Skip to content

First Impressions: Spring 2014 – Bokura wa Minna Kawaisou, Fairy Tail 2 and Selector Infected WIXOSS

April 5, 2014

springsmlMoving swiftly on to the mixed bag of Bokura wa Minna Kawaisou, Fairy Tail 2 and Selector Infected WIXOSS.

Bokura wa Minna Kawaisou (The Kawai Complex Guide to Manors and Hostel Behaviour)

The only thing this has going for it is that the production is quite nice – but it is Brains Base so that was to be expected.  Otherwise this show has very little going for it.  It is populated by romcom clichés and the writing isn’t exactly sparkling with wit.  When the sexy OL with a drinking problem who can’t get married showed up I was more than ready to quit – that is an archetype I am more than bored of.  Kawaisou isn’t actively bad, it just lacks any spark to make it different from the hundreds of similar shows, and I am truly burnt out on this genre.

Fairy Tail 2

Direct continuation and it gets stuck right into the story again – no excessive recapping here!  Pretty spoiler-tastic cold opening and OP though – but that’s fairly standard for shounen series for some annoying reason.  Pretty much a return to form, but there are some animation changes – the character designs have been further simplified for one.  Nothing glaringly bad though and that wonderful background music is back in force!

Glad to have Fairy Tail back, it is a fun show.

Selector Infected WIXOSS

This was a fairly interesting start – although I did the feeling that it was a mash-up of a lot of different shows.  There is the obvious Yu Gi Oh factor with it being a card game show, but the explanation for the game and actual set up gave me some Rozen Maiden, [C], Black Rock Shooter and Angelic Layer vibes.  There is a nice ominous atmosphere building with the sense that there is going to be a world of suffering in the future for the girls chosen as Selectors.  It isn’t particularly subtle (that dream sequence was pretty much pure nightmare fuel), and the girls aren’t exactly the most interesting of characters (also – incest……why!?), but I am willing to give it another few episodes.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 5, 2014 8:52 pm

    Seems you were better able to see Bokura wa Minna Kawaisou’s good points than me – I though the production seemed below average, and that was the least of its problems. Really had to force myself to keep watching to the end.😕

    WIXOSS is currently bringing up the rear of my small Spring ‘watching’ list. The first ep was nothing special, but the potential for things to get a lot darker convinced me to give it a go.

    • April 6, 2014 9:45 pm

      I thought the production was pretty good – some nice scene composition and use of colour going on. I didn’t really think there was much wrong with the show, just that it was painfully dull and uninspired. The concept could have worked if it had a sparky script and engaging characters, but everything was so generic and overdone that there wasn’t much to hold the attention. Still didn’t find it awful though.

      WIXOSS has enough interesting elements that I’m willing to give it a chance – hopefully it goes all out with the darker elements.

  2. April 6, 2014 3:01 am

    Bokura wa Minna Kawaisou = Freaking hilarious and MIND BLOWING artwork it should be a fun “romance” for the season since Golden Time and Nagi no Asukara xD

    Fairy Tail 2 = I read the manga and I can only say it makes my head hurt because of the ongoing use of friendship power up and over powered main characters but I am a bit happy to see it return and that epic OST❤

    Selector Infected WIXOSS = Yeah Angelic Layer with Higurashi Character designs! I fully expect them to knock out some crazy facial expressions when things start getting real, but I get the feeling the wish portion of the series will end in a few bad endings for some of the main characters and what happens when the girls lose all their matches? I could see them dying LOL

    • April 6, 2014 9:48 pm

      I don’t think I laughed once at Kawaisou……..will be holding out for something else to fill the romcom shaped hole in my watching list.

      Fairy Tail is super simplistic, it sticks true to its core theme of THE POWER OF FRIENDSHIP right to the bitter end. I enjoy it, it’s pretty lighthearted and fun for the most part. And I love that glorious OST to bits!

      If WIXOSS goes all out in its suffering it may be an interesting show – depends on how Okada proceeds I suppose.

  3. higgsbosoff permalink
    April 6, 2014 10:16 am

    “Incest… why?” was the exact question I asked myself too about Wixoss. I really hope that the play it on the “dark” angle – namely, the girl gets in trouble for trying to pursue this wish and it karmically backfires on her (which is also slightly creepy because, y’know, forcing someone to love you back with magic is kinda unethical). That would be a nice subversion of the usual incest tropes, at least.

    • April 6, 2014 9:57 pm

      That would be nice to see – I really do hope it goes all out with the psychological suffering, otherwise it will be just another cardgame show.

Leave a Reply

