Skip to content

First Impressions: Spring 2014 – Mahouka, Dragonar Academy and Brynhildr in the Darkness

April 7, 2014

springsmlNext up is some stuff that isn’t really my kind of thing on the best of days – Mahouka Koukou no Rettousei, Dragonar Academy and Brynhildr in the Darkness.

Mahouka Koukou no Rettousei (The Irregular at Magical High School)

Or the adventures of Practically Perfect in Every Way Onii-san.  I know there is a lot of chatter about how the MC-kun in LN adaptations is ludicrously perfect, but Perfect Onii-san in Mahouka takes that to new ridiculous heights!  And yet, I don’t hate him……he’s just so fecking suave and perfect – I think it is Nakamura’s dulcet tones working their magic on me.  In general Mahouka doesn’t do anything major to make me hate it, this was a pretty bog standard opening episode for a magical high school show.  The boring world building info-dump at the start was a bit snore inducing, and the hilarious class system in effect is pretty ridiculous, but otherwise this was a fairly competent intro episode.  Even the incest overtones aren’t too squicky since there are enough hints that they aren’t actually blood related siblings.

Production is good – I’m fascinated by the uniforms, but the character designs themselves are so painfully generic it has me yearning for some ridiculous multi-coloured hair just to make things a bit more interesting to look at.

I don’t want to watch this.  I know it is going to piss me off at some stage, this type of show always does, but damn if I’m not still curious about how things proceed….I’m going to end up dropping this every week aren’t I?

Dragonar Academy

Nothing of worth here, although given the loli dragon only shows up in the last minute and isn’t conscious yet, it is hard to say just how annoying she’s going to be.  I’m going out on a limb here and saying very annoying just based on her character design and the OP.  Painfully standard episode which played out like a genderbent Zero no Tsukaima for the most part……with added headbutting dragons.

Production is nothing special – character designs are horrible for the most part…….although there is a wide spectrum of boob sizes on offer.  There is nothing for me here, dropped.

Brynhildr in the Darkness

I actually struggled to finish this episode as everything rubbed me the wrong way.  MC-kun is a whiny, snobby little git who looks down on main girl because he’s a bit smarter than her, while also being a complete idiot who purposely ignores her warnings to test out her precognitive abilities at the risk of his own life.  In general this is just poorly written magical girlfriend meh-ness – I was hoping for a bit more gore given this is from the Elfen Lied author, but I was disappointed on that front apart from a brief flashback.

Production isn’t terrible, but it’s all very generic looking – there is quite literally nothing to mark this show out as different from the masses of similar shows.  Dropped.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2014 12:33 am

    I can’t help but be squicked out by the blatant incest tones in Mahouka Koukou no Rettousei – and regardless of whether they turn out to be blood-related or not, I just know that the dynamic will continue to bug me, primarily because of how this is yet another protective older brother/moe younger sister relationship to add to the ever-growing pile in anime. That said, I think it was a perfectly decent first episode, and like you, those uniforms struck me as pretty cool. Also, some great fight choreography there, which is clearly backed up by some stunning visuals. If I ranked anime by animation alone, then Mahouka Koukou no Rettousei would certainly be among the best of the season.

    • April 10, 2014 6:20 pm

      I think I’m starting to get immune to incest in anime…..which in itself is worrying.

      Aside from the extremely generic designs I have zero complaints about the quality of the animation in Mahouka – definitely has a bit of budget anyway.

  2. A Day Without Me permalink
    April 7, 2014 3:42 am

    I think it just flat-out helps that onii-sama isn’t an asshole. Its a bit sad that this counts for so much, but it really does – and it isn’t even a matter of this being an informed attribute, we actively witness him being a decent, even quite nice, human being. If I’m gonna watch a guy inevitably have girls swooning over him he can at least be badass AND nice.

    • April 10, 2014 6:23 pm

      There is that – unusual to have an MC-kun who isn’t a doormat, kicks ass and is actually a decent person……Perfect Onii-san is so perfect!❤

  3. April 7, 2014 9:31 am

    Yeah, Mahouka had a promising start. I can sort of see the incest aspect being bothersome for some, I think I’ve just developed a certain numbness to it over the years. Past that, there’s a lot of good to be said for the first episode.

    • April 10, 2014 6:24 pm

      Yeah I’m rather indifferent to the incest now – it is just so common in anime lately.

Leave a Reply

