Skip to content

First Impressions: Summer 2014 – Gekkan Shoujo Nozaki-kun, Sabagebu! and Re:_Hamatora

July 8, 2014

summerbanToday lets look at shoujo clichés, survival games and superpowers – Gekkan Shoujo Nozaki-kun, Sabagebu! and Re:_Hamatora.

Gekkan Shoujo Nozaki-kun

You know what?  This wasn’t that bad!  That is mainly thanks to it poking fun at shoujo cliché’s rather than playing them straight, and while I’m not sure how long they can keep doing that before running out of steam, I’m more than willing to give the show a fair chance.  Hopefully the side characters will be fun and keep things interesting – just hope it doesn’t forget itself and start playing the tropes straight.

Production is pretty decent, do wish Nozaki himself was a bit more expressive though, he’s a bit too stoic to really be interesting – not sure what the heroine really sees in him at the moment since she didn’t even know he was a famous shoujo manga-ka to start with!

Fun and easy to watch, will be keeping on for now – nice to have something different on the watching list.

Sabagebu!

While this wasn’t as terrible as I was first imagining, Sabagebu is by no means a must watch – I watched it yesterday and have already forgotten most of it.  It is just another cute girls do wacky things show, this time with imaginary violent gunfights.

Production isn’t the highest and can’t say I’m a big fan of the character designs (what is that duck??), but it does try to be entertaining and the girls aren’t too gratingly cutesy – which is a bonus.

Entertaining enough to watch if you’re bored I suppose, but I have enough shows to keep me entertained this season so won’t be picking this up.

Re:_Hamatora

First thing that I noticed is that the animation is much better for this sequel, changing studios was a good move.  Next thing I noticed was that there is absolutely no change in regards of Seiji Kishi’s complete inability to pick a tone and stick with it.  Hamatora still swings from comedy to drama at the drop of a hat and as such the fact Nice and Art aren’t dead has zero impact.  Either go full on episodic camp comedy or full plot driven drama – swinging between the two, often within single scenes, is dizzying and just doesn’t work very well for this show.

There are good ideas in this show, and despite myself I quite like the characters even if they are extremely one-note.  As such I’m going to give the second series a fair chance – I do want to see where they are going with the background plot, just hope they don’t get too distracted with bad side story comedy along the way……somehow I think I’m hoping in vain.

 

 

 

 

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. igriega permalink
    July 8, 2014 11:18 pm

    Gekkan Shoujo Nozaki-kun the manga gives me life. It never, ever takes itself seriously. Once the entire cast is assembled, it should only get more hysterical.

    • July 10, 2014 12:29 pm

      Well that sounds promising – feels like it has been a while since I enjoyed a show like this.

  2. forto permalink
    July 9, 2014 11:29 pm

    “Either go full on episodic camp comedy or full plot driven drama – swinging between the two, often within single scenes, is dizzying and just doesn’t work very well for this show.”

    I always thought that was part of the joke.

    • July 10, 2014 12:31 pm

      If it is it doesn’t really work for me. When the show wants to be taken seriously I just can’t due to the complete lack of tension caused by the slapstick comedy.

Leave a Reply

