Skip to content

Autumn 2013: First Impressions – Kyokai no Kanata & Coppelion

October 3, 2013

autumnanime

So the season has started in earnest now – time to spam the blog with first impressions posts~!  First out of the blocks is KyoAni’s Kyokai no Kanata and GoHands’ Coppelion.

Kyokai no Kanata (Beyond the Boundary)

I really wish I was more excited about this first episode, but it really didn’t do much for me.  It is as wonderfully animated as you could ever hope to see from KyoAni, and it has all the things that make the studio such a fan favourite.  But for all that Kyokai no Kanata just felt rather bland – the issue is probably that while this is the first time KyoAni are tackling a “dark fantasy” series the entire setup for Kyokai no Kanata is hardly new – the same show has been done a hundred times over already.  The lead female also bugged me – she’s like an unholy amalgamation of a bunch of moe tropes – she’s just so obviously manufactured to garner sympathy that it had the opposite effect on me and I ended up not liking her much at all.   The lead male is better, but is a pretty standard KyoAni male lead in the grand scheme of things.  I did like the other girl in the club though, she seems fun.

On the positive side, the show is absolutely gorgeous and there is potential in the side characters. The animation for the OP & ED are both works of art even if the J-Pop music is a bit run-of-the-mill, and the acting is also pretty solid.  If they make the lead girl a bit more like a real person and less like some sort of moe concept then the show may prove to be pretty interesting.  As a first episode this is did the job pretty well of introducing the world, and I do like how everything seems to be fairly established right from the start – no one has been dragged into this fantastical unseen world against their will, they’re all willing participants and the supernatural is fully integrated into the world setting, and that is pretty interesting.

So I’m going to continue with Kyokai no Kanata for the time being, it has potential and is easy on the eyes – it’s worth giving it a look.

 

Coppelion

I liked this.  As a first episode it wasn’t particularly exciting since it was just a trio of schoolgirls wandering around post-apocalyptic Tokyo for 20 minutes, but I enjoyed the atmosphere and look of the show and the lead girl is actually pretty cool.  However while I did get that there is a very good reason why the girls are all teenaged, I still don’t get why they have to wear those impractically short school uniforms, be so poorly equipped for exploring a ravaged city or have to call their commanding officer Vice-Principal!  It’s a minor gripe that I can just pass off as ‘because Japan’, but it still seemed like really odd choice when the rest of the episode seems quite grounded.

Visually it sure is GoHands – beautiful backgrounds and tons of filters, Coppelion is an attractive show.  The character designs are a bit odd though, exceptionally pale with legs that never seem to end (really, with those skirts it should be a constant panty-shot,  but the girls legs don’t seem to stop!), but again this is a minor gripe.  Voice acting is great, Haruka Tomatsu in particular is excellent in the main lead, and I really liked the angela ED.

So I’ll be keeping Coppelion on as well, hopefully the action will kick up a notch next week though.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 6, 2013 1:47 pm

    I found Kyokai no Kanata to be the typical KyoAni. I want to see something special in this show, but it feels like every other series they’ve done. It just isn’t getting my hyped yet. Now Coppelion does. Filters aside, I really liked this first episode. This first episode did a great job of driving home this post apocalyptic world. I can completely understand why they chose to delay this series after Fukishima. Definitely has my excitement level rising.

    • October 8, 2013 6:48 pm

      Yeah I really should have known better than to get hyped about KyoAni doing something new – somehow they always manage to take a new genre and turn it into something very typically KyoAni! Very solid, but not exciting.
      Coppelion is shaping up to be very interesting indeed – certainly a show that I’m excited about watching weekly.

  2. October 8, 2013 6:25 pm

    Agree with you on both. Kyokai no Kanata was one of the series I was most looking forward to, but I’m starting to get tired of KyoAni brand moe, and the main character in this series pushed my tolerance level a bit too far. Think I’ll end up dropping it.

    Not much to say about Coppelion, I’m interested enough to keep it on. The creators must have missed the message that pantyshots are apparently okay again, though, judging by all the convenient censorship. 😛

    • October 8, 2013 6:51 pm

      That Mirai creature isn’t so much a character as a random blob of moe stereotypes – disappointing. I’ll probably stick it out though, I still get some entertainment out of KyoAni even if they are all rather bland in the long run.
      The lack of pantyshots in Coppelion actually confused me since those skirts are absolutely tiny & a lot of shots seemed to be going for the low pervy angle…..yet somehow the legs go on forever….creepy.

  3. October 21, 2013 4:49 am

    The only thing I really liked about Kyoukai no Kanata is the animation. It has nothing much to offer in terms of character and story, or at least that’s how I see it. But I’ll still be watching it. I mean, look at that art style and animation!

    As for Coppelion, I liked it too. But not the way you do! The lack of exposition in the pilot episode actually has a positive effect on me. I don’t know, it makes it ‘exciting’ for me, that there seems to be a lot of things that I don’t know yet, etc.

    Anyway, does wordpress support hyperlink in the comments? I have my first impressions on these titles as well. I guess I’ll just paste the url below.

    http://pageprophet.blogspot.com/2013/10/first-impression-kyoukai-no-kanata.html

    http://pageprophet.blogspot.com/2013/10/first-impression-coppelion.html

    • October 21, 2013 4:38 pm

      I’m still watching Kyokai no Kanata and still the only thing I really like about it is the animation…it’s a pity it hasn’t differentiated itself a bit more by now, but KyoAni’s philosophy seems to be “if it ain’t broke don’t fix it” and are content to stick with their beautifully animated formula. Its fine, just not all that exciting.

      My opinion of Coppelion has nosedived since the first episode – the follow up episodes were all sorts of dumb and the show is not capitalising on it’s fantastic setting. Very disappointed but will continue to stick it out in the hope something good comes out of the show – it still has potential.

Leave a Reply

