Skip to content

The Liebster Awards (or another blatant filler post)

January 25, 2014

liebster

Okay so since I suddenly seem to have nothing to write about, I now have the time to address my two Liebster Award nominations from the lovely Vrai and The Animeman.  I am exceptionally flattered to have received two separate nominations for this award to highlight smaller blogs, and I have been trying to find time to address the 22 questions given to me….so in a way it is a good thing I now have nothing to blog….right?

The rules are:

The Liebster Award is intended to give some exposure to small blogs with less than 200 followers. The rules are as follows:

1. Link back to the blogger who nominated you

2. Answer the 11 questions given to you by the blogger who nominated you

3. Nominate 11 other bloggers with less than 200 followers

4. Go to the blogs you nominated and notify them of your nomination

5. Give your nominees 11 questions to answer.

I’m going to ignore the nomination part because I don’t follow enough small blogs to nominate any that haven’t already been nominated….which is something I should probably remedy, but I don’t have time to read any more blogs than those I’m currently subscribed to.

My 11 questions from Vrai of Fashionable Tinfoil Accessories

1. How did your blog get its name?
Boring story of epic unoriginality.  My online handle is Caraniel and I am given to rambling on and on about something I’m particularly interested in….so Caraniel’s Ramblings.  Yes I know, what a dull story, but my blog was originally just an archive of reviews I wrote for a forum, I didn’t give it much thought!

2. Would you rather your blog have a bunch of silent readers or a small but involved community? Why?
Small but involved community.  It is sort of what I have at the moment anyway – a handful of people who make the effort to comment and engage on some topics.  I don’t mind the lurkers because I am one of those creatures myself (I am absolutely horrible at getting round to commenting on other peoples blogs).  Just having any sort of audience for my writing is great to be honest.

3. Are text posts a matter of preference or convenience? Have you ever thought about a video style?
I don’t have the time or patience to try a different blog format.  I’m much more articulate in writing anyway – if you’ve ever heard me on any podcast’s you’ll know I have major issues with my nervous giggling.  Video is a no-go since I’m not all that comfortable with putting my actual face out there on the internet – I’m not that confident I could deal with the inevitable negative comments.

4. Is your favourite author now the same as it was ten years ago? Five?
Certainly my favourite genre has remained unchanged for the majority of my life even if the authors change – I’m a massive fantasy fan.  From Narnia and His Dark Materials, to Harry Potter, Lord of the Rings and Game of Thrones – I gravitate to these large immersive worlds spanning multiple books.

5. What movie or show are you most looking forward to next year?
From anime I’m massively looking forward to the next Jojo’s Bizarre Adventure series, in live action – roll on Game of Thrones S4.

8-2

6. What do you look for when picking a new series to watch?
Key things like genre, artstyle, source material, director, seiyuu and studio.  If a new show has any random combination of things I like, I’m sure to be excited about it.

7. You have one consequence-free day. What do you do?
Fix the Euro-millions lottery – my god do I ever need money right now!  I’d settle all my debts and those of my family/friends, set aside enough to live comfortably for the rest of my days and give the rest to charity.  Life would be so much easier without worrying about money…..

8. Who’s your favorite director?
I don’t think I have just one.  Miyazaki is the obvious choice, but I also really enjoy a lot of Shinbo’s stuff, Shinichiro Watanabe and Satoshi Kon of course, Testsuro Araki’s bombastic style also appeals to me as does Shinkai’s melancholic feel……there are quite a lot of directors I really enjoy.

9. Have you ever realized your love for something was mostly not-too-sturdy nostalgia…but only halfway through trying to show it to someone else?
I don’t think I’ve ever experienced it midway through showing it someone else, but I am certainly aware that some of my favourite shows aren’t actually all that good.  Gundam Wing is probably the best example – I’ve watched that show so many times and still adore it, even if it is massively flawed.

10. What’s the worst spinoff or adaptation of something you really love?
The Tsubasa Chronicle TV series was pretty woeful, and the Bakuman anime kind of sapped all the love I had for the manga away with its blandness, oh and the second half of the Ao no Exorist anime was awful!  I’d probably say Dragonball GT though since I flat out refuse to watch that on principle.

