Skip to content

Autumn 2013: First Impressions – Yuushibu & Outbreak Company

October 5, 2013

autumnanimeMore awful light novel adaptations – Yuushibu and Outbreak Company.

Yuushibu (Yuusha ni Nare Nakatta Ore wa Shibushibu o Ketsui Shimashita.)

Well this was just terrible…well the first 3mins or so where pretty cool, but the rest was just offensively bad.  Yuushibu is just crammed full of cheap fanservice – wondering where all the pantyshots have disappeared to recently?  Never fear because Yuushibu has an entire season’s worth of ecchi in this one episode.  The camera is always tilted at such an angle that it peers right up the girls tiny skirts or is focused so their giant shiny boobs fill the entire screen…..I did not enjoy watching this show.

The general setup could have been fun in a Hataraku Maou-sama kind of way, but this show has taken that basic concept and crossed it with the worst kind of ecchi harem show.  Throw in those terrible character designs and you have a really cheap feeling show filled with stereotypes.  It just feels like zero effort has been put into this, right down to the fact the ED just shows the episode all over again in high speed reverse!  So cheap!  I was ready to drop this show 10 minutes in, no way am I watching any more.

Outbreak Company

You know what?  This wasn’t a disaster area and I may actually have been entertained by this episode!  Colour me shocked.  I had Outbreak Company pegged as light novel shite, and while it is full of clichés it is super aware of them and plays the tropes pretty well in this episode.  I did like the set-up – Otaku basically conscripted by the government to flog Japan’s finest animanga to this fantasy land they’ve stumbled across a portal to – it’s different while staying very familiar.

Of course how much mileage you can get out of this show will depend of if the characters are appealing, and I have to say I don’t really have high hopes there.  The girls are all moe stereotypes – on purpose – but they don’t have much depth beyond their pigeon-hole which they’d need in order to be interesting.  The male lead is also shallow as hell, and while his reactions to encountering real-life examples of the stuff of his dreams is amusing, it could get old quick.  I’m also not a massive fan of the washed out pastel artstyle, it’s okay but not really that appealing to me.  I’ll be giving it another episode or two to see if it goes anywhere, but don’t think I’ll be sticking Outbreak Company out myself.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 8, 2013 5:43 pm

    They must have relaxed some sort of law relating to pantyshots in anime, since they really are back with a vengeance this season! Yuushibu was by far the worst offender, I was actually shocked and appalled seeing so many after so long.😯

    Glad it wasn’t just me that enjoyed Outbreak Company, I find the whole ‘otaku in a strange world’ setting reminiscent of Ixion Saga DT. I agree it could get old very quickly, though, so I’ll be waiting to see more of what the season has to offer before picking it up.

    • October 8, 2013 6:45 pm

      It really is rather surprising just how much random ecchi fanservice is coming out this season – there must have been a change in the legislation, can’t imagine such a sudden shift happening otherwise.
      Outbreak Company entertained me, but I don’t think I’ll get more than a few episodes out of it. Still nice to see a smidgeon of effort put into light novel shite.

Leave a Reply

