Skip to content

First Impressions: Winter 2014 – SoniAni, Wake up, Girls! and Engaged to the Unknown

January 12, 2014

winter anime smallRight some stuff I couldn’t care less about now – SoniAni: Super Sonico The Animation, Wake up, Girls! and Engaged to the Unknown.

SoniAni: Super Sonico The Animation

I sat glazed eyed throughout this exercise in banality.  Seriously what the feck is the point to this show?  Super Sonico doesn’t even feel like a character, she’s just a check-list of hobbies and moe traits without the personality needed to connect it all together.  There was absolutely no need for this to be a full length show – shorts would have sufficed since this episode was so disjointed it felt like a load of shorts strung together anyway.

Super Sonico sleeps in & feeds her freaky looking cats.  Super Sonico goes to college and studies marine biology for some reason.  Super Sonico goes to work as a gravure model and prances about in her teeny weeny bikini.  Super Sonico goes to work another job as a waitress in a local restaurant were everyone worships the ground she walks on.  Super Sonico goes to yet another job in a K-ON! tribute band and freaks the public out with her creepy CG dance routines……….WHAT WAS THE POINT!?

Watching this was a massive waste of time – dropped.

Wake Up, Girls!

Took me a few goes but I finally managed to sit through all 1.5hrs of this crap.  The Seven Idols movie is required viewing for understanding the first TV episode……which was annoying, thought I would get away with just watching 30mins of generic idol crap, but it was not to be.  Wake Up, Girls was boring.  There is absolutely nothing of note about the show, it is as bog standard as idol shows go and doesn’t even have bright colours or strong personalities to save the viewer from mind numbing boredom.

Granted I am not a fan of idol shows anyway – I have yet to finish one of them since I usually get bored within a few episodes, so I’m hardly the target audience for this series.  Saying that I still can’t see much merit in the show since all the girls are dull as dishwater with a colour palate to match.  The dancing was okay in the short concert sequence….until they all started flashing their knickers for no apparent reason.  Yeah, I’ve dropped this unsurprisingly.

Engaged to the Unknown (Mikakunin de Shinkaikei)

I only watched this this morning and I’ve already forgotten most of it.  Something about surprise fiancé and loli sister-in-law to be moving into girls house with very little fuss made.  Oh and the older sister being a massive lolicon.  And that is about it.  Engaged to the Unknown doesn’t really have much of an individual personality to make it stand out from the hundred similar shows.  The loli was the most memorable character since she tries so hard to act all grown up and like a stereotypical bossy sister-in-law.  But that’s about all I can really say about the show.

Nothing else really stood out.  The acting is decent, the animation is fine.  It’s all very middle of the road and passable without being remarkable or memorable – I don’t have time for just okay, so dropped.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. January 12, 2014 5:21 pm

    You truly have the patience of a saint! I don’t think I would have made it through any one of these shows, and have no intention to try. Just the picture to Engaged to the Unknown was enough for me to drop it. Moe Moe Ugyuu! :barf:

    • January 12, 2014 5:25 pm

      I watch crap so you don’t have to~!

      • higgsbosoff permalink
        January 13, 2014 2:39 pm

        You truly are a hero😥.

        Anyway, seriously… this season sucks. I don’t know which one is worse, if this or last year’s, when the only show I managed to watch was Maoyuu Maou Yuusha (and by the end I was bored to tears by it).

        • January 13, 2014 7:54 pm

          Winter seasons are rarely great. I was optimistic going into this one simply due to the sheer volume of shows, but the vast majority is pretty bland and boring – disappointing.

        • higgsbosoff permalink
          January 13, 2014 8:19 pm

          True. Summer seasons have such a bad name too, though, and yet this year Summer was stellar. I guess this is just Karma going round.

        • January 13, 2014 8:31 pm

          Yeah equinox seasons are traditionally smaller and less interesting – studio’s tend to keep their flagship shows until Spring & Autumn.

          There are some dhows with potential this season so we can’t complain too much really.

  2. January 13, 2014 11:13 am

    I’m giving Wake Up, Girls! one more episode before I drop it – mostly I spent this first episode trying not to go to sleep. And while I’m aware that the movie in intended to be seen before the series, I just can’t be bothered with that. I guess I only watched the first episode at all because although I’m not a fan at all of idol shows, I was hoping that this series would contribute some real and intelligent thought or insight into Japan’s idol industry. Which of course it still might, but I doubt I’ll have the motivation to stick around long enough to find out.
    (Also, that concert scene was just plain bewildering to me. All earlier scenes seemed blessedly free of fanservice, and then suddenly we get 10 or so knicker shots all at once for no apparent reason. Then it’s back to being fanservice-free again for the rest of the episode. It felt strangely abrupt.)

    • January 13, 2014 7:58 pm

      Wake Up, Girls! does seem to be a more serious take on idols compared to the likes of Symphogear, Idolm@ster or AKB0048, but being more serious in this case just meant being an absolute bore to watch unfortunately. An idol show needs characters with actual personality to propel it – these girls are just meh.

      The sudden panty-flashing threw me as well given how reserved the show had been up to then, and the relatively normal length skirts the girls were wearing. Guess they had a quota or something??

      Good luck to you for watching more – I think after 1.5hrs I’ve served my time!

Leave a Reply

