Skip to content

Autumn 2013: First Impressions – NouCome & Valvrave S2

October 11, 2013

autumnanimeNearly done thank the gods!  Today we have some ridiculous shows – Ore no Nounai Sentakushi ga, Gakuen Love Come o Zenryoku de Jama Shite (NouCome) and Valvrave The Liberator S2.

Ore no Nounai Sentakushi ga, Gakuen Love Come o Zenryoku de Jama Shite (NouCome)

Okay I laughed.  I laughed quite a lot.  NouCome is utterly unrepentant in it’s ridiculousness and was genuinely hilarious at points – I actually had a lot of fun watching this which stunned me a bit since I was fully prepared to completely write it off as light novel shite!  High class entertainment this is not, but the show doesn’t pretend to be anything other than a fanservice heavy show full of stereotypes.  However it does put effort into making the comedy punchy and fairly well written, and it’s so blatant in its pandering I couldn’t actually get annoyed with it!  The concept of the male lead being cursed with this mental multiple choice affliction that forces him to choose between two rather dreadful and/or embarrassing acts, is kinda fun and quirky – even if it only exists to get Protag-kun into pervy situations, and it is fairly well presented.  Yeah, I enjoyed this first episode despite myself.

The production is actually pretty solid for this type of show, the whole random opening sequence portraying great decisions throughout history was hilarious, and the OP is ridiculous with all its handstands.  But the animation in general is quite snappy with pretty good direction.  The voice acting is also excellent with good chemistry.  So yeah I had fun with Noucome, but doubt I’ll last the entire season with it – will keep on until I get bored.

Valvrave The Liberator S2

Ah Valvrave, you beautiful disaster you.  I really enjoy how awful Valvrave is and this episode reminded me why.  Picking up right after the cliffhanger ending of S1, we finish that fight and timeskip right into s’life randomness, new outfits, vampiric fits and exposition.  I honestly don’t really know what went on plot wise, but I can tell you I laughed a lot.  Mystical vampire mecha anime with elements of terrible harem and a large dollop of BL ship teasing, I really can’t help but enjoy watching this trainwreck – it has everything that is terrible about Stupid Sunrise Mecha shows.  That being said I just find watching all those colourful explosions, pretty mecha and some of the characters (L-Elf, A-Drei) endlessly fun to watch so I’m sticking this out to end – I am aware I am one of the few.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. gedata permalink
    October 11, 2013 9:32 pm

    The start of Valvrave clicked with me a lot better then all of the first season. The idea that a mech can be powered via assaulting/raping people was too much. That and at least there not in high school anymore

    • October 13, 2013 12:22 pm

      I am glad they’ve finally given some sort of reason for the assault/rape element….about time they tried to handwave that in some way. The move away from the strict high school setting is definitely a good thing too….but I’m fairly certain there will still be high school hijinks throughout this second season.

  2. Fellow permalink
    October 11, 2013 11:12 pm

    Valvrave isn’t really a disaster, which would imply it is being accidentally likt this.

    No, it’s a choreographed ridiculous soap opera with self-mocking and in-jokes.

    The day you understand that, you’ll realize why the term “trainwreck” has no meaning.

    Also, you say it’s harem? More like a love triangle, at most.

    • October 13, 2013 12:29 pm

      Oh no Valvrave definitely takes itself seriously at times – there is an element of poking fun at itself, but most of the show is played straight, which is what makes it hilarious to me. Other mecha shows that have gotten the levity right would be things like Aquarion Evol & Majestic Prince – the writing in Valvrave is no where near that standard – which is why I view it as a trainwreck.

      There is definitely a harem set up for Haruto – Shoko, Saki, L-Elf and Takahi have all set off flags – of course some get more flags than others, but that is fairly normal in a harem set-up.

  3. October 13, 2013 11:59 am

    I almost dreaded starting this second season of Valvrave, but once I started watching I was remeinded why I kept watching in the first place. You just end up settling into just how ridiculous and NOT well thought out this story is, and learn to accept the madness.

    • October 13, 2013 12:30 pm

      The show just feels like a melting pot of cool ideas that just don’t seem to gel together – it’s ambitious, but poorly planned which makes it ridiculous amounts of fun to watch crash. I enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

