Skip to content

Characters that made my year – Tobio Kageyama (12 Days of Anime: Day 2)

December 15, 2014

ACardcaptorChristmasYou know I had planned to write these posts in advance this year – I had time in November and most of my final list picked out……..but yeah, it didn’t happen due to chronic laziness.  So here I am at 2.45am trying to play catch up since I’m already a day behind on day 2 of the project.  Sometimes I hate myself.

Anyway, today we have a representative from one of the best shounen sports anime this year – King of the Court, Tobio Kageyama from Haikyuu!!

Kageyama.Tobio.full.1772220It was difficult to pick just one character from Haikyuu!! because I basically loved the entire fecking cast!   But I eventually settled on Kageyama because he goes through the biggest change over the course of the show (and has the most amazing set of facial expressions!).  Kageyama starts off awkward, stand-offish and extremely hard to deal with.  He doesn’t really know how to work with others because his talent is such that he basically alienated his junior-high team.  And then he is paired off with the boundless enthusiasm and energy that is Shoyo Hinata and suddenly Kageyama starts to discover how much fun volleyball can be when you have a supportive team at your back.

It was so much fun to watch him start to thaw out, but still retain the sharp edges that made his character interesting……and those wonderful faces the boy can pull.  Just look at this attempt at a reassuring smile from episode 22 – no words can truly describe it!

haikyuu-episode-22

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 15, 2014 5:13 am

    My favourite character in Haikyuu is Nishinoya, but I like Kageyama too!

Leave a Reply

