Skip to content

First Impressions: Spring 2014 – Soredemo Sekai wa Utsukushii, Baby Steps and Dragon Ball Kai: Majin-Buu Saga

April 8, 2014

springsmlTime for some stuff with a kind of 90s vibe….and DBZ – Soredemo Sekai wa Utsukushii, Baby Steps and Dragon Ball Kai: Majin-Buu Saga.

Soredemo Sekai wa Utsukushii

So this was actually a pretty decent first episode, but it is hard to judge how this will turn out in the long run, reason being that the other main character only shows up in the last minute of the episode. This being shoujo the entire point of the series will be the relationship between our likeable Princess Nike and the Sun King – but since this first episode doesn’t give us more than a glimpse of the King (although the ED does show us his arse), I have no clue if this is a pairing I’m going to like.

I’m certainly interested in watching a few more episodes before I make any decisions, it has been a while since I watched this kind of shoujo series and Soredemo definitely does feel a bit more dated than stuff that has been coming out lately. Which isn’t a bad thing, I quite liked 90s shoujo! Hoping that Nike stays grounded and interesting rather than turning into a blushing mess of a shoujo heroine.

Baby Steps

Now this wasn’t bad, but I just couldn’t muster much enthusiasm for it. Baby Steps is very standard feeling sports show. There is lots to appreciate here, like the fact that the tennis club our characters are members of isn’t their school one but rather an independent club with a wide spectrum of ages participating, or the fact that the girl isn’t just there for window decoration – she’s talented, driven and honestly aiming to go pro.

Yes there is some very promising things on offer on the character and setting front, but that doesn’t really distract me from the fact that there isn’t really much flair in the direction or production – it’s boring to look at. The very dated character designs don’t really help – what on earth is going on with the main character’s hair?? That is the thinnest Mohawk thing ever! And his friends nose – it looks like a sausage! The actual tennis animation is good, but that’s not really enough to make me want to watch more of this.

Promising sports series, but as I already suspected Haikyuu appeals to me much more in terms of characters and aesthetics. Dropped.

Dragon Ball Kai: Majin-Buu Saga

Oh god we’re actually getting The Great Saiyaman arc……I’m kinda tempted to skip these episodes. However I know I won’t because I love the characters too much, even if this arc is fecking painful.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 9, 2014 12:39 am

    Soredemo feels a bit dated to me as well, the manga felt like something from the early/mid-2000s but the anime has a distinctly 90s vibe to it, I feel like I saw someone say that the director did Ceres Celestial Legend and hasn’t made anything really spectacular recently so that could be it….

    • April 10, 2014 6:18 pm

      I’m entirely unsurprised that Soredemo has the director of Fushigi Yuugi & Ceres working on it – has that sort of feel to it.

  2. A Day Without Me permalink
    April 10, 2014 11:59 pm

    So SPOILERS but the Sun King is a shouta ad what I’ve read of the manga doesn’t bother with that direction at all which is good since shouta ewwww

Leave a Reply