11. What do you know about Lupin III?
I have very limited experience with Monkey Punch’s massive Lupin III franchise – it mainly restricted to The Castle of Cagliostro (brilliant film) and The Woman Called Fujiko Mine anime, which I also really enjoyed.  On day I should really dive further into that franchise.

642740

My 11 questions from The Animeman

1. If you could be one anime character for a day, who would you be and why?
Obvious answer klaxon – Yuuko Ichihara from xxxHOLiC.  My obsession with her is well documented, but it is mainly because I find Yuuko to be an endlessly fascinating character.  And dear lord do I ever want that woman’s wardrobe!

2. What’s the most enjoyable part of blogging?
I find it tremendously satisfying to sit and write about something I’ve enjoyed, and it is equally cathartic to have a nice rant about something that irritated me.  I don’t have any alternate outlet for this passion of mine – none of my friends are anime fans, no one around me really understands how I can get so immersed into this strange hobby of mine.  Blogging give me some outlet and contact with other anime fans who actually get what I’m talking about.  It is priceless.

3. What is your biggest passion in life?
Aside from anime, I’m rather obsessed with sparkly things.  I have quite a large jewellery collection that is constantly growing.  I blame my mother.

4. What kind of music do you listen to?
I have quite eclectic taste.  In addition to rather large amount of anisongs I have on my iPod, there’s plenty of dance, indie, rock and classical stuff on there.

5. If you could go to any country in the world, where would you go and why?
I want to go back to Japan – the two weeks I spent there last year were nowhere near long enough to see everything I wanted to.  Plus I’d bring more money to buy stuff.

anime-104785 (920x183)

6. Giraffes or Polar Bears?
Polar Bears…..Polar Bear Café is probably why.

7. Name three people that inspire you.
My mother, JRR Tolkien and JK Rowling

8. If you could only eat one food for the rest of your life, what would it be and why?
Chocolate.  Because it is chocolate.

9. Name 5 things you can’t live without.
The internet & chocolate were the big things I discovered I couldn’t cope without while travelling.  Everything else is pretty much bonus material…..except for things like oxygen, clothing and a home.

10. If you were in an RPG, what occupation would you be?
I have never played an RPG so I don’t actually know what unique occupations there are….I’d like something different though like wizardry or alchemy.

11. Where do you see yourself in 10 years?
God knows, I’m trying not to think about life at 40 to be perfectly honest.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

So there you have it – yet more random information about Cara…..now I need to find something to write about next week…….hmmmm.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 25, 2014 5:20 pm

    Just to say something, I never thought that anime is a weird hobby. There are people who like to watch idol dramas, there are people who like to game, there are people who like to paint. There is nothing weird about watching Anime. People are entitled to like what they like. I think people who steal other people’s underwear are weirder.

    • January 27, 2014 8:18 pm

      I personally have never thought it odd either – but a lot of people I know do think it is a strange hobby for a 30yr old woman to have.

      • January 28, 2014 12:00 am

        Hahahah. Well, its a different form that’s all. People really should stop pretending to be adult and reject them.

  2. January 26, 2014 1:51 am

    So glad you finally got a chance to answer them! (And who wouldn’t want to be Yuuko, really. Such a wonderful character). I feel your pain on the Tsubasa anime…has to be one of the most atrocious adaptations of a Thing I Like ever. And Bic Mignogna did not help things.
    Of course, I can’t help but geek out about the last one a bit (a lot). Confession no one asked for: I started thinking about a blog specifically so that I would one day have a place to analyze Oscar (an often unplumbed well of complexity I adore). And of course, if you ever want a guiding hand re: Lupin, I’m always more than happy to assist.
    Looking forward to whatever’s coming in the future.

    • January 27, 2014 8:24 pm

      I remember being so excited about the Tsubasa Chronicle anime because I was so enamoured of the manga – but yeah…that was a shambles and has probably contributed to my irrational hatred of Bee Train ever since. Great soundtrack though!

      I know where to turn whenever I finally feel up to dipping into Lupin III!

      • January 28, 2014 12:53 am

        I think we CLAMP fans can all feel safely ensconsed in our hatred of Bee Train, really. Like some kind of survivor bond.

Leave a Reply

