Skip to content

Characters that made my year – HE☆VENS (The Twelve Days of Christmas: Day One)

December 14, 2013

12daysofchristmasSo here we go again, this is the fourth year (god, really!??) I’m participating in the Twelve Days of Anime, an event were anibloggers decide to bombard you, our beloved readers, with moments we feel are the most memorable of the past year – opinions and spoilers abound~!  I have my own little twist on the concept, were I select stand-out characters over single moments, because I have a terrible memory and find characters easier to remember.

This year has been an odd one for me, I was abroad until August so I didn’t watch nearly as many shows as I normally do this year…..still watched a lot though, because this is me we’re talking about.

Anyway lets get started (hope to god I can keep up with these posts); on this first day of Christmas let us bask in the blue fires of Heaven’s Gate, with HE☆VENS from Uta no Prince-sama: Maji Love 2000%

Heavens - UtaPriI love UtaPri.  Love it I tell you!  The show is exactly what I want from a multi-coloured bishie fluff series – with the added bonus of all that awesome cheesy J-Pop sung by some of my favourite seiyuu.  This season in addition to adding Cecil the magical cat from the previous season to the main cast, we got our antagonist boyband HE☆VENS who only show up towards the end to be absolute pricks and upstage Starish with their polished performances and manager that rivals SHINING SAOTOME~! in the eccentric stakes.

To be honest I don’t really like HE☆VENS all that much as characters (which I know kind of goes against the whole point of this series of posts) but my god do they put on a good show.  The blue fire! The choreography! The horribly catchy song! THE FECKING DRAGON!  I loved it!  So yes, episode 12 of UtaPri S2 and Heaven’s Gate is my first offering for these twelve days – you are welcome.

UtaPri heavens ep12

One Comment leave one →
  1. A Day Without Me permalink
    December 22, 2013 4:12 pm

    For an American, having a song named ‘Heaven’s Gate’ just feels so weird, because that was the name of a cult that committed collective suicide back in the 90s when Hale-Bopp went by Earth.

Leave a Reply

