Since 2006 I’ve been following the seasons, following up to 30 ongoing shows at a time and I’ve been quite clued into the aniblogosphere and all its trappings since 2008/9.  However now I find myself cut adrift, clueless about what I’m missing because I daren’t venture into any blogs for fear I encounter the dreaded spoilers, as I am planning on catching up on the highlights of the seasons I miss while I’m travelling about.

I suppose I didn’t mind so much at the start, the adventure was fresh and I was excited to be out doing and seeing new things, but I’ve now been away from home for 5 months, midway through my trip, and I’m really starting to miss my routine and all my friends in the aniblogosphere.  I miss the excitement of waiting for new episodes to come out for hotly anticipated shows, I miss bitching about the terrible/disappointing shows on twitter, I miss taking the absolute piss out of those ridiculous shows and laughing till I cry on Skype with SCCSAV – basically I just miss being able to talk about my passion.

It’s amazing how it just became second nature to me to take for granted how easy it is to just log into a computer and find someone to talk to regardless of where they were.  Being constantly connected to the net was just something I took for granted until I started travelling.  You’d think in this day and age it would be easy to find free internet access, but we’ve really struggled!  When we do get access communication with home, backing up photos and searching for work/accommodation understandably takes precedence over my animanga addiction, but I can’t help but feel the withdrawal acutely!

554502_481178985271902_1607998116_n

So far on my journey I haven’t really met anyone that shares my interest in anime/manga – if I’m honest I’ve probably only made one friend that I can see myself keeping in contact with and he’s not interested in the scene at all (in fact we don’t really have much in common, but he’s good craic to talk to).  But yeah I really miss being able to log into twitter or skype whenever I want to have a chat about a particularly interesting episode/series I’ve just watched.  The kind of easy conversations about my hobby we have is something I find myself missing more with each passing week.

Australia seems to attract a type of traveller I don’t have much in common with – the Imouto has mentioned the same thing……it’s making me feel old, which is distressing since my 30th birthday is drawing closer with each passing day!  But even Imouto says she feels old in comparison to some of the kids we’ve met – and she’s 19 ahahaha~!  Still it is an irreplaceable experience to live in another country for a few months, but I know now that the Australian lifestyle is not for me – guess I’ll have to try on some other countries for size!

Travelling is lots of fun, I’d really recommend it – the poverty thing is something I could do without, guess I just got far too used to my creature comforts and lightning fast broadband back home!  But it is really amazing how little you can live on – haven’t really added much to my 2 bags in five months…..although could really do with replacing my wardrobe; think I’ve dropped a few dress sizes since I left – thank god most of the stuff I brought is meant to be loose fitting or has a belt!

So yeah, that’s my little status update thing – basically I miss all you mental anime folks and can’t wait to get talking to you again, and meet some of you when we reach the States in June!

196433_427981247258343_410454818_n

18 Comments leave one →
  1. February 6, 2013 6:00 pm

    >craic

    I have learned a new word!

    Stay safe and keep having fun out there! Hopefully I and many others will be able to see you when you make your way to the States!🙂

    • February 7, 2013 6:51 pm

      Craic is a word with many many uses & meanings – use it wisely my friend!

      Once I have a job and don’t have time to mope I’ll be a lot happier and not so poor! Plus I can start planning my American leg of the trip once I know how much cash we’ll have😄

  2. February 6, 2013 6:13 pm

    Man, I’ve been feeling the way you have for years, mostly because I didn’t know a thing about creating a blog, Twitter, or the like until recently, because I’m an idiot. Hope to see you back sometime.

    • February 7, 2013 6:55 pm

      Ah before the blog & twitter I was a co-leader on an Anime forum – back in the day~ Of course Twitter is better for instant feedback & blogging is better for exploring ideas more in-depth.

      I will definitely be back in full force around Autumn!

      • February 7, 2013 6:57 pm

        I was on forums too for about a year. It wasn’t a good year either (aka the year that Guilty Crown came).

        • February 7, 2013 7:00 pm

          Hahaha~! I was active on forums from about 2005 – pretty decent time to be on the scene really.

  3. February 6, 2013 8:08 pm

    I always knew Japan would use Gundam’s to invade Australia first

    • February 7, 2013 6:58 pm

      Certainly is a lot more room for the Gundams to manoeuvre out here.

  4. February 6, 2013 10:54 pm

    Great to hear from you. Best wishes on your journey.

    • February 7, 2013 7:01 pm

      Thanks – thought I’d better post something before I got too out of the habit of writing!

  5. February 6, 2013 11:30 pm

    We miss you, sweetheart. Don’t worry, we won’t forget you & we’ll still be here when you get back.

    • February 7, 2013 7:01 pm

      I’ll hold you to that – better not forget about me yet!

  6. February 7, 2013 12:08 am

    I like reading your silly tweets about your voyage!😀

    • February 7, 2013 7:02 pm

      At the moment they’re mostly me complaining about being jobless & hungry! LOL

  7. fathomlessblue permalink
    February 7, 2013 3:07 am

    *Meanwhile the entirety of the anisphere just stares at your holiday snaps with barely contained envy*

    Seriously though, it hasn’t been the same without your infectious giggle on Skype. I’m trying my best to be all moe & drunk, but it’s just not the same, dammit! Come back soon, y’hear!

    And hey, if you miss the writing you could always turn Caraniel’s Ramblings into a travel blog for the remainder of your trip. You wouldn’t even have to change the name. ^^

    Ps. Sooooo, how is that LotGH marathon going? ^^

    • February 7, 2013 7:09 pm

      Oh you should see some of the pictures we have! Thousands of them – the Imouto is an amateur photographer so we’re constantly snapping away. Will get the patience to upload them all to photobucket some day to make you even more jealous!

      Nice to know my incessant giggling is missed – I miss being all drunk and giggly too!

      I have another travel blog (that has also been neglected recently) for my relatives & friends at home to keep up with what we’re at….not sure if I can be bothered editing some of the entries for this blog though…

      (The LotGH thing hasn’t happened, haven’t even finished Turn A Gundam yet! – watching anime isn’t easy in a hostel, I get odd looks for my Yoko desktop wallpaper as it is!)

  8. February 7, 2013 8:12 am

    Your time at Australia sounds like a change of pace at least! I think it’s worthwhile for folks to experience different parts of the world, and to shake up their lifestyle a bit from time to time. Sorry you can’t keep up with your hobbies as much, but I hope you’ve found some other things to enjoy in the meantime… Some nice time with your sister at least? I hope? =P

    Feel free to write more about your time in Australia, if you get the chance! I know what it’s like to live in places and parts of the world that just don’t “click” with me, but I still end up finding good things to glean from the experience, at least.

    • February 7, 2013 7:16 pm

      Australia is a massive change in pace – it’s so chilled out I’m kind of at a loss what to do! Not being a massive fan of the beach or sports, and being too poor / old to indulge in the backpackers clubbing scene means there is very little else to do in the country. Plus with shitty internet access I can’t fall back on my own passion – so we’ve been pretty bored if I’m honest.

      Australia is a beautiful country though, and the people are really friendly – so I am enjoying it to a certain extent. But unlike the Otouto I haven’t fallen in love with the place and am quite ready to move on somewhere else. The Imouto has similar feelings, so we’re still getting on fairly well thankfully.

      It is a priceless experience though, would not give it up for the world, I’m just missing my routine a bit now that I’ve been away for 5 months.

Leave a Reply

