Skip to content

First Impressions: Spring 2014 – Jojo’s Bizarre Adventure: Stardust Crusaders, Mushishi: Zoku-hen and Blade & Soul

April 5, 2014

springsmlOkay!  Let’s get Spring started then – and we’re starting with a bang because there was no hanging around waiting for the most hyped sequels to come out.  Time to get excited about Jojo’s Bizarre Adventure: Stardust Crusaders and Mushishi: Zoku-hen…….and Blade & Soul I suppose.

Jojo’s Bizarre Adventure: Stardust Crusaders

This was glorious – I am so fecking excited for the rest of the series.  I’ve somehow managed to be remain completely unspoiled for much of JBA and will be trying my best to stay that way in order to get the full impact of the inevitable ridiculous twists.  Stardust Crusaders looks set to link all three Jojo’s together with the return of Dio – the antagonist of Phantom Blood and active input of the 2nd Jojo, Joseph from Battle Tendancy; something I’m very excited about – Grandpa Joseph seems to have lost none of his energy or love of grandstanding as he’s aged and Dio has always been a ton of fun.  The new Jojo is a stroppy 17 year old pumped up on steroids and with psychic powers he can’t quite control yet – he’s pretty cool.  I’m really interested in this new take on the powers in JBA – these Stands have the potential to be all kinds of amazing and very varied going by the difference between Grandpa Joseph’s and his Egyptian friend’s.

The production values have improved slightly, not massively as there is still some rather dodgy looking CGI, but david production more than make up for that with their love of colours and framing – yeap, Jojo is looking as fantastic as ever.  Voice acting is also brilliant as ever, new Jojo is voiced by Daisuke Ono, who is on excellent growly form.

I am so very excited for this series!

Mushishi: Zoku-hen

Perfect.  If you’re new to Mushishi this first episode basically tells you what you’ve been missing – poignant, self contained stories told exceptionally well.  I’m not a fan of episodic shows, but Mushishi has always been one of the exceptions to that – mainly because it has this edge of the extraordinary to it and the brilliant atmosphere never fails to suck me in.

The animation style hasn’t changed much, but the beautiful backgrounds look even crisper now.  I also love the new OP and ED – wonderful pieces.  I am so thrilled to be watching another season of Mushishi!

Blade & Soul

Wow this was boring.  I know I was ready to quit after 10mins.  For the sake of fairness I actually watched this first – because lets be honest, everything is going to look crap after watching Jojo & Mushishi!  But yeah, for a show full of big breasted, scantily clad women fighting, this sure was boring.  The main character is completely devoid of personality, the only reason you’re going to pay any attention to her is because she spends quite a lot of time naked and is exceptionally good at killing people.

The animation is pretty janky too – the really bad CG flags actually made me laugh, and for a first episode there was quite a few off model shots.  Probably one for the Queens Blade crowd, but will probably bore them too.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Zero permalink
    April 5, 2014 7:46 pm

    I honestly admire your willpower for watching Blade first when the Mushishi-Jojo combo was just sitting there>_> Kinda wish these two were on different days though, choosing between them every week is going to be hard!

    • April 6, 2014 9:34 pm

      I have fantastic willpower – my determination to sample at least the first episode of everything is pretty ridiculous……plus I knew if I got through the crap the wonderful Jojo-shi combo was waiting for me!

      Mood whiplash is going to be a problem on Fridays!

  2. April 5, 2014 9:03 pm

    Jojo’s was amazing. I’m vaguely familiar with the current set of characters, having watched the first OVA series, but that was a confusing mess, presumably aimed at existing fans of the manga – this single episode offered more introduction to the cast and setting than the OVA bothered to provide.😛

    I share your dislike of episodic series… unfortunately, after marathoning the first series of Mushishi at your suggestion/demand, I found it to be no exception. Dropped for now.

    *is part of the Queen’s Blade crowd, will be keeping on Blade & Soul*

    • April 6, 2014 9:38 pm

      I’m completely fresh to Stardust Crusaders and I thought this was an excellent intro episode – info-dumped while still being fantastically entertaining.

      Y-you didn’t like Mushishi? I have to say I am surprised, it is definitely one of the very finest shows in its genre, I adore it!

      How on earth can you stand the derpy animation in Blade & Soul!? Also I think the crappy CG flags have more personality than the main character!

  3. April 5, 2014 11:53 pm

    I only watched one episode of Mushishi (which I did enjoy), so I was thinking of not trying with the new season, but if it is highly episodic, I might be able to jump in and try it out.

    • April 6, 2014 9:40 pm

      Mushishi is extremely episodic – most episodes are completely self-contained stories, a few may span 2-3 episodes, but most are introduced and concluded in a single episode. I watched the first season over a span of 2 months – it is definitely a series you can dip in and out of when the mood strikes you.

  4. April 6, 2014 2:39 am

    Jojo p3= Grandpa Joseph!! Hell ya MORE JOJOOOOOOOOOOOOO!! and DIOOOOOOOOOOOO!!

    Blade and Soul = Not sure if it will be queens blade because it wasn’t full blown fanservice, but of course it isn’t that great either hahah

    • April 6, 2014 9:41 pm

      I can’t wait for more Dio……I am super excited!

      Blade & Soul is a poor man’s Queen’s Blade – the animation is crap and the fanservice isn’t as exploitative. Disappointing all round.

Leave a Reply

